We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, with some tiny points to note”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porto Petro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a junior suite. Very spacious and all the mod cons of a five star. We discovered that the local restaurants are pretty good and close by, so didn't eat in much. Breakfast was a pretty standard 5* buffet experience catering for the largely German tourists. Food not as tasty as you would expect from a mediterranean surrounding, eg tomatoes were not like market place tomatoes but rather cold and solid. There are three pools, both family ones very popular. If you arrive after lunch you have to search a bit to find a deckchair. There is an adult only pool - much more suited to calm reading of a good book. Each pool has refreshment areas but these are a bit cold and programmatic, small menus which the staff fulfilled to the letter and not one step beyond. We had one member of staff who spoke only spanish. Our vegetarian son was not catered for, with staff unable to just be a bit creative (replace the ham with cheese for instance). We were advised by the very friendly customer relations lady, Eva, that the buffet staff could cater for food specialities, but we didn't try after the first evening. There are two small beaches, quiet and adequate. The public has access to these. The spa is good. There are a couple of sailing boats and cayaks free to use at the port end of the resort. To get there it took us around 45 minutes from Palma airport in a hire car. We could park onsite or for free just outside the gate when there were no spaces. It is a big resort and does well, but some small issues about buffet quality and busy pools.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank travelauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 595 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just back from a family holiday. Stayed in interconnecting rooms which were immaculate and looked out over the sea (block 4) - we were an easy walk down to the main swimming pool and beach and in between the 2 restaurants so could choose which one to go to for breakfast.

Kids (9 and 7) enjoyed the tennis, kids playground and the sea kayaking (free but not well advertised...) - but the kids club was a no go as it was conducted in German...

We ate dinner in the town every night - there is a good choice of restaurants serving local seafood. We mainly ate lunch at the poolside bar which was limited and rather pricey but it was too hot to walk into town.

The English/French/Spanish were definitely very small minorities compared to the German majority. Then there seemed to be a large influx of Russians at the end of our stay. It made making friends quite challenging for the kids.

Sunbed issue at the end of the week. The hotel's management very randomly removed all towels from sunbeds which were not physically occupied at 11am - so we returned from a quick swim in the sea (next to the pool) to find our beds occupied. Very random and unnecessary - some people had been evicted whilst swimming in the pool!! Made for a very stressful last few days....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gladrags99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As we made a trip through Mallorca and we looked for a hotel in the south we booked this hotel. It's great, enormous, full of Germans, clean, well organised, but it felt like a great indrustrial hotel. However we can imagine families with children have the time of their life in an hotel like this. And it must be clear: although there are many guests, you have never this impression. Plenty of possiblities to spend an nice time near the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Amazing place and nice short flight,wouldn't recommend it for children as it was mostly Germans but ideal for couples,and the lovely little town with nice restaurants and bars not to busy a really lovely pretty place to go would def go again.

Room Tip: Be careful when you use the spa area lots of Germans are walking around naked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannekeating1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

An exquisite facility located on the coast in SE Majorca. Fabulous gardens, comfortable rooms, sparkling facilities and 3 tremendous pools. Short walk to a lovely little port town. restaurants in the town are excellent and ridiculously well priced given the popularity of the region. The only slight drawback if that the staff are completely unable to go "off the script". If you want to eat what's on the menu and have the bearded lady give you a massage, no problem, but anything else, expect a steely-eyed response and a firm decline to whatever it is you're asking! Some of the staff don't speak English, which is OK as we're in Spain, but it can be a bit weird when they choose to speak German rather than Spanish. Don't let this put you off a fabulous resort but as some of the other reviewers have noted, just be aware.

Room Tip: the resort is enormous so if you don't want to 1km round trip (measured on my trusty fitbit) to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauportopetro, Subdirector at Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your comment and for bringing this matter to our attention.

We note with interest the proposals and will naturally bear them in mind in our on going deliberations.

I am at your disposal for any further suggestions or questions you may have. You can contact me directly at the following email address: subportopetro@blauhotels.com

Yours sincerely,

Pedro García
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived back from our family holiday Saturday 7th June after a week in Porto Petro. We were disappointed considering the star rating and the amount that it cost to stay here. The building itself is drab and clinical, staff generally unhelpful (we called 3 times to have our bags taken from the room to the taxi on the last day and no one came so we did it ourselves). Ripped towels in the bathroom, even after complaining to the manager. Chipped teapots at breakfast. rusty grids, paint peeling off walls in places, a beach which you couldn't sit on because of all the seaweed and broken flags around it because (as we were told by the hotel) it isn't their responsibility but that of the governments. As a result of this we had to go to surrounding beaches such as Cala Mondrago or those in Cala d'or which is only 10mins by car. We have stayed in other 5 star resorts and this is the first one where we have had to put a complaint in. We bought a package with Sovereign, who weren't very helpful and would not use them again.
The kids club was good and staff excellent at their jobs and friendly to parents. The mini disco in the evening was good, especially as their was no other entertainment apart from some music in the lobby bar late at night.
The hotel seemed very quite as though it were out of season, especially compared to cala d'or which was very busy. This may be due to cost, location and the fact that it mainly caters for German guests. My daughter was the only English child in the kids club until the end of the holiday when we met one other English family who had 2 children.
The gym and indoor pool (we didn't use any of the outside pools as they were too cold at this time of year) were a long way from our block (2) up hill which could be a problem for some unless you want to wait around for one of the golf buggies that are constantly zipping around. We were glad of the indoor pool otherwise we wouldn't have been able to take our daughter swimming, however she was only allowed in till 12pm each day which made it a rush straight from breakfast.
We also had to ask a few times for extra toiletries as they only supplied 1 small bottle of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel for the 3 of us in junior suite. This was also the case with the tea and coffee sachets in the room.
Unfortunately this experience has put us off returning to not only Blau hotel Porto Petro but also Majorca judging by the quality of their hotels in comparison to the Canaries for instance.

Room Tip: To be near the breakfast area, reception, beach and kids club, choose block 2 or 3. We did ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 30KAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here outside of UK school hols as our half term was late.

The hotel was quiet at the start of the week but felt a little busy - particularly at the breakfast buffet - by the end. The 3 outdoor pools (1 heated & 1 not) rarely felt over-busy.

Food: We ate breakfast mostly as we were on B and B and that was superb. Other meals were too expensive to eat at the hotel as the children don't eat enough to warrant the prices charged. I'm not sure we do either! So we ate meals out - mostly in Porto Petro, which is 5mins walk and very relaxed. We also stocked up on bottled water as it was 50cents a bottle instead of 3euros!

Facilities: all very well managed. Our children loved the kids club even though they were the only English speaking children there, except for 1 other child.

Pools were lovely but the heated one was too deep for children and the one with shallow areas was a little chilly. An indoor pool - in the Spa - is open to little ones only between 7am and 12pm.

Rooms: our family suite was clean and spacious (bedroom and living area with sofa bed). We moved from a pool view to sea view - SO much better, and you get sun all afternoon. A sticky door that didn't close was fixed within 48hrs.
Blocks 1 or 2 with sea facing view are very handy for reception and breakfast restaurant.

Overall: the only similar hotel we have stayed at is Hillside in Turkey. This is in my view, nicer and better value. Only the beaches are better there. They are small here.
The only thing that would make me hesitate before recommending this hotel would be that 95% of guests are German. Not surprising with a German hotel group and all very nice friendly people, but hard for my very sociable children to muck in and play. Also some reception staff were a little cold, whereas all other staff were fabulous & efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Petro
41.1 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
35.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
35.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
27.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Far 16, 07691 Porto Petro, Majorca, Spain (Formerly PURAVIDA Resort Blau PortoPetro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Petro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porto Petro
Price Range: $194 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Porto Petro is a unique and exclusive hotel experience in Majorca. Our new 5 Star Majorca resort is close to the picturesque port of Porto Petro and the Mondrago Nature Reserve.The 319 comfortable bedrooms, suites and villas are spread out along 900m of coastline. Porto Petro is surrounded by an indigenous pine forest and lapped by the crystalline waters of two romantic coves.Porto Petro is a place where leisure, relaxation, class and beauty meet in a place of great natural beauty. Our luxury Majorca resort offers a large selection of sporting, gastronomic, health, beauty and business activities. We ensure that our guests experience the highest levels of service and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Porto Petro Beach Hotel Porto Petro
Blau Porto Petro Beach Resort And Spa
Porto Petro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing