We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a great stay here at Mui Ne Backpackers. The staff Thomas and owner John were always so helpful and kind. They did the best to accomodate for me and change my room when I needed to stay longer. I recieved burns to my legs and had to stay a couple more days and they went out of their way to help me. Rooms are clean and well kept with a nice pool to relax in at the end of the day, or you can relax out the back on the sun chairs with the beach at your feet. Good location, around some delicious restaurants! Definitely recommend. Thanks for a great stay guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hey Ash,
Thank you for your kind words. I missed saying goodbye to you. I hope the burns get better soon. If you head back this way on your trusty bike be sure to stay with us again. All the best when you return home to Oz. Tom sends his regards !!!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    317
    136
    68
    34
See reviews for
31
258
275
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at this place. I spent slightly more staying here than any where else on my travels but it was well worth it.
The staff are so friendly and seem really happy.
The location is perfect as you are literally on the beach and restaurants are all around for you to choose from.
We stayed in a double room which had a balcony area and looked over the sea. We saw some amazing sunsets from there...
To sum up, if your going to Mui Ne, stay here!
If you don't have much dong, the dorms are really cheap :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the kind words. We are very happy that you had a great time here. Our staff are wonderful people and try hard to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and the girlfriend had the opportunity to stay two nights at Backpackers. Our first night was in a private room. Second night was in the shared bunk since the rooms were booked. Rachel the temp manager was very kind upon arrival and throughout our stay. Although she definitely works too many hours.

Overall a nice place was nice and we had a great stay. It was a bit pricey for Vietnam standards but understandably with a western run place in a good part of town.

The one major complaint is in regards to the dorms and lack of air-con/fan. The air con is only on for the night time and shuts off around 8am? I woke up extremely hot with no fan or air con option. This also removes the option for a mid day nap. It is an excuse to get outside but sometimes it's nice to break inside for part of theday especially when prices are closer to western prices. My recommendation for Backpackers is to spend a few dollars for a fan in the dorms.
The private room was great! On the water with round the clock air condiioning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveN131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and acknowledging the effort that Rachel expends. She works the hours that are necessary to help run a Backpackers in Vietnam. The dorm rooms are airconditioned, however, on occasion a guest may mistakenly turn off the electricity as the switch is beside the door. The AC is turned off at 9 am in the dorm rooms. This is common practice in many hostels around the world. The AC is turned off around this time as guests are leaving or moving around so inevitably doors are left open. We try to be environmentally responsible by conserving energy where we can. We hope our guests share our concerns about the future of our planet. We will certainly implement your suggestion of fans in the dorm rooms. We trust that you will enjoy the remainder of your travels in Vietnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great place to meet other independent travellers. It's clean, friendly and close to everything. The dorms have big enough lockers to store all luggage. Rachel was great and was always very helpful. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Amanda,
Thank you for your great review and very kind words !!! (from Rachel). Enjoy the remainder of your trip !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Mui Ne Backpackers resort has a good location on the strip in Mui Ne, close to most of the good restaurants and bars. The dorm rooms were clean and well maintained, with very decent, modern and clean bathrooms by SE. Asian standards. Large lockers in the rooms. Sands dunes tour booked from the front desk was pretty decent, which included jeep transport to the Fairy Stream, White Dunes and Red Dunes. The resort as a whole is well-kept and maintained too. The staff were fine - the manager, Rachel was friendly but also came off as a bit surly - perhaps because she appeared to be running the place by herself, so I will let her off for that.

For all the positives though, I take issue with the fact that they call themselves a backpackers resort. They have a pool, but there were no sun-loungers or seats. Consequently very few people used the pool while I was there - nice for a quick dip but no place for socialising or hanging our during the day. The beachside area was nice, but there was a serious lack of sun-loungers, and an area which looked to accommodate a bar but was empty. There is no social gathering space to speak of, except for the few seats in the reception area, which I consider essential to resort geared towards backpackers. They also offer no food, coffee, breakfast e.t.c, although they have a small selection of drinks by the reception.

All of these things mean that while the accommodation and resort in general are of a high quality and decent value, there is no atmosphere to speak of. However you are likely to meet other travelers by virtue of the fact that a lot of independent travellers to Mui Ne end up here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyHolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Ashley,
Thank you for writing a review. Agreed, we have a great location right in the middle of the Mui Ne Beach and tourist strip. When we acquired the property in 2008 it was a very run down guest house. The property has since undergone extensive renovation. When we bought the property we understood that we would be limited by the physical size. The Beachfront has seventeen sun lounges, we are unable to fit any more into the space that we have. However, there are soft mats or beach towels that can be used to to lay on the grassed area.. There are also chairs and tables that are available around the pool. Our biggest pool is out the back ... it's called the South China Sea !!! Over 5 years at Mui Ne Backpackers we have found that most guests find the establishment to be very friendly and a great place to meet other travellers. We don't have a bar due to the physical size of the property, there are many bars close by and we ensure that our guests have good sleep quality. Rachel, our current manager is a very friendly, obliging young lady. She has been managing the hostel in my absence and she organizes group dinners at night for those guests that wish to go. She is ably assisted by Lien, Giang, Thanh and a number of other Vietnamese staff. Enjoy your travels around our beautiful and friendly country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights and stayed for 6! Loved the location right on the beach. Booked a private with ocean view. Clean with good AC and showers. Rachel and her team are super nice and friendly.
Could use a few more beach loungers as some days you have to fight for the few available. But there is also a grassy area to put your towel down.
Would go back there anytime!!!!
Go and have a Döner Kebab at Sindbad's - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
From Rachel, our manager !!!

Traveltussi- Loved having you guys stay! You three were a great group to have- either bumping into you in Sa kara for an evening cocktail or seeing you guys relax in the back property through out the day. Thank you for your wonderful review and safe travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is without doubt the best place in Vietnam to stay. Had an amazing time with my mate (unfortunately he's Canadian). Even that couldn't have put a downer on how good it was. We were meant to stay for 3 nights but ended up staying 8 or 9. Rooms were brilliant we tried out many. Beach front was also amazing a nice chilled out place to sit and drink yourself into a frenzy. The manger Rachel gave second to none service and was an absolute laugh. Probably the best part about it. Absolute legend. Thanks again Rach. Your drunken mate. Pete

Room Tip: Ask for any room they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
From Rachel

Pete- You and Tom were my daily dose of laughter. I never got sick of seeing you two bobbling around the pool or splashing around in the waves, then coming back up for a beer (or several). I'm so happy you two stayed for as many nights as you did, it was my pleasure/goal to keep you on the property!! Hope all's well back in the UK and take it easy on the Grandpa's ol' cough medicine! Keep in touch!! xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
1.2 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 122 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#16 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
#39 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#26 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#12 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Property: Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing