We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprising place!”

The Hidden Valley Discovery Park
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
stoke
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“surprising place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

the web site doesn't really tell you anything, but that's so as to not give the game away! the trip advisor reviews were good so I took my husband and nearly 13 year old there on the cloudy day. had to do the mansion twice because we only found half the clues first time round! my daughter loved finding the hidden doors. the trail was also really good and actually quite tricky, which made it better. even my husband had a really good time, he's usually a bit of a grump. also a mention for the tea shop, very nice lunch and excellent cream tea! (p.s. they should warn customers that they are going to microwave the quiche, which would have been quite excellent served cold, pastry always goes a bit rubbery when zapped.) we spent a good 5 hours there including lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greenfanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    114
    25
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a refreshing change!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I have visited this lovely attraction on a number of occasions and again on 4th September 2013. The newly built Forbidden Mansion is brilliant and my two grandsons aged 6 & 10 went around it four times. The trail with clues, maps and riddles is great for all ages especially with the new trail aimed at younger children.
What our family love about this day out is there are no rides, or arcade machines... all the fun comes from discovering clues and hidden entrances, solving puzzles and working together as a family. Despite the additional building and investment the creative owner has managed to keep prices reasonable for a family day out.
He should congratulate himself on this unique and challenging attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gina245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit, and the facilities had been much improved . We really loved the treasure hunt round the grounds , finding it exciting trying to find the really well hidden clues. The narrow gauge train was good fun for the kids, and the indoor hunt for clues in the new building was good fun with secret passages and upside down rooms. Food was basic type menu but well prepared and presented and reasonably priced. Good day for the family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wndemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day for all ages”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the 2nd time was have been to The Hidden Valley (1st Jun12) and we were amazed by how much had changed in just a year. The "hunts" around the park are great fun, although younger children may need a bit of help with clues for the adult clues; saying that there also many attractions aimed towards the younger ones aswel. Only reason I have not given the park a 5 is because some of the questions were quite difficult around the forbidden manchion and we felt it might have been a bit better if there were clues around the different rooms to help with the answers. Also it was a shame the insepctors and the explorers hunts were merged but I do understand that there is only so much that can be done in one day. If you go make sure you "enter the vault" whilst there... great fun and gets your mind working... Great day out again Hidden Valley!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakka_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out! Will keep young and old entertained.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First visited this place last year and saw the building of the new mansion so decided we would come back this year. It is great for adults and kids.
Boys loved going though the hidden passages in the mansion and the clues were tricky enough to test the adults at times!
The unlimited train rides are better then last year as we could only go on once.
Have recommend this place to many friends who have differing age kids and they all love it!
This attraction is not advertised as much as other attractions and to be honest that's the way I like it as no crowds but has been best day out these school holidays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbymetherell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Valley Discovery Park also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The Hidden Valley Discovery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing