We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and Clean”

Akkalkot Swami Samarth Maharaj Temple
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Solapur
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Neat and Clean”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I liked the fact that there were no crowds or beggars in the lane in which the Samadhi is located. But the pujari was quite unwilling to give prasad, a fact I didn't like. He would have preferred that we do an Abhishek involving natually a donation of money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank shivdutt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visit to temple”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

hotel helped us our visit to swami samarth by providing us car on rental basis which was on very short notice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank srkraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Ticket to Ganagapur, Akkalkot and Tuljapur”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Being a frequent visitor to Akkalkot and Ganagapur I thought of sharing my experience which would help travellers especially from Mumbai.

You may take a short trip i.e. a day's trip or two to three days trip if you want to visit all three holy places i.e. Tuljapur, Akkalkot and Gangapur which falls almost within the same vicinity.

Irrespective whether you will be visiting only Ganagapur and Akkalkot OR Ganagapur, Akkalkot and Tuljapur it makes sense travelling in the below order

1. Ganagapur - Karma bhoomi of Shri Nrisinha Saraswati (2nd incarnation of Lord Datta)
2. Akkalkot- Karma bhoomi of Shri Swami Samarth (3rd incarnation of Lord Datta)
3. Tuljapur -- Shakti peeth of Tulja Bhavani/Ambe matta

Night 1

Travelling to Gangapur

You may take a Coimbatore express which leaves from Kurla Terminus (LTT) at 10.35 p.m.
If on time this train reaches Ganagapur between 8 to 9 a.m.

From Ganagapur station the temple is approximately 14 kms. I would recommend travelling by KRTC bus over private jeeps/autos who accommodate on an average 13 to 15 people at a time i.e. double its actual capacity.

Day 1
Boarding at Gangapur

Ganagapur being almost a village you will not find plush hotels. Normal rooms are available which will be charged anywhere between Rs 150 to 250 per day. Going for AC room doesn't make sense as there is frequent power failure. you may opt for AC room only if the hotel has power backup. After getting the room you may either take a wash at your hotel room OR travel to Triveni sangam for holi bath which is around 4 to 5 kms from the temple location.

Puja & Aarti
Various kinds of Puja's (Seva's) are conducted in the temple hall. You may choose the Seva which you find suitable and may also choose to give anna daan which is considered as Shreshta daan. The aarti starts at 12.30 pm post which bhiksha is distributed as prasad. The temple trust has also started a Annachatra (Place to have prasad food) which just behind the temple.

You may also find small restaurants for your lunch OR you may opt for home made food served by local priests at their residence.

After puja and having your lunch you may take rest for some time and then proceed to Akkalkot. A MSRTC i.e. S.T. bus leaves Ganagapur depot at 3.30 p.m. though the actual timing of this bus is 4 pm.


Travelling to Akkalkot

The ride from Ganagapur to Akkalkot is bumpy. It will take almost 2.5 hrs to reach Akkalkot.


Staying at Akkalkot

You may choose to stay at Akkalkot. The best option is Bhakta Niwas which is at 5 minutes walking distance from the main temple. Again Akkalkot being a small town you will not find star hotels. At Bhakta Niwas you may opt for AC OR Non AC rooms. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The charges are also reasonable. I however prefer to take a night halt at Solapur as it makes next days travelling plan easy.

Just a tip - Rooms at Bhakt Niwas are not allocated to individual travellers. If you are a single traveller you will have to stay in a dormitory OR a common hall with common bathrooms and toilets.


Puja & Aarti
Aarti starts at around 7.30 pm. post which you can have your dinner at Annachatra (Place to have prasad food). Let me tell you the food served here is EXCELLENT and one should not miss it.

Apart from the main temple you may also visit the temple which is located in the house of Cholappa where Swami Samartha Maharaj stayed.This place is at a walking distance of around 15-20 minutes from the main temple.

Travelling to Solapur

MSRTC (ST) busses ply between Akkalkot to Solapur every half an hour from 7.00 am till 11.00 pm. The travelling time is approximately 1 and a half hour.

Staying at Solapur

Solapur being a proper town you will find wide range of hotels. Suggest you do advance booking.

Food
Lot of food joints are available at Solapur. I would however suggest you try "Sugran" where authentic Maharashtrian food is served.This hotel is located at around 150 metres from Railway Station

Day 2
Places of Interest
Visit Siddheshwar temple. Its AWESOME.

Travelling to Tuljapur

MSRTC (ST) busses ply between Solapur Bus Depot to Tuljapur every half an hour from 7.00 am till 11.00 pm. The travelling time is approximately 1 and a half hour.

Puja & Aarti
Abhisheks are performed in the afternoon and in the evening time. Darshan can be seeked prior and after Abhishek.

Staying at Tuljapur
Lot of hotels and lodges are available. Prior booking is not required. Suggest you have a look at the room and then choose to book it.

Food
Many restaurants are available.

Night 2
Take Siddheswar express from Solapur which starts at around 10.45 p.m.

Day 3
Siddheswar express reaches Dadar station at 6.00 am

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
159 Thank KiranP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good place.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

the place is good but the approach road to the mandir is not clean. it is better to go during less peak season when rush is not there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vkagrawal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Piece of mind is here...”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were lucky to visit this on thursday. Please note that there is a palakhi with aarti every thursday evening so plan accordingly. So we got good darshan and we passed under palakhi too...very nice experiance.

Also during aarti the ambiance full of 'Digambara digambara Shripad vallabh digambara....' was very nice to hear and feel the different world....

Was a great experiance. Prasad is also of great quality.
Note: for stay one can book the math's stay with attached tolilet near the temple.Booking is available on phone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank Ravi425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akkalkot Swami Samarth Maharaj Temple also viewed

Solapur, Solapur District
Solapur, Solapur District
 
Solapur, Solapur District
 

Been to Akkalkot Swami Samarth Maharaj Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing