We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craigadam Guest House”
Review of Craigadam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigadam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay her for 1 night. Room was massive and very regal
the owners and staff are very welcoming.
They just leave you to wander around the rooms as you please.
Full size Snooker table in the "honesty" bar room.
Prices were not too bad. Many whiskeys and beers

Breakfast was good with anything you want..good service...very friendly.

its one of those places you think about for days after.

We felt rather posh for the night!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Picked this B&B mainly because of excellent reviews and location suited us.
Arrived throught the day and was pleased with room and made welcome, went down for dinner at 7 had pre drinks in the snooker room there was a honesty bar but unfortunately no prices, dinner was served on a huge dining table there were 4 of us in total there is no choice with the food so I was intrigued to see what was coming, starter was smoked fish which lovely then next coarse came it was a tiny piece of duck I think! it was so small i thought it must be a hors d' oeuvres but then the veg came so I was unfortunately wrong, the duck was the toughest bit of meat I have ever had and you needed a steak knife to cut it, my partner had to leave hers it was so chewy at least the veg was nice.
Sweet was delicious although not much bigger than a match box in size but very tasty all the same, coffe was served in another room. When we retired to the bedroom which you have to go out the main building and go around the corner it was absolutely pitch dark and we had to use the light from mobile phones just to see the entrance door.
Breakfast the following morning was very good just as well as we were still hungry from dinner the night before.
We checked out just after that and that was when i found out how expensive the honesty bar was, we had 2 bottles of cider a bottle of Sauv and a house bottle of red with the meal,
The room cost £94 which was fair
meal £58 very expensive for what you got
Drinks cost £60,40!!! considering you serve your self I think this is day light robbery

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice but take a torch because there is no light outside when you go to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank treble1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Craigadam.
With regard to the confusion about the honesty bar tariff, a clear signage of cost is display at the eye level of optics for convenience.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the starter of our own Craigadam Hot Smoked Salmon and apologise for any confusion cause by the provision of the main course, which was half a mallard duck. However it is reassuring to know that you enjoyed the vegetables provided. Guests, if they feel in any way that our main course accompanied by two vegetables and potatoes is insufficient we are more than happy to make any additional foods available.
At Craigadam every attempt is made to meet all dietary requirements.
The drinks bill was Sauvignon Blanc, Francesca Bay £21.95, Craigadam Cabernet Sauvignon £13.50 and Chateau du Cros Loupiac 2004 £18.75. 2 bottles of Magners £3.70/bottle.
We are sorry that your return to your room caused difficultly in darkness. We will address this matter with urgency.
We posted your iPhone charger yesterday and hope you receive it safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Craigadam is a wonderful place, not just a splendid lodgings but a terrific experience. Richard & Celia provide more than you could ask for and are such hard working people it's hard to fathom how they manage to cater for guests alongside all their other responsibilities on this extensive estate. The rooms - all themed - are excellent as indeed is the whole house with it's peaceful sitting room, elegant dining room and billiard room. Richard provides sumptuous home cooked dinners, delicious farm produce to take home and the breakfasts are excellent and substantial so it's just was well there are extensive walks on and around the property. We liked it so much we rebooked immediately for another night on our return journey and we'll definitely stay here again when visiting Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for all your comments. We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A lovely family run hotel in a stunning location. The rooms are very spacious and presented very well. We were made to feel very welcome by all the family and the food was excellent. There are lovely long walks in the area and the scenery breath-taking. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fitted to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedges121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed Craigadam, we hope your dog enjoyed it as much as you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Based on the web site I would suggest that good is a fair rating for this B & B. No sign of Richard but Celia was always about and seemed to do everything. Perhaps this was why her initial greeting was a little abrupt.Our inability to find out how to lock the bedroom door and our initiative to lock the outside door and take the key for a couple of hours did not savour favour either as it turned out the neighbouring room's occupants could not get in. A little explanation about the doors and dodgy locks would have resolved this issue. (Later even found out the key and lock issue is in the hotel guide!)
Rooms were lovely and clean, fresh and pleasant. The Creole Room does not as it says have a bathroom. It has a shower room which is very small. Food was lovely (perhaps the starter was a little meagre) and feeding the 12 guests with the same fare for 3 courses should have delivered the meal for a little less than £28 a head. No waste and very local produce should mean better vfm. No complaints about the wine and bar prices. All pretty reasonable and nice range of whiskies. The lounge/drawing room was comfortable too and ideal for coffee. Staff were first class. Breakfast, ordered after the main meal the night before, was excellent although the staff struggled to get them out quickly to eat together. No waste there either other than the food that was left by some who could not eat the full Scottish. Loads of tea and toast on demand and the fruit juice and cereals and fruit were varied and tasty. Celia was more relaxed on our departure and appeared to have got over the key issue! She's actually a charming hostess who would appear to have far too much to do! Would we return. Probably just to soak up more of the estate and try some shooting and fishing..

Room Tip: take your pick but not Creole if you like a bath. Indian Room had a lovely big corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for writing a review.
I'm sorry you felt that Richard's presence was missed - he would have been delighted for you to join him for a G & T in the lambing shed. He was in full flow in the sheep shed, lambing 1000 organic ewes! At this time of the year, as a working organic farm he is only to be found in the sheep shed.
If you do decide to return during the shooting season, you will have Richard's undivided attention from dawn until dusk, as he runs all the shoot days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night which was absolutley amazing the staff food and the room was superb, the bath to die for but most of all its dog friendly. Even though it was a busy lambing time we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We pride ourselves on being dog friendly. Blake, Craig, Skippy and Ben certainly enjoy making new canine friends! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this from a 'travelling with dogs' guide as first night stay in Scotland. Most impressed with overall friendliness and hospitality. Themed room was spacious and well equipped overlooking courtyard. Dining room was several notches above most establishments. Of the 5 locations visited on our Scotland trip we rated this the best!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigadam, Owner at Craigadam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. Craigadam is our home as well as our business and it is always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigadam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigadam

Address: Kirkpatrick Durham DG7 3HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkpatrick Durham
Price Range: $122 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigadam 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Luxury En-Suite Bedrooms in the House. Award-Winning Game Cooking Billiards Room and Honesty Bar Comfortable Drawing Room with Log Fire Formal Dining Room Excellent Wedding Venue Craigadam House Dumfries Hotel nestlles in its own estate grounds near to the Galloway National Park, provides a picturesque setting and elegant venue for your break whether it is hotel or bed and breakfast or a shooting or fishing break or for exclusive weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Craigadam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing