We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, a bit inconvenient”
Review of La Francesca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Francesca
Ranked #7 of 11 Bonassola B&B and Inns
Dresden Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, a bit inconvenient”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a beautiful location. We arrived the day before the official summer season started so most of the amenities were closed (the pool, the market, the pizzeria). It would have been a better stay if these things had been open, which we thought they were because the lady at reception told us they were. Oh well. Also, thankfully we had a car because La Francesca is not that close to a town and with the pizzeria closed and the market closed, we had to do a lot of shopping. Also, the restaurant would not let us eat outside and the menu was very limited. Again, the waiter, who was very nice, told us a lot of things on the menu were not available because it was not the summer season. We did not realize the resort's services were so dependent on the season.

Room Tip: Very dated and a bit dirty, but the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASWDresdenGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
211146, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Francesca, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
The “beautiful location” so much appreciated by the guests is not due to us, but to this wonderful territory, a piece of Liguria that we endeavour to protect an defend every day.
I cannot understand what you mean by “official summer season”. As indicated in our site the 25x10 swimming-pool is open from June to September.( not may ) Bar and minimarket open every day from 8.30 to 11 and from 17 to 19. All our cottages – or apartments – are equipped with kitchenette, but if you like to have a coffee at an off-hour, a few coffee makers are at disposal. The “pizzeria” does not exist, but from June to September we prepare tasty pizzas in our wood stove every Monday evening, the closing day of the restaurant.
The restaurant, perched high over the sea (and this is why in May you cannot dine on the terrace: the wind is still blowing cold), is open for dinner and offers a 2 course-menu at € 17,00, a children menu at € 10,00 and a menu à la carte: a choice among 4 appetizers, 4 first and second courses, 3 side dishes and 3 desserts, prepared by our chef according to the regional cusine.
Maybe our guests have not fully read the information we always send when booking is made or maybe we have not been clear enough. If so, we apologize for it.
Giovanna Cossia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    121
    55
    37
    45
See reviews for
159
141
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I can see why some people liked this resort. It is in a good location, has wonderful views, good price and the staff was friendly, especially at the resturant. But the view and charm could not overcome the poor conditions of the rooms. Maybe it was early in the season and they have not done their good cleaning yet. The dust permeated the room. I could not even use their pillows because of musty smell. We actually found ourselves coming up with reasons not to go back to the hotel even though we were worn out from our hiking. Another small draw back to this hotel is the distance to the train station. It is a good 30 minute walk, though it does have some great views. If I had it to do again I would spend a little more and get a room in Montessoro del Mar, the northern most of the Cinque Terra towns. There are far more and better options for diner, you can walk straight out on to the trails without the train ride and it would be hard to find a hotel that was as poorly cleaned as La Francesca.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bonassola hotels

Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The girl at reception was as nice as people can be (and all the staff there too); the rooms were as seen on photos; restaurant was really good... The resort is really a bit isolated (but that's an advantage sometimes)), and still gives opportunities to reach Bonassola, Levanto and Cinque Terre easily. Also great nature and very small, but very nice private beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaroulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at La Francesca last year and are booking again for this year. It is a real retreat. I stayed with my husband and 8mth old baby. It is perfect for a family as has a little secluded beach, lovely restaurant and pool. It is a great place to stay whilst discovering the Cinque Terre . We hope to stay many times as a family as it is very friendly and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flippa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Upon arrival we were checked in to our two rooms by a very rude lady you acted like she was doing us some kind of favor to take passport information and hand us room keys. She pointed up the hill to or room location. We had to drag our bags up a dirt road to find a building with our rooms. The condition of the rooms were nothing like what I saw on line and it was impossible to even stay in the room for even one night. The hotel felt like being at some kind of kids summer camp and not what adults are looing for when visiting Italy. The location is very isolated and not great for exploing the Cinque Terre area. We ended up finding a wonderful three bed room apartment at Hotel Eden right on the water in the town of Levanto for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SunSeeker702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Been there for a week last summer.

Goods:
- astonishing seaview (this is what I mean when I read "room with a seaview"), you are litterarly overwhelmed by the sea wherever you are in the village
- nice private beach, with crystal clear water and rocks to dive from
- great restaurant with good food and a lovely terrace overlookin the whole gulf
- well organized entertainment not of the annoying type (you can easily forget you are in a village and live as if you rent a bungalow or you can have your kids looked after by the staff and just relax)
- roomy bungalows each one with a huge terrace (do I have to mention "with a seaview"?) to dine on
- silent and quite isolated place, a horse of a very different colour from crowdy Santa Margherita or Portovenere
- a touch of poetry given by nice benches among the flowers or suggesting statues disseminated all over the village

Bads:
- not the place you might like if you are looking for nightlife
- need to have your own car to enjoy the surroundings (few shuttles or a 20 minute walk to Levanto station)
- the village is all over a huge hill, so if you live on the top and forget your towel on the beach you'll sweat all your way up and down (cars are not allowed in the village - which might be written among the "goods" i guess)
- bungalows are not fully equipped (soap, toilet paper, linens and towels were missing. Pots and kitchenware were present)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Accommodation very average. Restaurant food very average and menu limited. Front desk not very helpful. Too far away from Bonassola. The whole experience was average!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Griswalds2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonassola
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pensione Moderna
Hotel Pensione Moderna
#3 of 4 in Bonassola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#2 of 4 in Bonassola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#1 of 4 in Bonassola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.4 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Francesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Francesca

Property: La Francesca
Address: Localita La Francesca, 19011 Bonassola, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bonassola
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bonassola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Francesca 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 houses and apartments from 2+1 to 6+2 beds with kitchenette, bathroom and terrace, in a marvellous park overlooking the sea of Cinque Terre; the ideal place for a holiday immersed in nature. Beach, swimmingpool, tennis, playground; restaurant, bar, minimarket. 60 minutes from Genova airport (1 hour and 15' from Pisa); 15 minutes from Carrodano-Levanto exit of the motorway A 12 Genova-Livorno; 5 minutes drive from Levanto station - starting point for trains to Cinque Terre - that you can reach in 15 minutes walk through the old railway tunnels, recently restored and opened to the hikers. Aperto tutto l'anno: 55 appartamenti e villette da 2+1 a 6+2 posti letto, con angolo cottura, bagno e terrazza, in un grande parco sul mare delle Cinque Terre; luogo ideale per una vacanza immersa nella natura.Spiaggia riservata, piscina, tennis, impianti sportivi, campo giochi; ristorante, bar, minimarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Francesca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Francesca Villas Hotel Bonassola
La Francesca Villas And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing