We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B”
Review of Dorset Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorset Farm
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A top notch accommodation. This is a beautiful country home in a lovely setting, and one of the two best B&B's we stayed in during a 30 day holiday in the UK. Our bedroom was large, very nicely furnished, and the beds were most comfortable. We were especially impressed with the modern, well appointed bathroom. The breakfast was excellent as well. Jon and Vi are friendly, attentive hosts who added much to a delightful stay. Dorset Farm is a solid 4 star++.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 457SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend, arriving on the Friday and departing on the Monday. After reading nothing but good reviews about this B&B, I was anxious for it to live up to the reviews. And it did. Set in the beautiful countryside, it couldn't have been more relaxing if it tried. The only noises around were the occasional whistle of a bird in a tree.
John & Vi, and their dog Max, were exceptional hosts with the most positive and helpful demeanour. They were always on hand to offer advise about where was good to visit or to eat, and they always took an interest in your travels when you saw them for breakfast the next morning. And talking of breakfast... the food was, you could tell, of a high standard and locally sourced. Not to mention, cooked to perfection by John. There was always fresh fruit, juices, cereals, toast and hot cooked breakfasts available, and a selection for different appetites leaving you as full for the day as you needed.
The rooms were beautifully decorated, with sash windows, extremely comfortable beds, gorgously modern en-suites and a vanity table and wardrobe. We were provided with fresh milk on request and always had lovely local bottled water and locally made biscuits provided every day following room cleaning. There was a TV in the room with digital channels too although we didn't have much time to watch it.
Although charmingly out of the way of nearby towns, providing you have a car you are able to explore the surrounding areas with about an hours drive to travel to major towns, i.e. Newquay, St Ives, Bodmin...
I must re-iterate again, if you are looking for a peaceful stay in the beautiful countryside, you should look no further than this charming B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomirachel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We haven't even checked out yet but couldn't wait to tell the potential visitors to Cornwall just how great this B&B really is. I came here with my mum for 3 nights and have been made to feel extremely welcome. The owners Jon and Vi, room, breakfast etc etc have been fantastic. Even the shower was great. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We decided to spend the long weekend in Cornwall recently and many of the accommodation around Cornwall was already sold out, but we stumbled across this little BnB where we booked for two nights. We are so glad we did. The cottage is beautiful, clean and immaculately done up. Jon and Vi were extremely gracious hosts and also had some great tips about what to do in the area.
We arrived to check in later than we had hoped and so when we asked if there was anywhere nearby to eat John told us that the closes pub was about to close up kitchen so he quickly booked us a table and told us how to get there. It was a great recommendation.
My wife is gluten allergic so it was a bit of a shame that there were less options for her for breakfast, as they did not provide gluten free cereal or toast, but there was still bacon, eggs, fruit and yoghurt for her to choose from. That was the only disappointment and it was a very small one at that. My gluten containing meal was delicious. Full English on one morning, and poached eggs with salmon the next. Both meals were delicious.
I should also mention that while the room was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the shower and bathtub were equipped with smooth hot water and were perfect. The grounds and gardens were also immaculate. I would highly recommend this BnB for anyone. It was a truly relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the orchard end the self catering cottage for four nights from the 12th to 16th of August. The cottage was nice and clean surrounded by views of the peaceful beautiful countryside. We really enjoyed our time there, it's been just a little over a week we back home and already thinking when to make the next trip. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mus4fir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Dorset Farm and could not fault anything about it - Jon & Vi are perfect hosts, always available and friendly, Max the dog was adorable! The room and en-suite were definitely 5 star quality, the breakfast was lovely and not one hint of any road noise, bliss!! You really can't go wrong here and I hope we can go again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of an excellent standard I'm sure but our room, 3, had a huge bathroom, bath a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This has to be the best B&B in the UK. The hosts Vi & Jon were extremely accommodating. The breakfast choice was vast and of fantastic quality. The highlight of our stay was a guided tour of the farm and adjoining fields. The room would not have been out of place in a five star hotel. If you are looking to stay in Cornwall then look no further. Perfect hosts, location, rooms, breakfast and copious amounts of tea always on offer.
A must.........

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.5 mi away
The Countryman Inn
The Countryman Inn
#1 of 1 in Langdon
83 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poole Farm Bed & Breakfast
Poole Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in St Giles on the Heath
93 reviews
5.8 mi away
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Kennards House
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
331 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#7 of 24 in Launceston
65 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chynoweth Trelash B & B
Chynoweth Trelash B & B
#11 of 24 in Launceston
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Farm

Address: Boyton, Launceston PL15 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $86 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Farm offers both B&B and self catering accommodation (with a private garden) in the heart of the beautiful Cornish countryside. Woods, fields, wildlife and the River Tamar as one of our boundaries make it a lovely tranquil place to stay. Many attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Dorset Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Farm Launceston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing