We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b and b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Launceston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 Launceston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This b and b is the best we have ever stayed in and we were very sorry that we could not stay longer one night was not long enough to enjoy all of the suite. Jane and Richard were lovely hosts and the breakfast was beautiful kept us going all day. Do take up the offer of extra meals as there really is not alot of choice in Launceston restaurant wise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herman1588, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We are delighted to have another appreciative review. We must point out that there are many superb restaurants within a five mile radius of the town, and we are always happy to drive people if they prefer not to eat with us, but do read previous reviews for those who did eat here!
Thanks for kind words
Jane and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Loved our stay at Beechgrove ,Jane and richard were perfect hosts and could not have done more for us.The suite of rooms at the top of the house were of a very high standard and brilliant for families with the extra bedroom and snug.Well cooked breakfasts with excellent sausages made for a great start to the day.Many thanks to Jane for all her help with the wedding,above and beyond.
Having read reviews of Jane's evening meals I feel i've missed out,have to go back now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herman1588, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us - we are glad that despite the chaos, the wedding all went off well in the end! We hope to see you again one day, when perhaps we will get to cook dinner- thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our third visit to the beautiful apartment at Beechgrove B&B, this time for our 6th wedding anniversary celebration, a romantic long weekend away. Jane and Richard always so welcoming I feel like I've known them for years, such a lovely feeling like coming home! Jane spoilt us on arrival with a delicious three course meal which was top class (Home made raviolli, well done Jane), in the chic lounge with that wonderfull view. Breakfasts are a delight, wonderfully cooked scambled eggs with smoked salmon and mushrooms on the side, home made toast and preseves for me and Hubby a full english made with quality produce. Oh and did I memtion the Beechgrove breakfast cocktail Mmmm and Blueberry pancakes, maple syrup and marscapone cream, what a way to start the day. My Hubby surprised me with one of Janes amazing Pic Nics !!! yoiu need to try one, its the best.Thank you for a wonderful stay, we both thoroughly enjoyed our treat to each other, returning home fully rested and thoroughly spoilt. Loved the new huge bed too !
Brilliant, see you soon Hugs Jo and Andy x

Room Tip: There is one room which is an apartment ! Super king size room, small lounge - tv, microwave,toys,te...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herman1588, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

You can't imagine how lovely it is when people choose to celebrate a special occasion in our B&B - it really makes us feel so proud, that we can provide the background for your memorable moments..
Also you are great to experiment on, foodwise! so appreciative!
thank you for a really lovely review, we look forward to your next visit
J&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second six-night stay at Beechgrove and it somehow managed to top our first fantastic stay. The accommodation, which feels like an apartment within a beautiful home, is ideal for our needs with two little boys, and the huge new superking bed turned out to be an extra luxury for us this year. But what sets Beechgrove apart are Jane and Richard with their thoughtfulness and attention to detail, while the B&B’s USP has to be Jane’s cooking, with everything homemade. In fact, the food made the holiday for all of us and seemed even more sublime than we remembered. The boys were excited about their breakfast every morning, including stacks of strawberry and banana pancakes that Jane made specially for them one morning as a change from porridge and cooked breakfast. At dinner time (boys in bed, bliss!) we got to try too many amazing dishes to list, but highlights included a starter of homemade ravioli that was as light as a feather, melting chocolate puds that oozed to perfection on both occasions that we put Jane to the test, and the most moreish focaccia. The main courses were delicious and varied - spinach and walnut souffle, chicken in shallot cream sauce, slow cooked lamb, and pork and black pudding stacks with cider sauce. With wonderful food both morning and night, and a new batch of homemade biscuits turning up in our room every day, Beechgrove is not only a perfect B&B, but also a veritable foodie heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamsterchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herman1588, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

What a truly wonderful review - thank you so much for your very generous words and for taking the time to share them with TripAdvisor. We love having you to stay, it is an absolute pleasure to cook for such appreciative guests, and we hope to see you again in the new year - many many thanks
jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

With respect to the "No 1" they have very serious competiton! We were there for sadly only one night but thoroughly enjoyed every moment. From our arrival, to our room through dinner to a first class breakfast it could not be faulted. Do think seriously about booking dinner in advance, ours was excellent. Thank you both for your hospitality and friendly reception! Of course the most telling reccommendation is will we return? Absolutely. Peter and Sue

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a 'suite' with views way over towards Bodmin Moor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 955PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunheved, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you Peter and Sue for wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time away, and we look forward to seeing you for longer next time. Many thanks, Jane and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a recent long weekend. The accomodation was spacious, quiet and superbly presented. The meals were of excellent quality - I would also recommend sampling the dinner menu. Richard and Jane are very welcoming hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them - my girlfriend's dietary requirements were well catered for throughout. We look forward to making return visits in future. Many thanks, Franco and Ellen

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you so much, Franco and Ellen, for such glowing appreciation! We hope this is the first visit of many and were glad to be able to provdie dairy and wheat free options in addition to our normal offering. It makes a real difference when people like what we do, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

As Australians, we came across Beechgrove via the internet whilst planning our tour of Devon and Cornwall. We received a delightfully warm welcome and were provided with a very private suite of spacious and charmingly decorated rooms. Jane has a wonderful eye for detail and nothing was left wanting. Meals were delicious and beautifully presented with the wonderful views from the table. We stayed an extra night but we left with lots of information to assist in our travels. Jane and Richard have set an extraordinarily high standard. Many thanks indeed, David & Vivien

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunheved, Owner at Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

What lovely comments! Thank you so much for your warm words, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Launceston
3.5 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
517 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Eagle House Hotel
The Eagle House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Launceston
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Poole Farm Bed & Breakfast
Poole Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in St Giles on the Heath
83 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Countryman Inn
The Countryman Inn
#1 of 1 in Langdon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechgrove Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dunheved Road, Launceston PL15 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechgrove offers hotel comfort with superb personal service at a reasonable cost. A spacious Victorian home offering great attention to detail for your comfort and relaxation. Home made biscuits, lovely toiletries and quality refreshments enhance this flexible suite for 1-3 guests. We have added free superfast wi fi and sparkling white robes to the suite along with a luxury Superking bed. we regret we are unable to take children under 12 years. Local seasonal produce served in exciting breakfasts both traditional and modern -come and visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beechgrove Bed And Breakfast Launceston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing