We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place. Heartily recommended”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A fantastic place. Heartily recommended”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at the Grain House for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The place was very well equipped and very child-friendly. The place was very spacious and comfortable.

The highlights for us were the hot tub and games barn as well as the large fenced garden that kept the children amused.

We will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for leaving the house in such good order. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again in the future. George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueredgie
Billericay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family retreat”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed here for husbands birthday with daughters and their partners. Fabulous house for the 6 of us. Great log burner. Super large kitchen. Beautiful large garden with hot tub. But the icing on the cake is the huge barn with pool table, table tennis, table football and darts board. Brilliant fun was had by all. We had a great field walk to Stoke by Clare, 40 mins there, pub lunch and then 40 mins return. Fabulous all round. Thank u so much George

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Dear Sue, I'm so sorry for not responding to your very kind review sooner. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for leaving the house in such good order. Well done also for making it to Stoke by Clare and back, you certainly deserved a pub lunch to break up the round trip. I hope to welcome you back here in the future. Best wishes, George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful house, lovely setting, very friendly, welcoming and efficient owner, perfect.”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

House is beautiful, fully equipped, spotlessly clean, huge garden, large games room, and kids were in hot tub every day, loved it. Historic Clare nearby, good shops in Haverhill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janemboyc...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home!!! ”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a fantastic week here the house is amazing, beautiful large very safe enclosed garden perfect for our 2 labs that loved it!
House had everything you could possible need, very spacious for our family of 4 and 2 dogs.
Very clean and tidy house, owner is really friendly and the couple that work on the farm nearby were very nice helpful people.
Hot tub was a perfect touch which we used everyday!
Beds were very comfy and very good showers in every bedroom.
Games room opposite house was great fun most evenings for us too.

Also has badminton & croquet to play in the garden and a fishing lake at end of garden was brilliant, even caught a few fish!
Such a nice quiet peaceful area with lovely pubs and towns nearby.
The owners wine shop is an added extra too, lovely selection and very convenient.
Thank you so much for letting us stay and thank you for our welcome bottle of prosecco too.
Have stayed in many holiday homes but this was by far the best!
We shall miss the grain house now after spending such a nice week there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Hi Jane, Thank you very much for the review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the house, and thank you for being such friendly and tidy guests. I hope to welcome you back here at some point in the future. Best wishes, George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our perfect holiday”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you for such an amazing holiday, the Grain House is absolutely stunning and is extremely well presented. The house has loads of space, excellent facilities and very comfortable beds. The games barn was an added bonus and is huge, we loved it in there. The garden is also large for outdoor fun and the hot tub is brilliant. Don't wonder about booking this, just book it, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Hi Sally, Thank you so much for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we may welcome you back here at some point in the future. Best wishes, George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
1 review
“Perfect Holiday Break”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have 2 dogs, 2 elderly people with limited abilities, 2 teenagers and 2 normal adults in our party and I can honestly say that The Grain House ticked all our boxes. The property had everything you could want. the owners had thought of everything. The location was fantastic and is a dog walkers paradise, and the hot tub was a lovely bonus at the end of the day. Having such a diverse mix of needs within our party The Grain House was the perfect holiday home and we would definitely re book.
We would also like to thank George, his family and staff for making our stay so effortless.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Martin. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you as guests. I am particularly please that the house suited all of your needs (including the dogs), as we do try to cater for everyone. I hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemgem38
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing house!!! Such a great set up. A group of 7 friends stayed here and we could not find any faults! We were going to a wedding at The White Hart in Great Yeldham and it was the perfect location (10 minute taxi ride).

Owners are very friendly and gave us a discount in their wine shop next door...always handy for the hot tub!

Very clean. 4 spacious bedrooms and 3 bathrooms so plenty of space for everyone. Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. There is even a whole barn just for games...this has table tennis, pool, table football, darts and lots of sofas for chilling - we made the mistake of only discovering it an hour before we were leaving!

Great communication from the owner - prompt return of our deposit.

Would highly recommend this place. Probably the best "cottage" we have ever stayed in. Great value for money. Hope to return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Thank you for the review Gemma. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for leaving the house in such good order. I hope to welcome you here again in the near future. George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing