We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The resort was directly across the road from where my bus dropped off, which was an excellent start. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the whole place was very clean - even the dorms (helped by providing very large lockers and making people keep their backpacks in them). There isn't a beach at the back, but concrete steps lead into the sea, and there are plenty of loungers on the upper level. My only possible critique is the power supply frequently cutting out, but this is a problem in the whole area, and the hotel has a backup generator so it isn't a huge issue (unless you're the sort that needs to be internet-connected every second of the day).
I would definitely stay here again, if I return to Mui Ne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot control the electricity supply !!! Fortunately it doesn't happen too often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    330
    142
    71
    36
See reviews for
34
268
289
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pool, lovely view out to sea. Other than that, the worst customer service/satisfaction I've ever experienced. It's like being in a prison. If it weren't for the fact I've paid for my room and leaving tomorrow I'd be gone. You HAVE to keep belongings and bags in a locker (these are high up) Not only does my bag hardly fit in the locker but its 24kg so every time I need anything I have to lift it out and back in which is ridiculous. The aircon is the worst thing about this place. It is controlled by reception, no turning up or down without 'their permission'. Was so hot on the first night we would have been cooler outside. Had little to no sleep. Asked twice today for it to be turned down, when it finally was we had it cool for half an hour before they turned it up to HOTTER than it was before. It's a joke. They just try to save money which, when I'm paying what I am per night they should be providing decent service. Absolutely appalled and for anyone who wants a comfortable nights sleep where they're not sweating all night, look elsewhere. For some reason the dorm balcony is also the only balcony you're not allowed to smoke on which is stupid to stop people smoking outside when all the other balconies it is fine. Avoid this place with a barge pole. Never returning and will not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We respect your right to write a review no matter how false. You are being punitive toward our establishment for no reason other than you were asked politely not to smoke in a "non smoking" area. You should understand that not all people smoke and some consider your habit anti social. The area where you were smoking is clearly marked as a "non smoking" area. We reserve the right to maintain our policies for the comfort of all guests. The reason we ask dorm guests to use the large lockers (that fit very large packs) is 1) for security of belongings 2) cleanliness .. our staff cannot maintain the dorms in a clean state if they cannot clean. 3) The comfort of other dorm guests ... they don't have to navigate other people's luggage when moving around the room. The AC is new, the reason for temperature fluctuation is due to the doors being left open not the unit itself. In the future please consider that your habits affect other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culmstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This feels like quite a luxurious hostel compared with what you may expect in Vietnam. Everything is clean, well organized, and it is perfect if you are a solo traveler looking to meet others.

It is a little bit more expensive than I would expect to pay for a dorm room in SE Asia, and my friend and I considered paying a little extra to have our own room. However the beds in the dorms are comfortable, the lockers are convenient, and the bathroom in each room is clean. There are very comfortable loungers right on the beach which totally takes you away from the hostel feel!

Staff in the resort were very helpful when planning onward travel and arranging our sand dune tour (which is worth doing if you are in Mui Ne).

Overall a nice central place to stay, especially if you are a solo traveler as you get the price and social aspect of a dorm but with the luxuries of a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Chris, Thanks for the great review !!! We try our best to make your stay a great one, not only with our service but also comfort of our rooms. You happened to stay right in the middle of the Independence Day Holiday subsequently our prices were higher than usual. Travel safely !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nicely maintained, helpful staff, great value compare to other spots in Mui Ne, great location. My husband and I booked 2 dorm beds to save money and we were put into 2 separate dorm rooms which was kind of weird, but no big deal. Dorm rooms have 8 beds, 1 bathroom. Everyone staying the dorms were super friendly and traveling alone- great place to meet people and hang out with other travelers.
We ate a couple times at Lam Tong Restaurant, next door to Mui Ne- which had excellent, cheap food. Rented a moto from the hotel and drove ourselves to the sand dunes which I would recommend over taking the tour. Cheaper and more fun- plus we went all day rather than just a few hours. Hard to find a beach chair so we ended up laying on the grass. And only one shared computer which is only an issue if you're a dinosaur like us and aren't traveling with a wi-fi device.
No soap in the shared bathroom!!

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Enjoying Mui Ne by motorbike is fine as long as people are aware that it is necessary to have a Vietnamese drivers licence. On occasions the police will stop foreigners and confiscate the motorbikes due to the licence infringement. This can be a quite costly exercise !!! The Sand Tours are a very inexpensive way to see the sights with a 4 hour tour and a great way to meet new people. The reason I believe that you were in seperate dorms was that they were our last beds !!! All beds were already full so I apologise !!! Our dorm rooms accommodate 6 people. Safe travels and all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great backpacking place. Clean, great private swimming area and the all important atmosphere is good and if you re backpacking you should find it easy to meet others. Andy the manager is a nice chap, friendly laid back and helpful (he's leaving soon so I hope they find an equally good replacement!). Pool was clean and in the evenings lots of backpackers hanging out and doing their thing, if thats what you are looking for then you'll be satisfied! Only critisism/suggestion was that the beds were a tad hard so found it a bit tricky to sleep but just being picky and if you're backpacking then you're normally too drunk to care anyhow :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasondainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I hope you are enjoying the culture and people of Vietnam also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Muine Backpacker Resort is in the center of Muine, with the best beach view, next to Lam Tong Restaurant which is very affordable for restaurant in Muine.

Room is okay & pretty clean. Sand dunes Tour is available from the hotel, but if you want you can go outside and find more cheaper tour..

Book in advance otherwise the room can get full..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you appreciated our lovely view from the Ocean View Rooms. Our tours are very reasonably priced and are the best value in Mui Ne. We cover all the sights not just the sand dunes as most of the less scrupulous operators do. We take our guests to the Fairy Springs and the Fishing Village of Mui Ne. Many thanks for staying with us on your visit to Mui Ne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great stay here. The owner is really friendly and was great to chat to, but also knew when to leave you alone.
Although it looks like there's minimal sunbeds out back, we never struggled to secure one (without getting up early and leaving a towel)
The sea is rough, but warm! When the sea is at it's roughest (mid afternoon) it can be a bit of a struggle to get down via the steps, but you just have to be brave.
We stayed in one of the twin private rooms, the beds were big enough to share though.
The bathroom was lovely with a nice hot and powerful shower.
The only downside was a strange noise at night, maybe caused by the air con in other people's rooms, we're not sure.
We had a nice balcony to sit and play cards with a beer, which is reasonably priced in the mini bar.
No food here, but plenty of options down the street or next door.

Room Tip: Our private twin room was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We well check to find out if the AC's are a little noisy and will rectify if there is a problem. Please enjoy the remainder of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
5.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
#1 of 123 in Phan Thiet
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Long Son Mui Ne Campgrounds, Restaurant & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Diem Lien Guesthouse
Diem Lien Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Mui Ne
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hoang Nga Guesthouse
Hoang Nga Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Mui Ne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Property: Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. Book direct on our website for 1 free Saigon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing