We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation. Best bunk beds in any hostel. Very, very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great accomodation. Best bunk beds in any hostel. Very, very clean”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is very very clean. The bunk beds are the comfiest we have ever stayed in - really good quality mattresses and they are bigger than many bunk beds you get in hostels. Each bunk has its own light and plug socket which is great. The swimming pool is great - small but you can still swim in it. The loungers by the sea are great too though not enough for everyone - only the early risers could get one!! 

Although not the cheapest dorm we have stayed in, by far the most comfy and clean! We also stayed in a room which was just like a very nice hotel. Apart from the dorms the complex is more like a very nice, swish hotel complex. Would def recommend staying here if you can get in - just book in advance as it gets very busy. 

They have a travel agency and sorted our next bus journey really helpfully. 

But - there are no tea/coffee facilities and no where for you to store any food so you are totally reliant on local restaurants for all your sustenance. Mui Ne isnt cheap and a decent cup of coffee is very hard to come by! Although there is communal space when we were there people didn't use it and none of the residents really talked to each other - not sure if the way the hostel is laid out or the people who were there when we were. Mind you, we found Mui Ne a very unfriendly place - locals and tourists. Not much to do here unless you want to surf. 

Room Tip: The private room we stayed in was small but great. I'm not sure if the dorms upstairs will be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    328
    140
    69
    35
See reviews for
33
263
282
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay while working your way up the coast. John and his staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. Booked our day trips, bus to Da Lat & told us where to go for dinner etc. Thanks John!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank for your kind words ... travel safely !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I arrived after a 6 hours trip bus arround 2.30 pm and I had to wait until 4 pm because they didn't have my bed ready.
The owner kept my passport even when I told him I wanted to have my passport.
The staff don't speak english (only the owner), is frustrated try to ask something.
I payed the bus to Da Lat and I ask for my recieve but the owner didn't want to give me it.
The owner wanted me to book his tour and didn't help me for going to the white sand dunes on my own.
I rented a motorbike there and the left mirror and the left brake were broken and I had to tie the helmet with a knot...
And... don't book there the bus to Da Lat. It is a mini bus for 20 people but they put more sits and the bus is a nightmare with 30 people.

So... the place is not bad. Comfortable beds, lockers, free wi-fi and clean but in my opinion, the owner need to improve his fridnliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your bed was not ready as the previous occupant had lost their key. We had to cut another .. sorry for the delay. It is law in Vietnam for the hotel to hold onto the passport, all the information is sent to immigration daily. 2 of my staff speak english but remember you are in Vietnam where the national language is Vietnamese. There was a bus receipt at reception but you did not collect it. There is only one bus to Dalat and we cannot change the quality of their service. You did not rent a motorbike from us but from an outside source so we have no control over the quality of the bikes or helmets. I do remember giving you directions to the sand dunes. We're very happy that you found our amenities to be "not bad".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If the hostel was anywhere else it might not get as glowing a review but mui ne beach is just absolutely fantastic!
Met some wonderful people here! (just luck of the dorm draw really)

Down the other end of the fancy pants resorts which means you don't have to put up with the kite surfer learners in your way all day.

Got beach beds on the front but get there early because there isn't enough! And some people are rude and just put stuff on them and don't come back till later.

Definitely could have spent longer here :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissgallivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived in town with no hotel booked. We spoke to John and his wife but unfortunatly they did not have a hotel for the night. They arranged for us to have a room for the following 3 nights and said we could drop our bags the following morning as early as we wanted. The following morning we got to the hotel at 8am, dropped our bags and the room was ready in a few hours. In the mean time we had breakfast at the hotel and used the pool, beach and other facilities. John and his wife were extreamly accomodating! The rooms we had were lovely! Very well maintained and clean. John and his wife were brilliant and spoke to each of us by name daily about what we were doing and general chats. They gave advise about things to do, where to go, what to see as well as a history of the place itself. They really made you feel at home. The hotel is right on the beach and close to everything. There was a guard on the property and bikes to hire. We also haad washing done and a trip to the sand dunes (all very worthwhile). I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good although the rooms overlooking the water have beautiful view for a little more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

While keeping the backpacker label in the name, it is more of a well kept boutique hotel, at least if you stay in the beachfront rooms (having private shower and flat screen TV and private outdoor furniture). I didn't use the dorm rooms but they seemed very nice and a better choice for budget travellers that quickly want to meet new friends. Very cleen rooms and well kept garden.

The owner and his wife are extremely nice and helpful, inviting guests to join them for dinner and so on sometimes. They also make sure solo travellers get someone to have a beer or food with. For christmas and new year, they (at least this year) asked anyone who wanted company to join and a group of guests ended up in a very nice dinner together.

Overall, this place gives a very warm and friendly welcoming, and I will absolutely return here as soon as possible. It also appeared many guests were repeat-customers so others apparently feel the same.

I give this place the highest recommendations!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have flat panel TV and are close enough to the beach that you can actually hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Right on the beach is where it is located. Spotless rooms and spotless facilities. John, the owner, for a Welshman, was incredibly friendly and welcoming. I cannot write anything negative except I wished I had spent more time there. Additionally, the rooms are non-smoking, a rarity in Vietnam. When my son wished to rent a scooter john graciously gave him his personal bike to use.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
5.7 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
302 reviews
9.1 mi away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 23 in Mui Ne
299 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
Hung Phuc Mui Ne Hotel
#3 of 23 in Mui Ne
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
#1 of 120 in Phan Thiet
856 reviews
8.6 mi away
Long Son Mui Ne Campgrounds, Restaurant & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Property: Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. Book direct on our website for 1 free Saigon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing