We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but better deals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As most backpackers we gathered recommendations about places to stay on the internet/travel guides and judged that this hotel seemed suitable - we booked for two nights from Saigon.

The hotel is nicely located and has a direct access to the sea. The staff was helpfull and friendly and the room (sea view) was decent apart from of our shower (little and semi warm water).

We however didn't like (i) the cancellation policy (30 days - no refund), (ii) the 12.000vnd for an extra rol of toilet paper (damn you traveler diarrhea) and (iii) the outrageous 4prct additional fee if you want to pay with visa, (iiii) the lack of a typical backpackers central place to hang around, have breakfast/drink and mingle with fellow travelers (luckily there was a great bar with live music/pool table next door - Joe's Cafe)

Bottomline, the place was allright but there are better places to stay during low season when prices go rock bottom and you can shop around, so don't book in advance in low season.

Finally, we regret having made use of the booking office tied to the hotel (Mui Ne Backpackers tours&travel) for our train ticket from Na Thrang to Danang. We have been charged 70 USD for a sleep train (soft sleepers -for 2 persons), but only received our tickets on our way to Na Thrang in the bus. We found this sequence quite strange but soon found out that this was probably just to avoid our reaction at the sight of two hard sleepers ticket of approx. 42usd value. ... Anyway , we survived the overcharging and arrived at our destination..

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please allow me to respond to some of your allegations. Firstly, the bar next door, which is coincidently the most expensive in Mui Ne, also has rooms which are smaller than our own and cost up to double the price. The price you paid for the train tickets are set by the railways not ourselves. Our office makes a small commission ($5)for making the 34 km round journey to Phan Thiet to pick them up on your behalf. If you reserve rooms on our website the cancellation policy is 14 days not 30 as you allege. The reason we do not have a bar is that we try to ensure that our guests have good sleep quality. We really don't want our guests to live in the middle of a karaoke bar like next door !!! You were not charged 12.000 vnd for toilet paper. This is a complete fabrication ... we checked your account !!! The charge was for a large bottle of water. We charge a fee for the use of credit cards which is standard practice, we only cover the bank charge that we incur. Enjoy your journey through our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a great stay here at Mui Ne Backpackers. The staff Thomas and owner John were always so helpful and kind. They did the best to accomodate for me and change my room when I needed to stay longer. I recieved burns to my legs and had to stay a couple more days and they went out of their way to help me. Rooms are clean and well kept with a nice pool to relax in at the end of the day, or you can relax out the back on the sun chairs with the beach at your feet. Good location, around some delicious restaurants! Definitely recommend. Thanks for a great stay guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hey Ash,
Thank you for your kind words. I missed saying goodbye to you. I hope the burns get better soon. If you head back this way on your trusty bike be sure to stay with us again. All the best when you return home to Oz. Tom sends his regards !!!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at this place. I spent slightly more staying here than any where else on my travels but it was well worth it.
The staff are so friendly and seem really happy.
The location is perfect as you are literally on the beach and restaurants are all around for you to choose from.
We stayed in a double room which had a balcony area and looked over the sea. We saw some amazing sunsets from there...
To sum up, if your going to Mui Ne, stay here!
If you don't have much dong, the dorms are really cheap :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the kind words. We are very happy that you had a great time here. Our staff are wonderful people and try hard to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. All the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and the girlfriend had the opportunity to stay two nights at Backpackers. Our first night was in a private room. Second night was in the shared bunk since the rooms were booked. Rachel the temp manager was very kind upon arrival and throughout our stay. Although she definitely works too many hours.

Overall a nice place was nice and we had a great stay. It was a bit pricey for Vietnam standards but understandably with a western run place in a good part of town.

The one major complaint is in regards to the dorms and lack of air-con/fan. The air con is only on for the night time and shuts off around 8am? I woke up extremely hot with no fan or air con option. This also removes the option for a mid day nap. It is an excuse to get outside but sometimes it's nice to break inside for part of theday especially when prices are closer to western prices. My recommendation for Backpackers is to spend a few dollars for a fan in the dorms.
The private room was great! On the water with round the clock air condiioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveN131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and acknowledging the effort that Rachel expends. She works the hours that are necessary to help run a Backpackers in Vietnam. The dorm rooms are airconditioned, however, on occasion a guest may mistakenly turn off the electricity as the switch is beside the door. The AC is turned off at 9 am in the dorm rooms. This is common practice in many hostels around the world. The AC is turned off around this time as guests are leaving or moving around so inevitably doors are left open. We try to be environmentally responsible by conserving energy where we can. We hope our guests share our concerns about the future of our planet. We will certainly implement your suggestion of fans in the dorm rooms. We trust that you will enjoy the remainder of your travels in Vietnam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great place to meet other independent travellers. It's clean, friendly and close to everything. The dorms have big enough lockers to store all luggage. Rachel was great and was always very helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for your great review and very kind words !!! (from Rachel). Enjoy the remainder of your trip !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Mui Ne Backpackers resort has a good location on the strip in Mui Ne, close to most of the good restaurants and bars. The dorm rooms were clean and well maintained, with very decent, modern and clean bathrooms by SE. Asian standards. Large lockers in the rooms. Sands dunes tour booked from the front desk was pretty decent, which included jeep transport to the Fairy Stream, White Dunes and Red Dunes. The resort as a whole is well-kept and maintained too. The staff were fine - the manager, Rachel was friendly but also came off as a bit surly - perhaps because she appeared to be running the place by herself, so I will let her off for that.

For all the positives though, I take issue with the fact that they call themselves a backpackers resort. They have a pool, but there were no sun-loungers or seats. Consequently very few people used the pool while I was there - nice for a quick dip but no place for socialising or hanging our during the day. The beachside area was nice, but there was a serious lack of sun-loungers, and an area which looked to accommodate a bar but was empty. There is no social gathering space to speak of, except for the few seats in the reception area, which I consider essential to resort geared towards backpackers. They also offer no food, coffee, breakfast e.t.c, although they have a small selection of drinks by the reception.

All of these things mean that while the accommodation and resort in general are of a high quality and decent value, there is no atmosphere to speak of. However you are likely to meet other travelers by virtue of the fact that a lot of independent travellers to Mui Ne end up here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyHolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Ashley,
Thank you for writing a review. Agreed, we have a great location right in the middle of the Mui Ne Beach and tourist strip. When we acquired the property in 2008 it was a very run down guest house. The property has since undergone extensive renovation. When we bought the property we understood that we would be limited by the physical size. The Beachfront has seventeen sun lounges, we are unable to fit any more into the space that we have. However, there are soft mats or beach towels that can be used to to lay on the grassed area.. There are also chairs and tables that are available around the pool. Our biggest pool is out the back ... it's called the South China Sea !!! Over 5 years at Mui Ne Backpackers we have found that most guests find the establishment to be very friendly and a great place to meet other travellers. We don't have a bar due to the physical size of the property, there are many bars close by and we ensure that our guests have good sleep quality. Rachel, our current manager is a very friendly, obliging young lady. She has been managing the hostel in my absence and she organizes group dinners at night for those guests that wish to go. She is ably assisted by Lien, Giang, Thanh and a number of other Vietnamese staff. Enjoy your travels around our beautiful and friendly country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights and stayed for 6! Loved the location right on the beach. Booked a private with ocean view. Clean with good AC and showers. Rachel and her team are super nice and friendly.
Could use a few more beach loungers as some days you have to fight for the few available. But there is also a grassy area to put your towel down.
Would go back there anytime!!!!
Go and have a Döner Kebab at Sindbad's - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

From Rachel, our manager !!!

Traveltussi- Loved having you guys stay! You three were a great group to have- either bumping into you in Sa kara for an evening cocktail or seeing you guys relax in the back property through out the day. Thank you for your wonderful review and safe travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
8.7 mi away
Mui Ne Village resort and Kitesurf
2.8 mi away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 24 in Mui Ne
76 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Long Son Mui Ne Beach Campgrounds Resort
5.8 mi away
Nam Chau Boutique Resort - Mui Ne Passion
1 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
#2 of 129 in Phan Thiet
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range: $10 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get those backpacks off your sore shoulders and take a dip into the depths of our big pool, the centerpiece of our hostel. Enjoy the tropical flowers and coconut trees surrounding the pool. Swim, relax or just enjoy one of the seating areas and listen to some smooth beats from the bar ... or have a refreshing drink on our restaurant patio. THIS is what Mui Ne Backpacker Village is all about. Relaxing and feeling at home and having pleasant encounters with other backpackers, which make your travels memorable. Mui Ne Backpacker Village is more than just another stop on your journey – but rather a place to stay and enjoy. Mui Ne Backpacker Village is set back from the main street - just a short 100 meter stroll to the main beach. The nightlife is close by, all within easy walking distance. Our multilingual team is dedicated to offering you high quality service at a personal and professional level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing