We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The children loved it!”

Launceston Steam Railway
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The children loved it!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

A very nice way to spend the day with children. The trip with the steam train was excellent and we took full advantage of the fact that you can take as many trips as you like during the day.
It's obvious that there's just enough money for maintenance of the trains and track, but that doesn't spoil the fun. What it does, is highlighting the fact that staff working at this steam railway are dedicated to keep things in safe working order. Friendly people as well.
There's a nice little museum, with some vintage cars, motorcycles and all kinds of machinery. At the end of the ride there's a play farm for children with simple games, outdoor toys and small animals. An excellent stop for both children and parents.
Launceston should invest (more) in maintaining this excellent attraction, for example the entrance is in need of some new paint and clear parking signs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    56
    16
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I thought it was overpriced for what is provided, the ride is fun but it is often very overgrown and the views are not great. The folks running the railway might benefit from some customer service training as I wondered if they were working for the visitors or just for their own interests?
Farm park at the end of the ride great value, separate charge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dream of a train trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Wonderful trip great feeling on the little train with the countryside passing by. Not sure it would b so good if the weather was wet. Ended up at a small farm with lots to see and do. From Petting the ponys and goats to playing old fashioned games and then eating a good value cream tea while watching the peacock showing off

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Steaming through the countryside”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We do love our steam railways, so this was another good one to add to our list. It is in a pretty setting and the staff are very friendly. The train ride is very short but chuffs along through lovely countryside and the added extra at the end of the line is Newmills, a park with all sorts of activities for the kids and some animals. There is a nice tearoom offering cream teas. There is a charge but not expensive.
The station itself has a quaint tearoom, a gift shop and a museum of old vehicles which is very interesting. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

i think this attraction is overpriced for what it is and how long the journey actually cost (about 15-20 each way) to the new mills farm and back. However i do like that you can visit their shop, museum and cafe for free. We had a few things from the cafe before we went on the train that were cheap. Overall it was worth it as my children enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RACH3884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Launceston Steam Railway also viewed

 
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to Launceston Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing