We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves one or two stars more than categorized”
Review of Hotel Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Varadero
Ranked #2 of 2 Porto Petro B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A very nice and friendly hostel, good basis from which you can explore the island Mallorca.
Everything is very clean and new, new towels every day, even if not requested, flat screen SAT TV and free WLAN.
Excellent for people who love seeing the island but also like a friendly environment when returning to their room.
Staff of this hostel is very friendly and professional, especially Mari Carmen, the receptioniste, who always has a friendly word once you get in.
I booked via internet (Opodo.de) - I just stayed here for five nights but had a great time.
Super restaurants in walking distance and a wonderful view of the little harbour. Here Mallorca still shows its original face. M room window was in direction to the harbour - just beautiful this view!
Breakfast I had once as the other days I was on tour, but the breakfast was very nice and good and the price was good as well. If you go there, you should also visit the restaurant Varadero one road around the corner. Very nice and delicious meals and very good are the Smoothies they offer.
Hostal Varadero Deluxe is good for people who are traveling to see the islandand do not have pool and animation expectations. In March you still can find parking spaces, but I guess in the main season this will become more and more difficult.
Forget about all bad evaluations this hostel received until 2012! It is a great place to visit with friendly and motivated people!

Room Tip: Room to the little harbour is very nice. People who are used to SPA and pool and to All Inclusive mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucienne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely view over the harbour from my room. Good strong shower. Good location,lovely little village, quiet.
Book the shuttlebus 72 hours before your trip! Otherwise you take Buss 1 to Placa D'Espanya in Palma (2,50) and from the bus station there, the local bus to Portopetro,( for around 8 Euro).the trip takes a couple of hours.Or you take a taxi, 60-70 Euro!
Unfortunately the pool was closed, only open until the end of september.
A short walk to the little beach down the road.
Or take a 5 min bus ride to Cala Mondrago.
Good value, would go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _hils276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in a superior sea-view room.
The building was very bright and the bar/breakfast area, very modern.Not what you'd expect in a Hostal.
Our room was bright, simply furnished and very spacious. The balcony overlooked a side street, with a partial sea view. The bathroom was a bit small, but adequate for one night.
The bed was enormous (and comfortable).A lot of thought had gone into the planning of the room, to create an atmosphere of simplicity and relaxation.
Breakfast was excellent. Breads, pastries, fresh fruit,cereals, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, lovely warm home made quiches and fruit cakes. The quality of the food was better than most 4* hotels and was regularly replenished. Pity we'd eaten a big dinner the previous evening.
Dinner was available in the Hostal's restaurant, 2 minutes from the Hostal and again was very good.
Overall, for the price we paid for B&B we had a wonderful experience and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a balcony, with large shutters, allowing a good throughput of air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magpies7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Varadero Hostel for 4 days. Our stay was very enjoyable. The rooms are very spacious and bright plus very clean. The feel of the hotel is modern but has a sense of tradition too.

The bar / lounge area was of the same feel and was very welcoming, with lovely furnishing.

We found the staff to be very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome.

We went to the restuarant. It is a stunning location with view of the harbour. Inside the restaurant it was lovely and the food was very tasty. The chill out rooms inside were a nice touch too.

A great stay at Varadero plus great value too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August. The room was very basic but it was clean. We had to carry our cases up four flights of stairs because there is no lift.
Couldn't fault the service of the staff who were all friendly and very helpful.
The restaurant has a lovely location and atmosphere. The food isn't fantastic but we still enjoyed it.
I guess I would sum up by saying we enjoyed our stay but I'm glad it was 3 days and not 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed towards the end of July for 5 nights in Varadero. On the first night we were moved to another hotel which we were furious about as we had very limited time to enjoy our holiday. On arriving back the next day we were unable to check into our room until 3pm so ended up hanging around with our suitcases. We were compensated with breakfast and dinner but as a start to the holiday and first impressions, it was not great.

The room was OK, no side light, table etc. The room does not look like the pictures on the website and neither does the pool. When we asked about this, we were told that we were mistaken and that the pictures were correct.......

The owner stormed around a few times shouting at his staff, which as a paying customer on a relaxing holiday is the last thing you'd want to see. Some of the staff were very hard working and eager to please.

The 'roof terrace' cocktail bar was shut the whole time we were staying, which is one of the reasons we booked in the first place as it looked so lovely to sit out of an evening.

With time and dedication this hotel could be great, but what is letting it down is false advertising, moving customers it seems regularly to another hotel and not providing all the basics.

We would definitely go to Porto Petro again as it is a beautiful area but we would not risk staying in this hotel for fear of disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BethanyRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at hostal varadero for one week in August. We had a very good time. The room was very clean and big enough for us (3 people) with a balcony facing the harbour, and a bathroom with a small shower and a very small sink. The room had no nightstands, but there was a "closet" big enough to put all the stuff we needed. Our bed was comfortable(not easy to find a comfortable bed in a hotel with less then 3 stars) and was big that could fit at least 3 people, but there was also an extra bed for the child. Air conditioning was very quiet and the satellite tv worked fine. There also was a safe deposit box in the room.
The check in was fine, the lady showed us everything (pool-restaurant) and then helped us carrying the luggage to our room because the room was on another building, (one minute walking distance from the main building), near the pool. She was very nice.
The first evening we had a problem: the shower drain was clogged, but the reception sent immediately a technician and the problem was solved in less then 10 minutes!
The pool area is very nice and clean. They had a BBQ on Saturday night in the pool area and the food was very good, and not expensive.
Breakfast in the morning was very good, many things to eat and drink.
All of the staff was very hospitable, friendly, nice and helpful in every circumstance.
Porto Petro is a small village, but there were many good restaurant, and I think restaurant Varadero was one of them ( I had the best paella there). There is a small quiet beach at only 10min walking distance from the hotel where the water is crystal clear and it's not as crouded as Mondrago or Cala d'Or. We had a very good time there!
I definitely would go back to hostel varadero because it has everything I need for a vacation, and I racommand this hostel to see that area of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaChiara982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Good morning,

We are glad to hear you had a good time in our Hostel. We hope to see you again as soon as possible. Tkank you very much for choosing us, thank you for your consideration.

My best regards.

Octavio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Petro hotels
0.3 mi away
Niu d'Aus
Niu d'Aus
#2 of 4 in Porto Petro
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Na Martina
Na Martina
#1 of 2 in Porto Petro
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varadero

Address: Calle Patrons Martina 1, 07691 Porto Petro, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Nereida Hostal)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Petro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Petro
Price Range: $54 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varadero 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 3 * Hotel is located in the heart of the fishing village of Porto Petro, living mirror of the real Mallorca, with a typical Mediterranean style construction with a mix of Ibiza style and ancient Greek Islands . Divided into two buildings, the main building has 27 rooms where the reception and the Skybar is located. What we call Lounge, is the annex building with 16 rooms and a nudist terrace on the roof. Both buildings offer superior rooms, with balconies and a side sea view and standard rooms without balcony. Both type are elegant and fresh with a large and comfortable beds and open cupboards. The bathrooms are equipped with natural stone shower, WC, washbasin, hairdryer and magnifying mirror. All rooms have Led TV with satellite, Air conditioning and heating, free WI-FI throughout the hotel and Safety Box (with charge). The hotel has a large Swimming pool surrounded by a beautiful garden in a completely chill-out place, with a fantastic bar where you can enjoy a cocktail or smoothie. Not forgetting the Tennis Court that you can use any time and for free. For your most intimate moments we offer a nudist terrace on the roof of the Lounge. Our Sky Bar is located on the roof terrace in the main building with wonderful views of the sea and to port of Porto Petro. Perfect for weddings, events or meetings, or just for a relaxing or romantic time enjoying the fantastic sunset. And if you are an early riser you can enjoy one of the most beautiful sunrises you’ve ever seen. We think of all details, we know that sometimes it can’t be only relax, you also have to work, why not combine it? We have a totally free conference room, with a max capacity. 40 persons, for any meeting, The hotel offers some wonderful views. We’re located a few meters from the port and all its restaurants; the nearest beach is just 700 meters (5 minutes’ walk). You’ll find all you need nearby the hotel, taxi and bus stop, supermarket, pharmacy, hairdresser and beauty salon. The reception is open from 8.00 till 0.00 o´clock. If you arrive late, please contact the hotel one day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Varadero Hotel Porto Petro
Nereida Hostal Porto Petro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing