We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

The Springer Spaniel
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: DELICIOUS FOOD, DELECTABLE ALES, FINE WINES IN A WARM AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE.The perfect place for a casual drink, a family lunch by a warm fire, an after-shoot meal or a business meeting, and a fabulous venue for a celebration or a romantic candlelit dinner for two.Savour local, seasonal produce, meats from our organic farm, fresh fish and wild game; try our tempting puddings and savoury cheeses. Enjoy local Cornish ales, sophisticated wines and warming, luscious liqueures.
Brit at large
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Met friends here and had an excellent reasonable lunch in the Bar. Staff could not do enough to please, would certainly go back. Although did not have either pleased to see that they welcomed dogs and children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inedebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    169
    59
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went on a wet Wednesday night in November, it was very quiet but excellent food and service. Will be visiting again.. Would recommend to a friend...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jools R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, but a little overpriced”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate in the restaurant part of the pub which is very nice and has a lovely atmosphere. Service was very good! One waitress was buzzing around all night on her own but seemed to be coping very well. The food was good, but for the price I was expecting amazing. The mushroom pot starer was ok, but again at over £7 I was thinking this should be fantastic. Would def visit again once bank balance has recovered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will0ws_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“slipping and expensive”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We use this pub quite a lot outside of the holiday season and went back in October after the summer hols. Several items on the menu were not available or sold out, and the prices had risen sharply. Their beef in stilton is excellent and has been on the menu for years, but at £17,50 now plus the cost of veg or chips is steep (and smaller portions). There were 4 of us, we had three courses,one round of drinks, and no coffees. £129 before tips is a bit steep for pub food, so probably be a while before we go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank giggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always our first choice”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whenever we are celebrating something special or want to take friends out for a nice meal the Springer Spaniel is always our first choice. The food is fabulous, the ambience is lovely, its very good value and the staff always very friendly and helpful. What more could you want!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springer Spaniel also viewed

Launceston, Cornwall
 
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Springer Spaniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing