We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamham Farm Cottages
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a great week at Bamham Farm Cottages starting 11th April. We are a family of 4, with 2 girls (12 and 9). The cottages were easy to find and are a 15 minute walk into the centre of Launceston. We were lucky to have a dry and pretty warm week, which was great. We spent a day at the Eden Project, a 45 minute drive. We went to Hidden Valley Discovery Park, which is close to Launceston and a great day out (and refreshingly different to usual ride-based theme parks).

Simon, the cottage owner, was welcoming and friendly. Our cottage (Morwenna) was very small, but the kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfy and the cottage was quiet, although this was partly because we had the whole site to ourselves!

We did order a Tesco food delivery for our arrival day but it was a bit of a struggle to get all the fresh food in the fridge. There is a freezer in the laundry room with a drawer for each cottage. (Of course we could use the whole freezer as there was no-one else!)

The games room is lovely; table tennis and pool table are free, plus a good selection of dvds and books for adults and children. We did some laundry and there's a washing line. Loads of info in games room and cottage of places to visit.

We made good use of the pool. it was nice and warm and a good size. Not very deep so great for kids. There are no changing/shower facilities at the pool.

We had a relaxing, peaceful family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4chads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BamhamFarmCottages, Owner at Bamham Farm Cottages, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday especially all of the facilities that we provide for our guests and the wide variety of local attractions, and in particular the wonderful warm sunny Easter weather in Cornwall. We hope you'll come back again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for a week, with our grandchildren (5 and 3 years), at the very beginning of the Easter holidays. The weather was dismal for the first couple of days, but the indoor heated pool and the games room, with really good facilities for all ages were absolutely sanity-saving! The grand-children insisted on spending extended periods of time in the pool and games room twice a day for the entire week. Our cottage seemed pretty cold at first, but once we had got used to the wood-burning stove, it proved to be very cosy. The cooking facilities were good - with an excellent stove and grill that actually worked (unusual in holiday cottages in our previous experience!), and the beds were really comfortable. We found that we did need to boost the water heater in order to have enough hot water, but this was fairly quick, so not a major inconvenience. It was clean, and very quiet, and the children loved being able to rush around outside in perfect safety.The location was central for access to mid- and north-Cornwall, so we made day-long excursions to the Eden Project, Lost Gardens, several spectacular beaches, etc. There is a Tesco within easy driving distance, so it's easy to get basic supplies. I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BamhamFarmCottages, Owner at Bamham Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Jane, thank you for your comments and we are so pleased that you and your grandchildren had such a great holiday visiting all of the fantastic attractions and beaches that Cornwall has to offer. Also lovely to know that they made such good use of the indoor heated pool and games room. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bamham Farm Cottages one day soon. Best regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our little cottage was very comfortable and cosy. Great fun having a log burning stove was a Big plus. My son and his daughter live locally so it was so convenient to all our favourite places like Exeter, Dayma Bay, Polzeth and the moors. The welcoming pack was great and Simon would have the wood burner going only we arrived early. Simon got it going and insured we had everything we needed. The staff maintain the site were friendly and welcoming. The pool and the games room was a bonus. We have found a place to stay at last after 10 years, that is near my family and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaQ3390YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BamhamFarmCottages, Owner at Bamham Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Maria, many thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you liked the cottage and especially the wood-burning stove. We have installed these in seven of our cottages now following our recent complete refurbishment. Thanks for bringing the lovely warm spring sunshine with you too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My Wife, her parents and myself were part of a Bell Ringing Tour of Devon and Cornwall. We all stayed at Bamham Farm Cottages. The cottages themselves are nicely furnished, well equipped and very comfortable. The complex had a large games room, which was very handy when the weather turned nasty. As an added bonus, the indoor swimming pool was always at a nice warm temperature. The service we received when needed was always excellent and friendly. My only issue would be that the pool could do with a hand rail for getting in at the shallow end and the ladder at the far end was a bit shaky,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another brilliant week at Bamham Farm Cottages,and once again had a fantastic time! Once again our grandsons loved their stay,the freedom to play in the fields and play barn,plus the advantage of the indoor pool! Proves a winner every time, thank you Simon ! See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonpandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few weeks whilst waiting for completion on our house purchase and it really is a gem. There were 4 of us me my wife and our 5 yr old twin girls.we stayed in Trelawney and it is a well equipped 2 bedroom cottage with a lovely wood burner. Simon the owner is very helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Our girls loved the pool and games room and the farm is well situated to enjoy the local attractions with a helpful guide provided in the welcome pack. Overall a lovely place and a very helpful host well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaandlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in Ancona at Bamham in January 2013 with my 4 daughters aged 9,14,17 & 19. The cottage was beautiful and well equipped with lovely views to wake up to. The pool was fabulous and we had it all to ourselves. The girls loved going swimming when it was dark outside!
It was really cosy to have a log fire and the games room with videos, outdoor games & books to borrow was a really nice touch and a really good room for younger children too.
If we had been staying longer (or in the summer), we would have made use of the washing machines.
Simon, the owner welcomed us & made sure we knew how to get hold of him should we need anything.
What an amazing place!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Launceston
2.7 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
502 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Coombe Farm Cottages
Coombe Farm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Trewen
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
309 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Kennards House
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamham Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamham Farm Cottages

Property: Bamham Farm Cottages
Address: Higher Bamham, Launceston PL15 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamham Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Launceston, Cornwall. We are family friendly and dog friendly consisting of 8 cottages which sleep up to 40 people. We have an indoor heated swimming pool, games room. We are situated just 30 minutes drive from the beautiful north Cornwall beaches. We are able to accommodate individuals or large groups of family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bamham Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamham Farm Cottages Launceston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing