We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days and it was a great vacation for me and my family.
We had a little problem at check-in. I booked the deluxe room with sea view but the girl from reception gave us a room with back side sea view. Her explanation was to try to solve my problem with booking.com...but came a manager Maria and gave us an amazing room.
If you want to travel it will be better to come with the car.
In the hotel you can get all information from cultural concierge. Excellent girl. She helped us s lot. Thanked to her we saw all Catalonia.
For sure we"ll come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaslu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    257
    90
    38
    24
See reviews for
166
412
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is in a typical Spanish seaside resort and I can recommend visiting slightly out of season, say early September when it is still warm, the sea is good for swimming and there aren't so many tourists. Having said that, there is a Rock-a-billy music festival which is on in Calafell in September (4-8th) which looks like good fun. That is away from the tranquility of this hotel though. There are private loungers on the beach front which are run by the most tanned man in the world. You can rent kayaks and surf boards further along the beach.There aren't many Brits abroad in the resort that the hotel is based beside, only local Spaniards holidaying and a few toffs in this hotel! We got a last minute deal which had the spa access which was lovely. The massage was good but pricey. The water in the main pool was quite salty, apparently rich in minerals which promote healing. It was, however, a bit cooler than I would like so I didn't do the massage jet bit as much as I would have liked. This hotel is full of little pockets where you could relax and lounge, like the sofas on the terrace overlooking the beach. The decor inside the atrium of the old TB sanatrium is a cross beteen Conran and Habitat. There was a piano player there one evening. There was a nice outdoor pool and bar area and there was a wedding party while we were there which looked very nice. There are sun pods and rattan outdoor swinging chairs that you can chill out on the terrace on and watch the sunset. Our room was a good size and we were brought a bottle of Cava on the first night which we saved as we were broken from out night in Barcelona the day before. The food and drinks there are expensive but the breakfast that was included was top notch. There was champagne on ice if you so wished for a liquid breakkie. The transfer to Reus airport we were quoted via the hotel was extortionate so we walked to the local taxi rank, next to the train station and booked one for half the price. The taxi can't come into the hotel itself but can wait outside. If you are coming to and from Barcelona airport you could get the train and get off at Calfell, then walk along the seafront until you get to the hotel (maybe 15 minutes) or get a cab in 5 minutes. We got a train to St Vincinte De Calders then a cab as there are only a few trains per day to Calafell. Here is the metro / train map from Barcelona:

http://www.gencat.cat/rodalies/doc/planol.pdf

There is private parking so you could definately hire a car. The lady in the tourist office in Calafell has all the bus and train timetables and was really helpful. I can recommend hiring bikes (either from the hotel or from the place across from the tourist office in Calafell) to explore the sea front. At night the Spanish families come out for a little promenade and it has a nice vibe.There are several fair to middling restaraunts on the front which aren't too far from the hotel. It is worth getting a 3 for 2 entry to the castle in the Medieval part of Calafell, Iberian ruins and the fishermans cottage. I think it would be worth staying longer as there are some good wineries and lots of other things to do in Tarragona. If you are skint there is a campsite down the road on the beach and I'm guessing you could pay for a day spa as a treat or come for one nights luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My company held our annual European Sales Meeting in November. This resort is usually closed during this time of the year so that might have been related to some of the issues we had. First, the appearance of the resort is fabulous. This resort was once a tuberculosis sanitarium and now is a nice blend of modern and old styles. Rooms are spacious for European standards and bedding and amenities are very good. Bathrooms are huge! My room had both a standing shower and separate bath tube. My biggest complaint was rooms heating and cooling was awful. Being it was November and mildly cool, the rooms were still very WARM! I would hate to see what these would feel like in 80-90 degree weather in the summer. Many complained they could not get their rooms cool and would have to sleep with their balcony doors open - this led to a mosquito problem where many had severe bites on them. Another problem was the showers are all equipped with a waterfall like shower head. This was not at all pleasant!! It was likened to being beaten! The other issue we had was with irons and ironing boards - there are not in the rooms and for a large group there were in big demand.

As for the quality of the food service, we had pretty good experience. All meals were very fresh, flavorful and had a good variety. We only had one night where the food was average to poor and it was a tapas night. We were served a shrimp tapas that was horrible! The shrimp were overcooked and soaked in oil and had the consistency of mush. We also had a piaya that was very bad!

Overall this resort is a good place to stay and has a great location - beautiful surroundings. If the hotel would make some minor changes it would have been a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prespilot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a two-week trip to Catalonia. We intended this leg to part beach stay, part base to explore Tarragona and the Cistercian monasteries. The beach stay part worked wonderfully. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable, with modern furnishings. The beach is well-maintained and not very crowded for a resort of it's size. The hotel's restaurants were above-par.

However, the location made it a little tricky to get in and out and see places. Most of the other attractions in the area are at least 45 minutes away, and involve toll roads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot,
Level Contributor
267 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The Meridien Ra is a cool hotel with cool architecture in a great spot right next to the beach. Comfortable and good sized rooms all have balconies and excellent facilities, though some bits and pieces are a bit tired and my shower was totally unreliable - scalding one moment and freezing the next. Every room gets sea views and there is plenty of space whether your trip is for business - as mine was - or pleasure. The Spa is simply stunning and thehealth centre is good is not outstanding. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the quality of food is top notch. Breakfastis excellent. Free wifi works everywhere and has good speed. No iPod docks, but the TV service has an excellent range of channels fo all languages and not just the usual news channels. If you choose the Meridien Ra for a Barcelona holiday youmight be disappointed by the fact that you have either a 40 minute drive or a 30 minute train ride to the city - but if you want to be out of the hustle and bustle then it is a great place to retire to! The surrounding town is delightfully quiet out of season and has some good, well-priced restaurants. Not a family hotel, I would suggest, but great for grown-ups!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My 5th visit, always on a car launch, but I remember the place from when it was disused and deserted in the late 1960s. Great location on a beach walkway. Gets extraordinary light at the beginning and ends of the day. Bedrooms are in a new annex to the south of the old hospital building. Very comfortable. Excellent, interesting food. Duck confit for over 100 people was a new one on me. Nice starter of Jamon Serano and asparagus. Decent wifi connection; no messing about with usernames and passwords.

Room Tip: Better to get a room on the west side or the south side, but all give a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is nice - attentive service, nice views, good food. But be aware that the place (El Vendrell) itself is very boring. It is located one hour train journey from Barcelona centre (train fare is about 4 euros per person) so if you are exploring Barcelona and staying in Meridien Ra, then fine. But if you are going to make El Vendrell your destination, then you'd better have good company to keep you entertained or a big and interesting book! There is nothing to go to in town (there are two decent restaurants but one was closed when we were there), almost no shops apart from children clothes and toys and some souvenirs, no music/dancing, nothing. There are no other luxury hotels around - all apartments to rent and other very modest places. To be fair - it is a spa hotel and the spa area is lovely. Massage costs about 75 euros for an hour, you can spend days swimming in seawater pool and enjoy sea views. So I would say it is good for couples on honeymoon - very romantic, for people with kids - very safe, for people who are stressed at work and want to be alone for a while. Otherwise go somewhere else. And don't make the mistake we made - do not plan to travel to El Vendrell from Madrid, it is a long and confusing journey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Vendrell
2.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario TermaEuropa Playa Coma-Ruga
21.7 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#4 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
10.3 mi away
Altafulla Mar Hotel
Altafulla Mar Hotel
#1 of 6 in Altafulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antiga
Hotel Antiga
#1 of 10 in Calafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
22.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.4 mi away
Nuba Hotel Comarruga
Nuba Hotel Comarruga
#1 of 8 in Coma Ruga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida del Sanatori, 1, 43880 El Vendrell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > El Vendrell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Vendrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa, inspiration is found in the hotel's open spaces. As guests arrive, senses are awakened by the vaulted ceilings of the original buildings "Capilla" juxtaposed with the light filled contemporary lobby. Outside, guests can discover beachside terraces, teak decks and peaceful gardens and orchards. The Beach Club, featuring a french inspired design, offers light Mediterranean cuisine and is a place for relaxation during the day and is ideal for enjoying sea side cocktails and local cava in the evening. Design touches throughout these spaces are reminiscent of modern classics: in the Hub, a modern interpretation of a Gaudi-esque chair is revealed and cartography is a feature of our meeting rooms. Our guest rooms feature high ceilings, terraces, patios or sea views, inviting guests to enjoy the ambience of their surroundings by the sea. The upcoming renovation on rooms by renowned designer Isabel Lopez, aims to reinforce the timeless awakening of senses and inspiration characteristic of Le Meridien Ra. Explore Spa by Le Meridien, the first in Europe, encourages rejuvenation by a variety of culturally inspired therapies from around the world to balance both the body and mind. Space to expand ideas is provided by our meeting facilities where successful events are hosted inside in our Discovery Meeting Rooms, or outside in our bamboo gardens, terraces or by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel El Vendrell
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel And Spa
Meridien El Vendrell
Le Meridien El Vendrell
El Vendrell Le Meridien
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa Spain/El Vendrell, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing