We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run, Very Clean, Excellent Beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
North West Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well Run, Very Clean, Excellent Beachfront”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This property is slightly mis-named. its less of a hostel and much more of a guesthouse/boutique hotel (although it does have a couple of dorm rooms)

We walked up and down the beach and could not find a property that has such a nicely laid out beachfront area.

We spent 5 nights there and thought to move as there IS much cheaper accommodation further down the coast, but it just didnt have the appeal of this property (most for example dont have a beachfront). Also its easy walkng distance to all the ,main bars and restaurants, although we did hire a bike and motor down to quieter/cheaper/more chilled restaurants further down the coast (try Areca 2 for unbeatable value if you can find it).

In the end we spent another 5 nights at this property and just relaxed

Super clean (even the grass is swept daily, i kid you not), and well managed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    330
    142
    71
    36
See reviews for
34
268
289
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night in this resort an left with mixed feelings.
If you like to enjoy te nightlife, this is a good spot. There's alot of restaurants and bars close by to suit your needs. In the room you won't be bothered by any noise.
The resort is not very big, but is clean and tidy. There are a couple of sunbeds at the beachfront, with a nice breeze to cool off. The owner is very relaxed and friendly and is helpfull with any questions you might have.

The downside for me was the room. We had a double room, which fit two single beds next to eachother with no room between them. The matrasses were terrible; sitting in the middle would make te matrass fold in and you could feel and hear every spring while lying down. The plumbing made quite a lot of noise as well. Despite the fact that the A/C worked and the shower was hot, I wouldnd consider this a $30 room. Based on multiple travels trough Asia, I would rate this as a $10-15 dollar at most. Even more so because there is no breakfast included.
So if you are lookin for a nice relaxing atmosphere with a young backpacking crowd, this is a somewhat overprized, but ok stay. If you'd like a little more from you room than just a cooled place to sleep, this is not your spot. There's more to choose from in this price range...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. Our rooms are very competitively priced, comparable hotels along the beachfront charge from $60 to $200/night. Whilst you were here you did not mention a problem with the bed or the room, so it is difficult for us to address an immediate problem unless we are told about it. As this response is posted we are checking the bed mattress. Our mattress are checked regularly and replaced as necessary. There are more than a couple of sunbeds on our beachfront. In fact there are 14 sunbeds and there are numerous mattress' available for use on the grassed area. We were very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our hostel, the central location, the hot showers and the cleanliness of our rooms and grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Even before I arrived they had annoyed me - I'd booked three days' accommodation through their website, paying a 10% deposit. However, I was delayed in Saigon and realised I'd not be able to make it until the second day, so I sent a very apologetic email explaining that I'd be a day late. In reply I just received a copy and paste of their Ts and Cs, explaining that my "cancellation" would incur a full charge. I'll bet they rented that room too.

Upon arrival the guy seemed like he couldn't care less about me or my travels, told me to leave my bag outside on my motorbike (where nobody was watching it) and follow him to the room. Not a hospitable welcome at the end of a long day on highway 1!

My room was fairly clean, although there was some mould in the bathroom. But I've seen worse.

On the plus side it's right on the beach, right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Firstly, let me apologise if you were greeted in an unappreciative manner. You reserved a room through a 3rd party booking site where you paid a deposit of 10%. When you agreed to the terms and conditions you also agreed to pay the hotel for the 1st night's accommodation if you failed to show up. You received an email from us when you did not show as a matter of courtesy. If this upset you then I apologise again. Due to the late notice that was given we were unable to sell the room.. Our bathrooms are very clean so I dispute your claim, sometimes when you have 6 people in a dormitory using the same bathroom it can become untidy. The dorm bathrooms are cleaned 3 times daily. Finally I would like to thank you for staying with us and that you were able to appreciate and enjoy our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Unfortunatly this was one of our most disapointed stasy during our three weeks Vitenam/Cambodia trip.

Driven by recommedation of a "famous travel book" , this was our worst hotel/stay in Vietnam. So don't trust all the travel books and Travel websides and make own expericences.

The price was much to high.....36 dollar! for a room at the street! No breakfast inc., no direct beach access, aircondition only working after several attempts, and service as a lot of space for improvements

But make your own mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdajenkins, Owner at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately your review is grossly misleading and incorrect, If something upset you then you should have been truthful and stated what it was. This is a forum for helping travelers not for writing total untruths. The property is situated directly on the beach, if the hotel were any closer it would be on the beach itself. All our air-conditioning units are working perfectly and if there is a problem they are fixed immediately. The problem was that you left the unit on all day at the lowest setting with no fan. Subsequently the unit iced up and was unable to blow cold air. When you checked in to the room you were asked to turn off the ac when not in the room, not an unreasonable request when the planet is suffering from such high emissions. The room you booked was a Family Room and slept 4 people so $9/head, very affordable for a beachfront property with pool, a/c, flat screen TV and hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Mui Ne backpackers during our travels of Vietnam. We had one of the beach bungalows at the back of the resort and it was excellent value for money.

The owners (Aussie guy and his Vietnamese wife) were extremely welcoming and helped us a lot....they recommended places to go (without sounding like they were selling it to you), organised sleeper buses to Ho Chi Minh and even phoned the hotel in Ho Chi Minh to book us in.

The resort is right on the beach. Also - even though it has 'backpackers' in the title it doesn't feel like a traditional backpackers digs. It was peaceful, quiet, right on the beach and very clean.

It's recommended in both the Rough Guide and the Lonely Planet and you can see why.

Room Tip: Get one of the beach bungalows if you can....perfect big room for the 3 of us sharing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights during a backpacking fortnight around Vietnam. The resort is lovely, impeccably clean, perfectly located and the staff are all absolutely lovely. Especially the Vietnamese lady and Australian gentleman who run the place.

The resort is at the heart of the buzzing street with restaurants, bars, and spas next door or a short walk. Bamboo Bamboo restaurant was recommended to us and it was amazing food. It's also on the beach front with lovely views up and down the coast. There are a few deckchairs too, not many so you have to be up bright and early, but there's also plenty of space on the beach.

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The bungalows are beautiful and you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahH223London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My 3 friends and i was so lucky to get 2 family rooms with great ocean view on the last days before we get to Mui Ne. It's right in the mid of the happening beach road ---therefore you will definitely be happy with the waterfront where you could see all of the kite surfers and beautiful sunset;) The rooms are clean and nice --although the aircon wasn't really working in our room--it got fixed immediately the next day.
John and his wife are extremely helpful and lovely--we enjoyed it to the utmost asking for tips and got the best recommendation for restaurants, bars and jeep trip to the sanddunes around. We also luckily met amazing peeps in the resort and had an unforgettable experience with them.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Family room on the left hand side--amazing view --super spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
5.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Budget Hotel
#1 of 123 in Phan Thiet
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Long Son Mui Ne Campgrounds, Restaurant & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Diem Lien Guesthouse
Diem Lien Guesthouse
#1 of 29 in Mui Ne
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hoang Nga Guesthouse
Hoang Nga Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Mui Ne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mui Ne Backpacker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Property: Mui Ne Backpacker Village
Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. Book direct on our website for 1 free Saigon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing