We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family cottage jackpot”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MattSadle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family cottage jackpot”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at The Grain House as two families (4 adults, 3 kids, 1 baby) and loved everything about it. The house is furnished to a really high standard with loads of space, comfortable furnishings and great lighting. The hot tub was a huge hit with kids and grown ups alike, the outside space was lovely and the amazing wine and cheese shops on the doorstep were firm favourites by the end of the week. And that's not to mention the well stocked games barn, plus cupboard of board games and puzzles. The Grain House ticked so many boxes it'll be hard to beat for next time. We would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thanks for the lovely comments, we do our utmost to get it right!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph C
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really nice, well organised and well looked after house. The hot tub and fire places were great! We stayed with as a group of 7 and the house more than big enough for everyone to have their own space and communal areas! Would visit again.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2015
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne M
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property enjoyed by the whole family”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, my parents and my 3 young children. Pippa came to greet us upon our arrival and showed us around the property.

We were really impressed by all the little touches, such as additional towels and crocs to use with the hot tub. The games room was an unexpected but welcome addition and would no doubt prove to be useful if it was raining.

The inside of the property is decorated and maintained to an excellent standard and you can tell Pippa has really put her personal touches into it.

My two girls, aged 9 and 5 absolutely loved the upstairs bedroom and my little boy really enjoyed the swing in the back garden.

The adults enjoyed a trip to the cheese shop and especially enjoyed the wine tasting in the wine shop which is over the road from the property.

We wouldn't hesitate to return again.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: The drive through the gate to the parking area was a little tight
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We do our best and it is lovely to know that it is so appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravimetr...
Alrewas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth each and every 5 star”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with family (including a 2 1/2 yo) for 1 week in June 2015. After a long drive we were met by one of the owners, Pippa, who was a delight and very welcoming.
The Grain House is located just off the A1017 at Halstead (post code CO9 4AH) and is on the same site as Baythorne Hall and the Cookery School and Wine Shop. I should emphasise that the adjacent properties do not affect the privacy of the Grain House.

The grounds of the Grain House are extensive - a large grass area with a swing for children. The river Stour runs at the back of the garden - this is fenced to stop the little ones running out to the river. There is ample parking within the gated area of the Grain House for up to 3 cars. The property includes a hot tub, which we used every night!

Inside, there is a utility room, large kitchen & pantry, 2x sitting rooms and 2/3 bedrooms on the ground floor. Upstairs there is a further bedroom and ensuite. The property is tastefully decorated and furnished throughout, and it has a real 5-star feel to it. WiFi available on-site.

The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant, and were on hand to help with any queries we had during our stay: we required a stairgate, which was provided quickly and a bulb needed replacing in a bathroom - again, replaced quickly.

There is ample, and up-to-date tourist information in the hall of the property. No smoking throughout. Pets are allowed - we did not detect any evidence of pet hair or odour during our stay - in fact the property was immaculate throughout upon our arrival.

Locally there is a Tesco, Sainsburys and Aldi within 10 minutes drive. Lots of decent pubs serving good food in the vicinity too, some of which I've reviewed on TripAdvisor.

The pictures on the owner's website do not do The Grain House justice.

Summary - a real 5-star property with 5-star owners, making our family holiday in the area most enjoyable. Thank you to Pippa & Peter Unwin.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, large property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
A wonderful review from 5-star guests. Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaGille...
1 review
“A fabulous, luxurious and welcoming house!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful week at The Grain House and were very impressed with the high standards throughout! The children enjoyed the large garden and we all enjoyed the hot tub!! Lots of places to visit in the area too!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Really kind words, delighted that we got it right!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X7LJR
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a relaxing find - everything we wanted and much more....”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at the Grain House. As advertised and excellent communication once booked - very impressed. My family of four stayed with another family of four - children aged from 8yrs to 5yrs - they loved it.
Hot Tub fantastic.
House and gardens stunning.
Wine Shop on site - perfect!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Slightly isolated location - no load pub in walking distance
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
What a great review. My son must have looked after you really well in my absence! Delighted you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBr59
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The family needed some where to stay for an extended weekend, so i had choosen the grain house and what a fantastic choice it turned out to be. The thought and planning that has gone
into this accommodation has produced a welcoming and relaxing environment, there were six adults in the house but we were never on top of each other.

Our favourite place to "chill out" was in the hot tub! quite a strange experince sitting in the warmth as the temp drops around you and frost forms on the grass.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub
Liked least: nothing at all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2015
Thanks for your kind words. It's lovely to know when we get things right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing