We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I quite liked the 'odd quirks'...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Fosse at Cranborne
Ranked #2 of 3 Cranborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“I quite liked the 'odd quirks'...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I don't think I have slept so well away from home for a long time. What a bed, reminded me of the old featherbed my nan used to have, I sunk into it and was away for the night.
Dinner was superb, a masterpiece of different tastes and smells, and 'The Pitch Fork' washed down the amazing cheese board a treat. Thanks Mark, you and your team work hard to ensure quest satisfaction. I wish you well and hope to visit you again in the not too distant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
126
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just come home from a night at La Fosse. The special offer was so good that I had to check we got it right - we had. The evening meal was fantastic. Sometimes when you get a real special offer the menu is a reduced one, or you are limited in choice. However, we were presented with the proper restaurant menus (one for meat eaters and a vegetarian menu for me). The veggi food was superb with plenty of choice and quite different to the bog-standard dishes often offered by restaurants. I was assured by my partner that the meat options were also fantastic. I was in cheese heaven when the cheese board arrived - as others have said, the chef explains each cheese with such an interest and passion. Ten different varieties (but only wafer thin so you can try without feeling overwhelmed or sick). We also received a glass of port each with our special offer - a lovely touch and gorgeous with the cheese board.

Our bedroom was large, welcoming and comfortable. I like the attention to detail - a good quality kettle; a handpainted tea bag holder (by the owner's aunt or gran - I can't remember which); crisp white bed linen; trouser stand (haven't seen one of those for a while, but my partner used it); free wi-fi; DVD TV and bookshelves with plenty of films and books to choose from. Also, I don't think we've been to stay in a hotel or guesthouse where we've been greeted by a handshake, given the first name of the host, and not even asked who we are! It made us feel as if we were very welcome and special guests. Mark was also able to tell us about the beer in both of the pubs in Cranborne, which was useful information for us, and also have a good chat about the prehistoric sites on Cranborne Chase, which is a particluar interest of ours, and which are spectacular. Both hosts were very knowledgeble, helpful and enthusiastic about the local area.

All in all it was a fantastic night out and I would recommend it very highly, especially if you like good food and wine, friendly hosts, comfortable accommodation, relaxation and warm wlecoming fires.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

my husband and i stayed in this lovely place several months ago for 1 night (we both thought the other had written a review!) we live locally but decided we needed a night away form our 2 small children who wake very early! The house is charming, has lovely little quirks and oozes coziness. The local surrounding area is charming and La fosse has lots of local information including maps of walks and places to visit.

Mark and Emmanuelle were very welcoming, and very approachable. Nothing would be too much to ask (thats the impression i got, we didn't need to ask for anything!) our room was lovely, one of the lamps didn't work, but there were several others, so it didn't matter. the hospitality tray was amazing with local teas/coffee, filter coffee.
The bed was huge, and very comfortable, the bathroom was immaculate and very efficient shower. Now, the food, it was perfect, local produce, of the best quality, cooked beautifully by Mark. we had dinner in the restaurant in the evening, and it was again, lovely. Just a shame my husband had a terrible cold and couldn't taste a thing, i can vouch for his food, it was fantastic and perfectly cooked.
we will be visiting this lovely establishment again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 9th August 2012 and having read all the previous reviews we knew that we were on to a winner, and we were certainly not disapointed. It was a step back in time to years gone by. The rooms were quaint with a modern touch and the food was fine dining at it's best. The village was beautiful with no parking restrictions, lovely village pub opposite and we cannot wait to visit La Fosse again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Book the spacious double that over looks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night at this cosy & quiet family run restaurant with rooms. The food was fantastic, not pretentious, just good quality food. The staff for both the evening meal and breakfast were friendly and helpful providing an excellent service. The warming wood burning stove was a great place to sit in the comfy sofas and make our selection from the well thought out menu - I had the Plaice which was delicious. We finished with the award winning cheeseboard which the chef came out and described every cheese and its origin! The rooms were well equipped (jolly pleased to find an iPhone docking station), although mobile phone signal is limited in Cranborne! The bed was large and extremely comfortable and the bathroom was newly decorated with a superb walk in shower. We would definitely recommend La Fosse.

Room Tip: Old Winchester has a lovely sitting room adjoining it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castleoutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed two very comfortable nights at this 'restaurant with rooms' as it describes itself in the very quiet village of Cranborne. The building is unremarkable from the outside but walking in the door is like walking into a bit of a time warp. Very olde worlde with beams, old furniture, setees, bookcases etc, not to everyones taste but very atmospheric. All the rooms are named after cheeses for some reason and ours was situated on the first floor at the front of the building and was very spacious. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Our bathroom was again very spacious situated separately across from the bedroom (but still within the privacy of what was more like a suite really) with a large double shower. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which was again full of character and olde worlde charm. There was a choice of cereals, breads, crumpets, croissants, juices and home made marmalades and jam for starters from the buffet followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts which were sufficient to set you up for the day. To sum up, the decor might not be to everyones taste and in places was a little tired but we could not fault the comfort or the sevice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a small family run restaurant with rooms. I stayed for one night and I found the experience superb, Delicious locally sourced food and reasonably priced good wines made for a splendid evening meal topped off with a wonderful cheese board. I managed a cooked breakfast which was of the same high standard. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with all the facilities of larger hotels. In all an charming, cosy and welcoming place ideal for a weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
8.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
626 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
277 reviews
9.7 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheaf of Arrows
Sheaf of Arrows
#3 of 3 in Cranborne
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse at Cranborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse at Cranborne

Property: La Fosse at Cranborne
Address: London House, | The Square, Cranborne BH21 5PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fosse at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef proprietor Mark Hartstone and his wife Emmanuelle would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to experience our homely Restaurant with Rooms in this beautiful countryside of Dorset. Providing six quality accommodations, as well as delicious home cooked dinners with friendly and efficient service, in comfortable idyllic rural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fosse at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing