We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blimey, if this place is rated #2, what's the #1 like?!”

West Barmoffity Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkpatrick Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Barmoffity Farmhouse
Hampshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blimey, if this place is rated #2, what's the #1 like?!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We absolutely loved this place. We'd driven from Wales and arrived at dusk. The long farm track leading to the house wound around and over a gentle hill, and then we saw the beautiful farmhouse and couldn't believe our luck. Couldn't imagine a lovelier house in a more magnificent setting.

And it only got better. Jennifer was our sort of host: relaxed, informal, friendly – and very hard working! The bedrooms and bathrooms were modern, large and light. With views over the fields full of sheep and cattle.

Jennifer's cooking (we had ordered dinner for the evening we arrived) was straightforward, fresh, and very tasty.

All together probably the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There are only two — and they are both superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful farmhouse with excellent food. cleanliness, views to die for and ambiance. Jennifer the owner is a credit to Scotland's tourism. Have stayed at many 4* and 5* hotels over the years and I would have to say the West Barmoffity Farrmhouse gives them a run for their money. If in the Dumfrieshire and Galloway area don't miss staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first stop on a mini tour of SW Scotland, the service, food and room were without doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed. the farmhouse is set in an absolute perfect area of Scotland.
The breakfast was a real treat, everything was perfect. We booked an evening meal which was, expertly cooked and superbly presented.
The rooms were showroom pristine and the beds were lush to sleep in.
Jennifer was the perfect host and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for the last day of our trip to Scotland. We highly recommend West Barmoffity Farm as a place to stay> Thanks Jennifer.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked into the double room overlooking the duck pond so a lovely view to wake up to in the morning and have breakfast oerlooking! Sheep in the distance brilliant. Breakfast was a full cooked breakfast if you wished plus, toast, cereal, tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. It was no problem to come in later if we were out for the evening using a key and the room was fantastic- one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in a long time. Lovely bath and shower and a fantastically decorated home from home.

Room Tip: double room overlooks the duck pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenr6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornhill on Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We could not hope for a better place to stay in this beautiful part of Scotland. Very warm welcome by Jennifer, heart warming and excellent home cooked food (including home reared beef) with amazing views for supper and breakfast. Lovely farmhouse and rooms beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: Pets are welcome, but need to stay in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Had a fantastic stay at this lovely B&B. It's very clean and tidy, the service was great and the rooms lovely. Breakfast was also very good. The location was great - waking up to acres and acres of fields!

Would highly recommend this to other people. Staying there was a real treat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E135744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Barmoffity Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Barmoffity Farmhouse

Property: West Barmoffity Farmhouse
Address: Kirkpatrick Durham DG7 3HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkpatrick Durham
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing