We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another welcoming visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Launceston
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another welcoming visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our 11th annual visit was, as usual, very good. Once again the portions & quality of breakfast & dinner could not be faulted. Jane, Pam, Claire & Lynn made us very welcome & organised everything perfectly. Yes the hotel is still very old & dated but it retains a quality that is lacking in many modern upmaket establishments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    49
    34
    28
    31
See reviews for
39
57
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This Hotel is lovely. I had my wedding reception here many years ago, the food was amazing and the service was impeccable. A lot of my wedding party stayed overnight, rooms were perfectly fine and lovely and quiet. Breakfast was great the next morning, everything you could possibly want.

I couldn't fault this place at all.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back overlooking the car park, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Incredibly attractive staff, both male and female. Awesome coffee and great ale. Skinners beauty, and who can say no to a vanilla latte ! You would never of thought a place in launceston did food and drink so well . all round impressed when me and my pals went.

Room Tip: CHOOSE hazelnut mocha, followed by a bahama mama later!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We visited the hotel this week and I am surprised at the negative comments regarding the staff. Lovely people , nice food and above all the place was spotless ( I am very particular about this kind of thing ) . The location is superb to get around cornwall . It is currently in the process of refurbishment and I am looking forward to go back when it is done.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID242London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Yes the hotel is old & dated, but having visited for ten years I can only say thank you to the staff & management.
The food has always been superb, both at breakfast & in the evening.
Nothing has ever been too much trouble to organise or re-organise.
If you want perfection go elsewhere.
If you want a warm welcome it has always been here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I used to be the old bar manager in white hart hotel when i was there it is very rare when we had complaints i am desapointed that some people judge it in bad way specialy my old boss mrs greenway was like a mum to us shame that other people spoil that behind her back Sory again pam.

Room Tip: Goe to room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Surprisingly good after reading previous reviews. Very quiet in our room and we overslept. Good food at good prices, breakfast was superb. Room was good value for money. Friendly staff and unpretentious hotel.

Room Tip: our room was above the bar during a function, no problems whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Launceston
3.4 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 23 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 15 Broad Street, Launceston PL15 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dominating the market square, has grown up almost within the shadow of the castle walls and has always been very much part of the life of the town. The modern visitor en route, or staying for a while to explore the area, will feel well and truly welcome in this excellent hotel within the friendly old-world town of Launceston. Our hotel has 26 rooms; each has its own character and charisma whilst having the convenience of an en-suite bathroom and additional facilities. The White Hart is a multifunctional hotel with facilities for business clients, families, golf breaks, functions or that weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Launceston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing