We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly beautiful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basket Range
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burdett's Country Retreats
Ranked #1 of 1 Basket Range B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing, romantic and beautiful. Every little luxury you can think of is generously provided. I can completely recommend staying here, we had a wonderful time the first time we stayed at Waratah Cottage, and I have just booked another weekend there. You wont regret staying here... you'll just wish you could stay longer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your second stay when you can all really enjoy a Basket Range winter and that lovely wood fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

thank you so much Meg & Andrew for making our 7th anniversary so awesome. Everything was perfect. The detail and care you took with the wood for the fire, the bathroom & spa needs, the linnen on a most comfortable bed, the ideas for walks and local info, the extravagant, and huge choice of breakfast from local businesses and local produce made our stay truly memerable. We will be back, cheers, Karen & Andrew.

Room Tip: Waratah House was amazing, secluded and self contained really meant self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was a please to welcome you both and to know that our guests appreciate our efforts to provide quality, regional produce for them. We think the Skara bacon is the absolute best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ok, all I have to say is do yourself a real big favour and take time to stay at this enchanting place.
We spent four nights here and would have liked to have stayed many more.
Thank you Meg and Andrew. We felt like family during our visit. Even through a slight hicup with plans you were both so helpfull.

We would stay here again without a doubt.

This was one of the highlights of out trip to Australia. Don't waste time on the reviews just get booked and find out first hand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and Andrew and I would be delighted to welcome you back again if you ever venture back to South Australia. We send you our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

For us, the original attraction to spend two nights at Hillgrove was the ability to take our home-comforted dogs along for the trip. But when we arrived, Hillgrove clearly had so much more to offer.
The views are spectacular, the surrounds quiet and the ammenities second to none. Everything was provided - and in such quality that we were left wanting for nothing. It was as if, quite frankly, Meg and Andrew had read our minds when I saw the punnet of cherries in the fridge. It was the perfect antidote to the fact that I had neglected to buy some along the way.
I could tell you to make this stay a top priority- but then you might clash with our efforts to return again and again! Thank you Meg and Andrew for opening up your wonderful house to us.

Room Tip: Both rooms are spectacular - why choose?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, and thank you for being such considerate guests. Our canine guests certainly love it here just as much as their human companions! Please come back and see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been coming to this gorgeous b&b for 12 years now and will be back for more! This is a gorgeous heritage building that has been lovingly restored with all the modern luxuries in the most gorgeous setting a top a lush green valley. Everything is quality down to the food which is all locally sourced and abundant! There is also a big luxurious spa bath overlooking the valley with an overhanging chandelier and candles! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We've certainly loved welcoming you back over the years, and hope we may continue to have the pleasre.Thank you so much for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to Meg & Andrew for a Absolutely Wonderful romantic birthday weekend away at Hillgrove House. It's hard to express how impressed we were with the Amazing views (both outside, from the large spa, bedrooms and lounge areas), the more than generous food provisions (especially appreciate sourcing local & organic produce) and all of the small touches, they have truly thought of everything (we really didn't need to bring a thing!). I love that they allow your family dog to share the getaway with you too. We were fortunate enough to have lovely sunny warm days to spend outside and cool nights to make use of the wood fire and spa. It's so cosy that we ended up opting to stay in rather than have dinner out! Thankyou for your peaceful & relaxing sanctuary, we cannot speak more highly of our stay to our friends!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments. We do hope you will come back to see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Waratah Cottage is so much more than one would expect from a B&B.
It is situated in an incredibly beautiful part of the world, whether taking in the breathtaking views from the kitchen window or venturing out for a walk. The Cottage itself is very comfy with great facilites, comfy bed, massive bathroom, large spa with amazing views of it's own.
And the food!! Super yummy breakfast provisions are only the beginning, the Burdetts have done a fantastic job of sourcing all kinds of local produce, food and drink. It's like taking a tour of the Adelaide hills from the comfort of your own kitchen. There is nothing lacking and much more than expected. We have yet to find another B&B that compares. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Owner at Burdett's Country Retreats, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Carla - What lovely words.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We take a lot of trouble to source local products, so it's good to know that our guests like the provisions we supply. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basket Range
4.9 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
4.3 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
7.1 mi away
Aldgate Valley Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cladich Pavilions Bed and Breakfast
6.7 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burdett's Country Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burdett's Country Retreats

Property: Burdett's Country Retreats
Address: Burdetts Road, Basket Range, South Australia 5138, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Basket Range
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Basket Range
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising Hillgrove House and Waratah Cottage, these two beautifully appointed, AAAT 4.5 star, self-contained bed & breakfast retreats offer complete privacy, tranquility and breathtaking views in the heart of the Adelaide Hills wine region. Just 30 minutes from Adelaide, 60 minutes from the Barossa Valley, 90 minutes from the ferry to Kangaroo Island and adjacent to all premier tourism attractions, they are renowned for their style, first class amenities, generous hospitality and outstanding attention to detail. These getaways definitely do make life worth living! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing