We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome, Warm Atmosphere”

The Springer Spaniel
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DELICIOUS FOOD, DELECTABLE ALES, FINE WINES IN A WARM AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE.The perfect place for a casual drink, a family lunch by a warm fire, an after-shoot meal or a business meeting, and a fabulous venue for a celebration or a romantic candlelit dinner for two.Savour local, seasonal produce, meats from our organic farm, fresh fish and wild game; try our tempting puddings and savoury cheeses. Enjoy local Cornish ales, sophisticated wines and warming, luscious liqueures.
Aldeburgh, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Warm Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived on a night when a local businessmen's club was having one of its regular get-togethers, hence bar was crowded and dining room almost full. However we quickly found table in bar beside blazing fire - very welcome on a cold night. Yhe staff advised us to order quickly before kitchen was overwhelmed, which we did and were served without delay. From an eclectic menu we chose gravadlax (smooth and delicious) and linguine with cherry tomatoes and goat's cheese (ditto). Brandy Snap Basket with Ginger Ice-Cream was good too. Choices included pub stalwarts such as Steak & Ale Pie, Baked Salmon and various Steaks. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    169
    58
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Warm welcome. Excellent service. Enjoyed a very good lunch. Excellent value set course menu.
The main menu is full of choice. The food was very tasty. The wine was very good too. I look forward to a return visit so I can try other dishes i was tempted with!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daughter's 1st birthday”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for a family meal to celebrate my daughter's 1st birthday. Mentioned the occasion on Facebook and the staff took it upon themselves to decorate the table for us. Food was excellent as usual and catered for various dietary requirements of family members (fat free, salt free). Staff were helpful & accommodating without being overly in-your-face.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good Food and Service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

On our way North from Cornwall we decided to stop for Lunch before hitting the motorways for the long journey home so a quick detour and...what a find.

Excellent food and Service in comfortable surroundings, generous good quality, well cooked and well presented portions (We both had Rib of Beef).

Going North or South?
Do the short detour and hopefully like us you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Typhoochimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“girls nite”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great easy to get to with fabulous ambiance, roaring fire and imaginative menus.
We meet every six weeks and we havenever been disappointed, we chose to sit in bar but great dining area and great host

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cornishdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springer Spaniel also viewed

Launceston, Cornwall
 
Launceston, Cornwall
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Springer Spaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing