We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Cornwall”

Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find in Cornwall”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited tamar otter wildlife centre after seeing it on tripadvisor. I was blown away by the place as it felt more intimate than a branch owned safari park for example. Owls, Birds of prey, wallabies , deer and otters amongs lots of birdlife. Great day out for getting really close to animals. Enjoy

Helpful?
2 Thank DaveStorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    95
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very child friendly. Have visited twice now and each time thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Every time have seen happy animals - a good time had by all from 2-40+ years old! Many thanks:)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon with otters and other animals”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recommend this place highly to anyone who is on holiday in Cornwall and loves animals. The otter talk is informative and its lovely seeing the otters playing in their pools and sleeping in their holts. There are lots of other animals to see and taking a walk through the wood with the deer and wallabies is very relaxing. The only slight disappointment is that both times I've been here I've not had the chance to see the Scottish wildcats up close but they are mainly active at night so I guess this is to be expected. The tearooms here are also good and I noticed that they cater for both vegetarians and vegans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really Place to Visit”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is definitely worth a trip out. There are not just otters, but also fowl, birds of prey, fallow deer, wallabies and the star of the show is 'Dasher' the 3-legged Muntjak if he makes an appearance.
There are organised talks starting at 11:30 and 14:30 daily, which includes a talk about the birds of prey (snowy owl, bengal eagle owl, Harris hawk and kestrel) and you can hold the kestrel. The talk continues to the otters, with the otters being fed.
Food can be bought for the fallow deer (and fowl), which are tame enough to feed by hand (the buck has a tendancy to steal the paper bag so be prepared). When we visited there were recently born fawns, and we able to see close up one of these fawns lying in the undergrowth by the side of the path.
There is a small cafe, we recommend the bacon sandwiches, the cream teas and the home-made sponges - one had just come out of the arga and was waiting to cool, whilst we were there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobTheDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best day out”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Feeding the birds, holding hawks, watching otters and feeding deer by hand....great cafe too! All good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Tamar Otter and Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing