We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay- passable; Dining -poor”
Review of Hotel Nila

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solapur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nila
Ranked #8 of 15 Solapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel could have done much better if the managerial and service staff were of a little sunny disposition. The hotel looks pleasant enough from inside and out. The elevator is rather small. We preferred taking the spiral staircase. There are sofas at every landing in case you want to rest.
We were a large group – my friend and I were allotted Room 203. Fairly spacious; the window opened on to an old dilapidated building whose structure still contained traces of its once glorious past. The room contained twin beds, bed side stands, a table and two chairs, a luggage rack, a cupboard, but still there was enough room to move around. The bed linen, though clean, was old and frayed. As the hotel provides room service (you can order on intercom), previous guests had left signs of misuse on the menu card; anyway, we didn’t try room service. As I said before, the service staff didn’t seem very friendly; however, we got good service from one named Mahadev.
The bathroom/toilet was middling, usable. The no-slip tiles were a big comfort. Yes, upgrading the infrastructure and better cleaning of the fittings would have earned the hotel more kudos.
The dining hall is located on the terrace; partly alfresco, partly covered; with an adjoining kitchen. The kitchen staff were rather surly and there never seemed to be enough ration stocked – we ordered three portions of ‘jeera aloo’, a fairly simple dish but we were finally served two portions; on inquiry we were told there was not enough potato to go around; if they had at least informed us in advance, we could have ordered something else. But probably it never occurred to them. Others in our group too had similar experience. The hotel’s neighbourhood do not have any dining options, so unless if you’ve already dined before coming to the hotel, you are left with no option but to eat here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ug_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Terrible toilets and undercooked, tasteless food. The rooms are spacious but the toilet is terrible and so is the food. The pillow covers and bed sheets were totally stained and looked unhealthy to sleep on.

Room Tip: If you are looking for cleanliness then don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Firstly, the rate for an A/C room is very reasonable (Rs.999 for double occupancy). Add to it Rs.150 for extra person and 4% taxes. For this amount, you get a clean room with a good A/C, a small TV with plenty of cable channels, enough space to move around, a small table with 2 chairs good enough for breakfast and a small closet. The TV set is small (obviously not a flat screen for this rate), but it comes with a set top box and you can watch plenty of popular channels (Hindi, Marathi, Kannada) with good reception.
The bathroom size is also good and cleanliness is decent. It doesn't look spotless, but it was clean, in the sense that, there was no foul smell or any insects etc. One good thing I noticed it has those slip-preventive tiles. They give small soap bars, but no shampoos, which was ok for us.
The location is 1km from ST stand and around 200 meters from Samrat Chowk statue (adjoining Hero Honda showroom and opposite to Saraswat bank). It looked like a residential area. There was no road noise in our room that was facing parking lot (which is big). We had to catch ST bus for 2 days and so we were looking for hotel close to ST stand and this was convenient. Either walk or Rs.20 by auto.
They have a restaurant on the terrace and they provide room service for additional 10% charge. I did not see people other than hotel guests using the restaurant. Rates for food are reasonable. The breakfast items (upma, pohe) were decent. Dinner was also decent. If you are tired and don't want to venture out at night, it's ok to eat there itself, as quality of food was decent, but taste is left to personal choice and of course I did not expect their punjabi dishes to match the taste of authentic punjabi restaurant. But since they probably use same masala for many dishes, couple of gravies tasted alike. But when you are hungry, there's nothing like good garam chapatis and any edible vegetable, and good dal and rice.

We stayed there for 2 nights (they have 24 hrs checkin). When you come back to your room in the evening, you have to ask them to turn on the main A/C switch of your room from the reception which they switch off when you go outside. But they are prompt in switching it on.

Their customer service is pretty prompt. If I were to nitpick, one minor thing is like they said that they give new bath towels only once in 2 days. But since they haven't mentioned this rule anywhere, and we had asked them for new towels next day, they provided 2 new towels anyways. Not a big deal, but I wonder why this rule; it looks a funny rule to me.

Overall, we were pretty satisfied, with the hotel room, location, rate and customer service. Would go there again if we visit Solapur and also recommend this hotel to others if you don't care for superficial luxuries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ftp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had stayed overnight in this hotel. The hotel is good. Lot of parking space with clean rooms and good staff. I paid around 1100 for 24 hrs stay. Rooms are clean though i didn't find cleanliness of the Toilet upto the mark but was still Ok.

This hotel serves only vegetarian food. The hotel has a terrace restaurant. Though I didn't have food here (just a cup of tea) the food served to other patrons seemed to be average.

I would rate this hotel as below

Value for money - 5/5
Rooms - 4/5
Cleanliness - 4/5
Room Service - 4/5
Food - 2.5/5
Overall Rating - 4/5

Good for a overnight stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiranP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had booked this hotel for 09th June 2013.....The welcome itself was Rude by the Reception Manager early morning when we reached...The panic continued with the Low or No grade Food Quality. the Breakfast Poha were so horrible .....Rooms were OK ..But Toilets still need to improve..The Lift installed is in between the floors n away from rooms..hence climbing few steps was compulsory...THE AC controls were at reception ...At night for abt one and half hours they had switched off the ACS..could not get sound sleep...Beware before booking this place...

Room Tip: Should try to avoid going to this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myyatra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice stay it was for our group of 7. Hotel staff was instrumental in condorming booking dates. Room preferances etc. And they were helpful too to get special food coocked for my 1 yo son. Good lot of space for parking. Many facilities like ATM, market and restarant fall nearby. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shripadjoshi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solapur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vaishnavi
Hotel Vaishnavi
#5 of 17 in Solapur
65 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Geetanjali Lodge
#4 of 58 in Solapur
1 reviews
1.6 mi away
Godavari Lodge
Godavari Lodge
#9 of 58 in Solapur
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Saiprasad Executive
Saiprasad Executive
#3 of 17 in Solapur
8 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#2 of 17 in Solapur
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nila

Address: Nila Nagar Solapur | Near ST stand, Samrat Chowk, Solapur 413002, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Solapur District > Solapur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Solapur
Price Range: $18 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Nila Solapur, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing