We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the young!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not for the young!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel Termes Montbrio appears to be a multiply facelifted "old lady", a strange mixture of old, quite old and 1980s. The gardens are a treat, even though there is a vague smell of something about the place the, pool great but the Spa is only for the non discerning with an appetite for paying a lot of money to lie in a bath while different coloured lights go on and off ( "chromotherapy" - ????).
Breakfast is unavailable before 07.30, and the dining is ok, if a little charmless.
Staff were on the whole friendly but on one occasion the receptionist refused to accept my American Express hotel voucher.
The hotel is never full even in the high season, so you can always find a room, guests are practically all septuagenarian Spanish couples....it suits them so why not?

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade in the most modern north wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgilchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    144
    113
    56
    53
See reviews for
114
403
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I don't quite understand the rave reviews.

WHAT I LIKED:

The friendly staff. Other people apparently found the staff horrible, but they were very nice and helpful to me. The spa was nice but completely over-priced.

WHAT I DISLIKED:

Everything else. This place is in the middle of nowhere, so forget about going anywhere else to eat or do anything (and yes, you'll need a car to get here). The hotel is a motley collection of buildings designed to look old (they looked fake) and buildings out of an American suburban office park. In the center are poorly-maintained central gardens, worthy of mention only because they're hardly worth mentioning. The rooms are drab and old. The food is average and very overpriced.

I spent a month in Spain and stayed at FAR BETTER (nicer, cheaper, more relaxing, better food, you name it) places. Why anyone would choose to stay here when there are so many better options all over Spain is beyond me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I visited Termes of Montbrio with my husband and we completely loved the experience. The gardens, surrounded by olive and almond trees, were a peaceful setting in which we could unwind and just relax. The spa is incredible. It is close to the beach and to golf clubs so it’s the perfect setting to just relax. The Resort & Spa also has a restaurant that gives you the opportunity to dine in a botanical garden! And the thermal experience is amazing!
If you just want to enjoy some relaxing time, enjoy Spanish food, be pampered and have an amazing staff taking care of you... this is your place! thanks to everyone to made our stay so amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylviaBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Nasty restaurant staff. Every time you ask them for something, they respond with such phrases as, 'You are never satisfied,' or 'Always too hot or too cold.' At first I was shocked, then when it happened one time too often I lost my temper and yelled at them.

We are on a kosher vacation organized by Haim Hadad. DO NOT TRAVEL WITH HAIM HADAD. He is very unprofessional.

The reception staff do not speak a lot of English.

If you stay at this hotel, you will need a car. It is not close to the beach.

You have to pay for everything, including the jacuzzi.

The rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Lieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

My overall stay at the Thermes Montbrió hotel was very pleasant.
The double room I stayed in was quite a good size with a good size bathroom. The room was very clean and tidy, and from the window I had a beautiful view over the countryside. The products provided by the hotel were all very pleasant to use. They provide a robe, slippers, shower cream and shampoo, shaving kit, shower cap, shoe-polish, body lotion and a sewing kit.
The service at the hotel was exquisite. Nothing is too much to ask, and practically anything can be done. The staff are very kind and most speak English, though the lifeguards and maids speak only Spanish.
The swimming pool is a good size and looks nice, though there aren’t any slides or diving boards. There are quite a number of beds, but still (especially in the weekends) all might be taken. At the swimming pool there also are a lot of flies, which can be quite unpleasant, especially when you’re having lunch at Grill Miro. The food in all the restaurants is of a high quality. The ambiance at Grill Miro and l’Horta Florida is very nice, while I found the breakfast room and Seguoia quite noisy.
The Aquatonic is a wonderful spa, it’s very relaxing though it can be very busy during the weekends.
The village in which the hotel is situated hasn’t been discovered by tourists yet, so it’s a nice place to have a drink before dinner or walk around afterwards. I definitely recommend Hotel Thermes Montbrió for your relaxing holiday.
By car, it's only 5-10 minutes to the nearest beach, and the cities of Reus and Tarragonna are close and definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth101_Brussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

We have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. We have travelled quite a bit and have never come accross with such bad hotel staff. They all seemed pretty fed up with no time for small talk or smiles. The first time we used the spa pool we were not advised to wear bathing caps and when we got in the water the chap in charge of the pool (Alejandro) just shouted at us ansd although we tried to explain that we were not given any information , he just kept shouting and told us to get out of the water and go away!!!. We were speechless.
Nothing to do at night in the hotel. No music in the bar and the terrace closes quite early, so no chance for drinks after dark.
The beaches were excellent. Try playa cristal in Miami Playa, just 15 minutes away. of course they didn't have anything to do with the hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

I had never heard of this hotel and was a bit unsure due to the lack of UK internet info - but I have to say it was a very pleasent surprise. The staff could not do enough for you and the food was exceptional. The Aquatonic was a great expereince and I felt totally invigorated by its healing waters.

What a great little secret and amazing value for money, I will definetley go back.

  • Liked — The staff, food and Spa
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a superior room!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Traveller1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbrio del Camp
4.6 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#4 of 8 in La Pineda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Claustre
Hotel Gran Claustre
#2 of 6 in Altafulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Atenea Aventura
Mercure Atenea Aventura
#1 of 2 in Vila Seca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marinada
Marinada
#14 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
7.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#18 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park

Property: Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Address: Carrer Nou, 38, 43340 Montbrio del Camp, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Montbrio del Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montbrio del Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montbrió del Camp, on the Costa Dorada, this hotel combines traditional Mediterranean and modern styles. Set in extensive gardens, it has a thermal spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi.Each bright, air-conditioned room at Hotel Termes Montbrió has a TV with international channels. Bathrooms include a hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers.The on-site spa centre includes an indoor thermal pool, whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath. Massages and a range of health and beauty treatments can also be booked.You can enjoy national and local cuisine in Hotel Termes Montbrió’s Goya restaurant, and in summer, the outdoor Miró Grill. Both specialise in dishes using fresh seasonal ingredients.The Termes Montbrió is situated just 6 km from Cambrils Beach and 10 km from Salou. The nearby Prades Mountains Nature Reserve is ideal for walking. Reus Airport is just 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing