We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely railway”

Launceston Steam Railway
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely railway”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited with 2yr old and 7 month old. Lovely day. Not too long for them to get bored (20 minutes) lovely little animal and play place at the end of the trip well worth a visit. A good day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    62
    17
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Granddaughter's first Steam Train Ride!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Whilst my Sister & Brother-in-law had visited this delightful little steam railway on several occasions, we made arrangements to meet up with them on the Station, taking my little Granddaughter along too...her first experience with a 'puffa-Billy'...at only 2 years old, she was delighted with the whole experience...her face was a picture! It was mine and my Daughter's first experience with this particular railway and we agreed it wouldn't be our last! Although, the train journey only took 20 minutes, one was allowed to go back & fore as many times as they liked on the one ticket purchased! At the end of the line there was a lovely Park for Adults & kiddies alike, sadly, it was pouring with rain on the day we were there, though we did alight from the train to take a look, and it definitely warrants a return visit, as we could see a huge playground for the children, a variety of Farm Animals wandering around and a lovely Cafe for refreshments, with outside seating for the finer weather, it really did look like the kind of place to spend some time, especially with the children. We also called in the Station Cafe and enjoyed a 'proper' cup of tea and cakes, and it was laid out all very nicely, with, of course, a touch of nostalgia of times gone by, we all seem to yearn for these days. The toilets were immaculate and the courtyard looked lovely with splendid flower beds and hanging baskets. The little shop had some lovely gifts/memorabila etc., and everyone working there or involved on this project were so very pleasant and made it an absolute pleasure....we will definitely go back one day soon,,hopefully.....thanks to all concerned for making this all possible for us and future generations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TESSY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Yesterday my wife and I dropped by to take a look at Launceston station while on our way home from collecting an ebay purchase. We expected to spend 30 minutes there and ended up leaving an hour and a half later! The place is amazing - a complicated multi-level narrow-guage terminus that looks like it has always been there (but hasn't), with a range of wonderful industrial buildings, one with a museum of nice old oily things (railway stuff, motorbikes, vintage cars, stationary engines). Beautifully restored locomotives with quirky open carriages run back and forth along 2.5 miles of track. We didn't take the ride but will return on another day for that. No-one with even a passing interest in steam should miss this hidden gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great NG steam railway”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

By chance we called into Launceston and discovered a cute little railway with very friendly staff. We rode behind a tiny steam loco through some lovely green scenery at a nice relaxed pace.
Whilst the ride was not long it was most enjoyable hearing a little loco working happily in the front.
After the ride the driver, Jonathon, willingly showed us round the workshop culminating in a most enjoyable visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“brilliant day out”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

what a great day out with fab views and friendly staff, the cafe was well stocked and scrummy, my two grandchildren loved the pizzas, really good portions, i dropped my walking stick off the train and there was no stress the train stopped on the next run to retrieve it for me what a lovely bunch of people keep up the good work

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debbz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Launceston Steam Railway also viewed

 
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to Launceston Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing