We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, real friendly staff, very understanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great vibe, real friendly staff, very understanding”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days and it was very chilled and the staff here were really friendly. Stayed in an exec room and it was great- almost like a hotel, with fridge and minibar and safe :)

The sunloungers are great and altho it's about 5 mins walk down the beach before u get to the sea u can still swim in front of the beach. Was quiet at night and had no problems sleeping. Great place to meet people too. Would have been even better if there was a bar/breakfast (for the price- 35 dollars for a exec room), but no real complaints there.

BE WARNED- I'd recommend against using the laundry service- my clothes came back smelling really bad (weird detergent?) and were all crumpled and not folded at all. Worse of all the colours ran so most of my white clothes were stained and ruined with red dye and some clothes had dirty marks (left on the floor?) Such a contrast with my previous wash in Cambodia. I would have said something but there is a big sign behind reception that said "damage to clothes is not our responsibility". Fair enough but I was a bit disappointed.

That said the guys were very understanding when I changed my booking and lowered my stay- really appreciated this.

Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise that you were not happy with the laundry service. We do take care with the clothes given to us to launder, however, if you mix clothes that have the dye run then It is unfair to blame our establishment. The clothes were folded. If the clothes had been brought back to us they would have been rewashed. Sometimes during inclement weather it is difficult to dry 100%. We hope that the laundry is not your memory of your stay but of the lovely establishment and atmosphere that we try our hardest to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    329
    140
    69
    36
See reviews for
33
266
285
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, payed about 30 dollars for a four person room so between four it was cheap. They insist you pay upfront which we werent used to in vietnam but it had a nice atmosphere and the pool area particularly was quite sociable. Room was nice, hotel is run by an Aussie guy who wasnt particularly friendly and was quite sarcastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjones890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Simon,

Thank you for writing a review. It really suprises me that you found me to be unfriendly and my humour to be sarcastic. For that I apologise and should you return I will sit down and try to find what the real problem was. You stayed in a dorm and paid the advertised rate per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiphong, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was staying in dorm for 2 nights and it made my trip a great one. I met a lot of nice and friendly travelers staying in the same place. The dorm was clean and comfortable though it was pretty cold at night coz of the AC. Location was great. The lady owner is very helpful and friendly. I was late for booking a tour to sand dunes, so she tried her best, making many phone calls, trying to find me a ticket in one of the Jeeps as I asked for. One of the best and most friendly hostels I've been.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind words. Thuy and I are very grateful for your support !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in a double and a family room which were both clean and comfortable. The mini bar was great and the location was gorgeous, right on the beach and walking distance to restaurants. The manager helped us to book bus tickets which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSAS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for a great review !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The resort was directly across the road from where my bus dropped off, which was an excellent start. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the whole place was very clean - even the dorms (helped by providing very large lockers and making people keep their backpacks in them). There isn't a beach at the back, but concrete steps lead into the sea, and there are plenty of loungers on the upper level. My only possible critique is the power supply frequently cutting out, but this is a problem in the whole area, and the hotel has a backup generator so it isn't a huge issue (unless you're the sort that needs to be internet-connected every second of the day).
I would definitely stay here again, if I return to Mui Ne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot control the electricity supply !!! Fortunately it doesn't happen too often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pool, lovely view out to sea. Other than that, the worst customer service/satisfaction I've ever experienced. It's like being in a prison. If it weren't for the fact I've paid for my room and leaving tomorrow I'd be gone. You HAVE to keep belongings and bags in a locker (these are high up) Not only does my bag hardly fit in the locker but its 24kg so every time I need anything I have to lift it out and back in which is ridiculous. The aircon is the worst thing about this place. It is controlled by reception, no turning up or down without 'their permission'. Was so hot on the first night we would have been cooler outside. Had little to no sleep. Asked twice today for it to be turned down, when it finally was we had it cool for half an hour before they turned it up to HOTTER than it was before. It's a joke. They just try to save money which, when I'm paying what I am per night they should be providing decent service. Absolutely appalled and for anyone who wants a comfortable nights sleep where they're not sweating all night, look elsewhere. For some reason the dorm balcony is also the only balcony you're not allowed to smoke on which is stupid to stop people smoking outside when all the other balconies it is fine. Avoid this place with a barge pole. Never returning and will not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We respect your right to write a review no matter how false. You are being punitive toward our establishment for no reason other than you were asked politely not to smoke in a "non smoking" area. You should understand that not all people smoke and some consider your habit anti social. The area where you were smoking is clearly marked as a "non smoking" area. We reserve the right to maintain our policies for the comfort of all guests. The reason we ask dorm guests to use the large lockers (that fit very large packs) is 1) for security of belongings 2) cleanliness .. our staff cannot maintain the dorms in a clean state if they cannot clean. 3) The comfort of other dorm guests ... they don't have to navigate other people's luggage when moving around the room. The AC is new, the reason for temperature fluctuation is due to the doors being left open not the unit itself. In the future please consider that your habits affect other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culmstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This feels like quite a luxurious hostel compared with what you may expect in Vietnam. Everything is clean, well organized, and it is perfect if you are a solo traveler looking to meet others.

It is a little bit more expensive than I would expect to pay for a dorm room in SE Asia, and my friend and I considered paying a little extra to have our own room. However the beds in the dorms are comfortable, the lockers are convenient, and the bathroom in each room is clean. There are very comfortable loungers right on the beach which totally takes you away from the hostel feel!

Staff in the resort were very helpful when planning onward travel and arranging our sand dune tour (which is worth doing if you are in Mui Ne).

Overall a nice central place to stay, especially if you are a solo traveler as you get the price and social aspect of a dorm but with the luxuries of a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Chris, Thanks for the great review !!! We try our best to make your stay a great one, not only with our service but also comfort of our rooms. You happened to stay right in the middle of the Independence Day Holiday subsequently our prices were higher than usual. Travel safely !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
5.7 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
667 reviews
9.1 mi away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 23 in Mui Ne
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 23 in Mui Ne
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
#1 of 122 in Phan Thiet
870 reviews
8.6 mi away
Long Son Mui Ne Campgrounds, Restaurant & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Property: Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. Book direct on our website for 1 free Saigon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing