We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST ever B & B !!! TRUST US!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basket Range
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burdett's Country Retreats
Ranked #1 of 1 Basket Range B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST ever B & B !!! TRUST US!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Meg and Andrew have done it again....we thought that our first stay at Waratah cottage was amazing, this time our stay at Hillgrove house was equally special. Their hospitality knows no bounds and they are soooooooo generous. Everything little possible thing has been thought of, you will want for NOTHING more there than what you already have. You can try to eat everything in sight ....but trust us, lol.....despite our best efforts...there is still lots left over!

Our Pugs loved the beautiful gardens and it is amazing that such a luxurious place would even permit dogs to be there to share the holiday experience as well. To be able to have the dogs inside the house and see them enjoy the roaring fireplace as we did is amazing and an unforgettable experience. We are so lucky to have Meg and Andrew provide these wonderful retreats for us and we will always look forward to coming back for more.

How wonderful to have such a beautiful and special place to share our special moments and milestones in life! We cannot thank you enough Meg and Andrew!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
What lovely comments. Many thanks for posting this review for us. We're so glad you all had such a great stay for Merlin's Birthday treat. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is first class accommodation in the Adelaide Hills. Blink and you'll miss Basket Range on the road to Lobethal, but Hillgrove is just down the road, overlooking a beautiful valley. First impressions are everything and entering this house is a treat. It's set up so well, and a bit of exploration reveals the very generous supplies that have been tucked away to make the stay even more comfortable. The furnishings are tasteful, the beds comfortable, the provisions more than generous, the fireplace nice and warm...it's all good. Lovely experience. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Andrew and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just spent the most amazing weekend at Hillgrove for my partners birthday. The moment we pulled up we were impressed, but when we walked in...OMG it was just beautiful, clean, tidy and elegant. Everywhere we looked there were little treats, even a birthday cake with a lovely note wishing a happy birthday, what a special touch!! We felt welcomed as soon as we walked in...even Sheba (our dog) had a smile all weekend, we were worried she would wear her nose out from so much sniffing the garden..so many new smells!!
Thanks Meg and Andrew for sharing your beautiful home and wonderful hospitality.
Nina, Danny and Sheba.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Andrew and I are so glad that you both enjoyed Danny's special Birthday stay at Hillgrove, and thank you for your great review. We do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany - Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We decided to stay at Hillgrove in the Adelaide Hills as they had won many awards for being the best romantice accommodation in South Australia. As we market romance, we decided to see what we could learn from these multi award winners.

On arrival at this gorgeous place, we found a fridge full of local produce. Cheeses, Maggie Beer pate, olives, milk, yoghurt, bread, eggs, bacon and so so much more...there was port and chocolate, beer and fudge, wine and cookies...wow...the wood fire just needed a match before it blazed into warmth. There were so many rooms and such an adventure to explore every corner. Comy couches, comfy bed, spa bath, candles, robes, slippers, views, birds...the list goes on...what a magic and romantic place we found here. We had visited the Adelaide markets before we travelled to the hills, but really we didn't need to.

What did we learn from these awesome hosts at Hillgrove House? Arriving and finding some yummy afternoon tea was so nice...and having a decanter of port to enjoy during our stay was divine...not just the cheap variety either...

What did we already know that was confirmed? Bathrobes, Spa Bath, peace, quiet and serenity, friendly hosts that know just the right balance between being welcoming and leaving us to enjoy our space. Thank you so much Meg and Andrew...we loved our stay!!

We would love to come back in the warmer weather, when we could sit outside and enjoy the most amazing views and all the beautiful birds that visited us while we were there. Maggie loved the walk around the block...wow...amazing work out through the hills. With no Foxtel or WiFi this was the perfect place to reconnect and and leave the world behind for a few days...exactly what these busy HideAway Haven hostesses needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie-Becki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much - your great review means a lot to Andrew and I, particularly because of your experience in the industry. It was a real pleasure to meet you both (and Maggie, of course). We do hope you will be able to make it back to beautiful Basket Range in the summer months to enjoy the cool respite of the Mount Lofty Ranges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just had our first trip to Waratah Cottage for our honeymoon....and have already booked our return for our first anniversary next year! This cottage is a gorgeous & secluded getaway for either a special occasion or a just to get out of the city. Meg & Andrew are wonderfully considerate hosts, they catered to all our needs and more. We can definitely recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed! Beautifully restored on the inside and gorgeous gardens outside you wont want to venture far from here at all. It really is a perfect little piece of heaven :) Thank you so much for making our 'Mini-moon' a truly memorable experience and we can't wait to come back next year. Marilyn & Lenny 21-24 March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Marilyn and Lenny - Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you both back next year for your 1st wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've just returned from our 8th visit to Hillgrove House, & we again return home with beautiful memories. Who would believe that 40 minutes from our home, there's such an idyllic setting with a gorgeous historic cottage that's been restored with sensitivity & class. We've enjoyed chatting with Meg & Andrew about the family heritage & marvel at the lengths that they've gone to, to give it life as such a romantic & picturesque getaway for people to share, & be captivated by the peaceful surrounds.
Everyone speaks of the delectable & generous locally sourced foodie supplies & we wholeheartedly agree. Special occasions are made extra special by their unprompted generosity & loving attention to detail.
Being dog friendly is huge for us, as our Shelties, Lochie & Darcy feel every bit at home & spoilt, as we do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Andrew and I are delighted that you enjoy Hillgrove so much, and we always look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing, romantic and beautiful. Every little luxury you can think of is generously provided. I can completely recommend staying here, we had a wonderful time the first time we stayed at Waratah Cottage, and I have just booked another weekend there. You wont regret staying here... you'll just wish you could stay longer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your second stay when you can all really enjoy a Basket Range winter and that lovely wood fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basket Range
4.9 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
9.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
4.3 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
288 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cladich Pavilions Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burdett's Country Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burdett's Country Retreats

Property: Burdett's Country Retreats
Address: Burdetts Road, Basket Range, South Australia 5138, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Basket Range
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Basket Range
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising Hillgrove House and Waratah Cottage, these two beautifully appointed, AAAT 4.5 star, self-contained bed & breakfast retreats offer complete privacy, tranquility and breathtaking views in the heart of the Adelaide Hills wine region. Just 30 minutes from Adelaide, 60 minutes from the Barossa Valley, 90 minutes from the ferry to Kangaroo Island and adjacent to all premier tourism attractions, they are renowned for their style, first class amenities, generous hospitality and outstanding attention to detail. These getaways definitely do make life worth living! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing