We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Nearby Hotels
$19
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
$75
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel(Mui Ne)(Great Value!)
$17
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
603
343
151
76
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
343
151
76
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerprivate roomair cona great place to meetplace to stayyoung peoplesand dunesbed dormhis wifeother travelersnice poolgreat atmospherethe busclean roomsswimming poolpool tableamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As most backpackers we gathered recommendations about places to stay on the internet/travel guides and judged that this hotel seemed suitable - we booked for two nights from Saigon.

The hotel is nicely located and has a direct access to the sea. The staff was helpfull and friendly and the room (sea view) was decent apart from of our shower (little and semi warm water).

We however didn't like (i) the cancellation policy (30 days - no refund), (ii) the 12.000vnd for an extra rol of toilet paper (damn you traveler diarrhea) and (iii) the outrageous 4prct additional fee if you want to pay with visa, (iiii) the lack of a typical backpackers central place to hang around, have breakfast/drink and mingle with fellow travelers (luckily there was a great bar with live music/pool table next door - Joe's Cafe)

Bottomline, the place was allright but there are better places to stay during low season when prices go rock bottom and you can shop around, so don't book in advance in low season.

Finally, we regret having made use of the booking office tied to the hotel (Mui Ne Backpackers tours&travel) for our train ticket from Na Thrang to Danang. We have been charged 70 USD for a sleep train (soft sleepers -for 2 persons), but only received our tickets on our way to Na Thrang in the bus. We found this sequence quite strange but soon found out that this was probably just to avoid our reaction at the sight of two hard sleepers ticket of approx. 42usd value. ... Anyway , we survived the overcharging and arrived at our destination..

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please allow me to respond to some of your allegations. Firstly, the bar next door, which is coincidently the most expensive in Mui Ne, also has rooms which are smaller than our own and cost up to double the price. The price you paid for the train tickets are set by the railways not ourselves. Our office makes a small commission ($5)for making the 34 km round journey to Phan Thiet to pick them up on your behalf. If you reserve rooms on our website the cancellation policy is 14 days not 30 as you allege. The reason we do not have a bar is that we try to ensure that our guests have good sleep quality. We really don't want our guests to live in the middle of a karaoke bar like next door !!! You were not charged 12.000 vnd for toilet paper. This is a complete fabrication ... we checked your account !!! The charge was for a large bottle of water. We charge a fee for the use of credit cards which is standard practice, we only cover the bank charge that we incur. Enjoy your journey through our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a great stay here at Mui Ne Backpackers. The staff Thomas and owner John were always so helpful and kind. They did the best to accomodate for me and change my room when I needed to stay longer. I recieved burns to my legs and had to stay a couple more days and they went out of their way to help me. Rooms are clean and well kept with a nice pool to relax in at the end of the day, or you can relax out the back on the sun chairs with the beach at your feet. Good location, around some delicious restaurants! Definitely recommend. Thanks for a great stay guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hey Ash,
Thank you for your kind words. I missed saying goodbye to you. I hope the burns get better soon. If you head back this way on your trusty bike be sure to stay with us again. All the best when you return home to Oz. Tom sends his regards !!!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at this place. I spent slightly more staying here than any where else on my travels but it was well worth it.
The staff are so friendly and seem really happy.
The location is perfect as you are literally on the beach and restaurants are all around for you to choose from.
We stayed in a double room which had a balcony area and looked over the sea. We saw some amazing sunsets from there...
To sum up, if your going to Mui Ne, stay here!
If you don't have much dong, the dorms are really cheap :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the kind words. We are very happy that you had a great time here. Our staff are wonderful people and try hard to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. All the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and the girlfriend had the opportunity to stay two nights at Backpackers. Our first night was in a private room. Second night was in the shared bunk since the rooms were booked. Rachel the temp manager was very kind upon arrival and throughout our stay. Although she definitely works too many hours.

Overall a nice place was nice and we had a great stay. It was a bit pricey for Vietnam standards but understandably with a western run place in a good part of town.

The one major complaint is in regards to the dorms and lack of air-con/fan. The air con is only on for the night time and shuts off around 8am? I woke up extremely hot with no fan or air con option. This also removes the option for a mid day nap. It is an excuse to get outside but sometimes it's nice to break inside for part of theday especially when prices are closer to western prices. My recommendation for Backpackers is to spend a few dollars for a fan in the dorms.
The private room was great! On the water with round the clock air condiioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveN131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and acknowledging the effort that Rachel expends. She works the hours that are necessary to help run a Backpackers in Vietnam. The dorm rooms are airconditioned, however, on occasion a guest may mistakenly turn off the electricity as the switch is beside the door. The AC is turned off at 9 am in the dorm rooms. This is common practice in many hostels around the world. The AC is turned off around this time as guests are leaving or moving around so inevitably doors are left open. We try to be environmentally responsible by conserving energy where we can. We hope our guests share our concerns about the future of our planet. We will certainly implement your suggestion of fans in the dorm rooms. We trust that you will enjoy the remainder of your travels in Vietnam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great place to meet other independent travellers. It's clean, friendly and close to everything. The dorms have big enough lockers to store all luggage. Rachel was great and was always very helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for your great review and very kind words !!! (from Rachel). Enjoy the remainder of your trip !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews