We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality resort”
Review of Pandanus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pandanus Resort
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mui Ne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice beach with great waves and very good pool area. However, the beach has unfortunately too much garbage.
Very nice rooms.
Excellent breakfast (5/5)
Lunch and dinner ok (4/5)
The resort gardens are very beautiful and well kept
Tennis court ok, you can borrow rackets (but need to be replaced)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

MRMR67,

Thank you for your kind review of the Pandanus Resort and thank you for staying with us.

I just wanted to respond to your comment regarding our beach. The beach in front of the resort is cleaned constantly throughout the day. Unfortunately, we are unable to clean the entire three kilometer-long beach that extends to the left and right of the resort. Therefore all the garbage thrown overboard by the hundreds of fishermen in the boats that go out to sea every day from Phan Thiet and Mui Ne washes up on shore and is a very ugly sight. Unfortunately, the government of Vietnam does not take protection of the environment seriously enough to do something about the situation. This is not only a problem in our area, but is a problem throughout Vietnam and in most developing nations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 731 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

my partner and i stayed here for two nights on 1st and 2nd jan (within a few hours) when they needed us to fill in forms and give our credit card information but become sluggish (sometimes taking a whole week and some phone calls) when we needed to confirm certain information or get them to book train tickets for us. finally, i started corresponding with a lady (their public relations manager, judging from the sign-off) called "Kim Yen" who turned out to be really hospitable and efficient. kudos to her and the great service.
-front desk needs to be more personable and proactive. they told us to sit and wait for the bell boy to bring us to our rooms but after ten minutes, and a few bell boys came and left, we approached one ourselves. to his credit, he served us immediately and was smiley and welcoming.
-resort included beach towels in rooms which is good. unfortunately, when we requested for new ones at the front desk on the second day, they never arrived though they were promised. had to look for the cleaning crew ourselves on the third day and trade our used towels in for fresh ones.
-ground of the resort were well-kept, could see loads of staff pruning and watering the lawns all day. our toilet didn't flush properly- had to hold down the flush for about five seconds for it to flush. a little annoying but we could live with it.
-breakfast was a good spread. staff were attentive, and would offer to clear plates and top-up coffee. would be better if they served vietnamese coffee along with the usual types. we had dinner one night at the restaurant and enjoyed it. ordered stir fry beef in sweet and sour sauce and crab meat with glass noodles and the portions were generous. service was good too.
-there was a black out for more than 30-minutes on our first afternoon there. a bit discomfiting as for the amount we were paying, i expected there to be a back-up generator system. black-outs may be common in such areas but guests at such exclusive resorts shouldn't be subject to them for more than say 15minutes?
-had lunch at the beachside cafe and waited for close to 45min for our drinks (just a beer and a margarita). had to walk over to counter to remind them and even then had to stand around, ignored, for five minutes, as all five or six of the staff were busy tallying receipts. food took another 15min to arrive. on the second day i ordered just a smoothie and they sent it to the beach within ten minutes, which was good.
-staff at the beach/pool were great. they were prompt in laying out deck chairs and cushions.
-resort about fifteen minute cab ride away from phan thiet strip where all the massage parlors and countless seafood restaurants are. this is the strip with nightlife, backpackers and locals etc. it costs about 200,000 vnd per way. wanted to take the hotel shuttle but it was fully-booked. still, plenty to do/eat in the resort and some restaurants right outside if you don't mind missing out on checking out that strip.
-requested for two more bottles of water but were denied. told that each room had a quota of two bottles a day. that would have been fine except we realized they changed the hand soap after doing up our room on the second day. a nice touch except it seemed a tad wasteful (the soap was also wrapped in plastic) and i would rather have the water.
-perhaps we paid more for the NY period, thats why we expected more from the resort, based on the price. there were plenty of hits and misses. the infrastructure of the resort is good and if small requests can be looked into promptly, the whole experience would be much better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellosailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Sailorgirl,

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us during an extremely busy period.

There are a couple of comments which I would like to address:

I'm not quite sure what took up to a week. I assume you are referring to your request to book train tickets. If that is the case, then I must apologize, but explain to you that the Pandanus Resort is a hotel, not a travel agency. If you made this request with our reservation staff, they would not know what to do. However, as Yen is one of our public relations/concierge staff members, she does this for our in-house guests on a regular basis. Therefore she is used to this type of request, which is why she was able to assist you.

Even though we were extremely busy, you should have not been made to wait too long for a bellman. My apologies.

We do have a back-up generator which switches on immediately whenever we lose power. However, the afternoon you were here, there was a power surge from the electricity company which caused our electric switchboard to catch on fire. All electricity was shut off in the resort until we were able to re-wire the system. At that time, the generator was turned on and the power was restored. The power surge caused other systems in other resorts around Phan Thiet to catch on fire, as well, and the electric company had to turn off the electricity in all of Phan Thiet throughout the night and go from resort to resort to repair the damage.

As the hotel was completely full and most of the guests were at the pool and beach all day, our staff at the Sun Terrace were a bit overwhelmed on New Year's day. We rearranged our staffing the following day and added more staff around the pool to try to alleviate the problem of slow service.

The fact that you were denied an extra bottle of water was inexcusable. If guests request more than the two bottles of water in their rooms, the requests should be immediately implemented, without the suggestion that there would be an extra charge.

Again, thank you for your stay and I hope that these explanations will make you feel better about the "potential" of the Pandanus Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Pandanus Resort lies in the outskirts of the charming fishing village Mui Ne. Borrow a bike at the hotel and you will reach its colorful harbor in 10 minutes. Right next to the resort, you also find the red sand dunes, where you can take nice photos at sunset. The resort is also an excellent base from which you can reach the white sand dunes further north, the beaches of Ham Thiet, the city of Phan Thiet, the giant Buddha on Takou mountain, or the surrounding countryside. You can rent a motorbike on the opposite side of the road for no more than ten dollars. The resort itself has a lush garden, a big pool, and a nice beach. It also provides for a number of pleasant activites, with spa treatment as a personal favorite. The food at the resort is excellent, and the staff (e.g., Nhung, Thuy, or Van) is absolutely gorgeous. We would recommend that you chose "all inclusive", which is very generous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After our trip from north to south Vietnam we stayed 2 full days at this resort to relax from our trip. Very nice poolarea and beautifull beach. We stayed in the family suite with a nice view on the beach. The resort has a beatifull spacy garden with lots of flowers and trees. The restaurants are very good, a bit overpriced (2-3 times) compared to the street prises, which I don't think is necessary. Across the resort there are several very cheap local restaurants with good foot and service. The town Mui Ne is dirty and not interesting. Too much garbage and drty smells. Even the street up to Phan Thiet lis not worth to visit. So my suggestion, keep on the resort and enjoy this nice area.

Tip to the management: Please replace thelounge chairs on the balkonies. You can't sit on these and lying down is terrible.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this resort for 3 nights. Loved the private beach, loved the landscape - however the other aspects of the hotel could do with some improvement. My partner and I had booked a superior room with a king size bed. Upon arrival, we were told that the bed request had not been received and we were given a room with two double beds, which the staff simply pushed together to make our "king size bed" (we were told all rooms with king size beds were booked out). We were finally given our requested room after some time explaining to reception that this was not acceptable.

After this ordeal we thought we'd unwind with a shower - just to find that the towels were stained and had to ask for new ones (which also took a while as the staff did not speak English well). Hot water only lasted 5 minutes max, and you have to wait for at least another 20 minutes for the water to heat up again.

Service at the restaurant was good overall. The only bad experience there was when we ordered a small meal in the afternoon before dinner, and the waiter who took our order insultingly muttered in Vietnamese to another waitress that "we only ordered so little", not knowing that my partner could understand him. Other than that, we were greeted with smiles and fast service every time we dined there.

Location of the resort is far from the main action where all the restaurants and entertainment are, but there are always taxis at the resort to take you out.

I wish our stay could have been more comfortable and smooth, but overall it wasn't too bad for value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not too far of a walk from the pool, beach or restaurant to avoid the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sharon,

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that your stay was not as perfect as you would have liked.

You were staying with us over a period that the hotel was completely sold out. When we give room allotments to the internet booking agencies, we can only give them an allotment of available room types, not bed types. This means that, when we are running 100% occupancy, we may not have the bed types requested for every reservation. The staff were doing their best to accommodate everyone's request by pushing the beds together, but I'm sorry if it was not satisfactory.

The only reason that you would have a stained towel in your room is that both our laundry staff and the room cleaner did not pay enough attention when cleaning and hanging the towel in your bathroom. We should never be giving guests towels that are not spotless. My apologies.

You are correct that our housekeeping staff do not speak English well. We have to draw our employees from the local community, which has a relatively poor educational system. Therefore, the only staff who must speak relatively good English before we hire them are our wait staff and our front desk staff. All other employees are taught basic English when they start work here, but that is not sufficient for them to understand things like complaints about stained towels.

Every room has it's own electric water heater built into the wall, which is controlled by a switch in the bathroom. It sounds as if someone inadvertently turned off the switch, then turned it on again. Once the switch is on, the water is warm within one or two minutes.

As for the staff speaking disparagingly about the size of your order, I would have no idea why they would care how large an order may be. Perhaps you mistook the intent of the comment. In any case, I have asked that our F&B Manager speak to his staff about being as polite as possible to all customers.

One does not have to take a taxi from the Pandanus Resort to a restaurant. There are eight restaurants located across the street from the resort and within 200 meters of our entrance. There are an additional ten to fifteen restaurants within a kilometer of the resort, both on the street going into the town of Mui Ne to the left of the entrance and in front of the sand dunes to the right of the entrance.

Thank you, again, for staying with us and I hope that the remainder of your Vacation is pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This resort nearly has everything, pool, taylor, pool side massages, restaurants, bars, pool tables karaoke, day spa, gym, volley ball courts, it really is a resort. The grounds are immaculately kept with such attention to detail and all the service staff understand English without you having to repeat yourself. I was fortunate enough to see a variety of rooms in the resort so beware some rooms are much better than others you will get what you pay for.

We asked for a double and got a twin, sure enough their great service fixed this by pushing the beds together but they didn't put a queen sheet they only threw on a queen blanket. The air con struggled and had a constant rattle in the system and compared to some other the other rooms our area of the hotel needed some maintenance.

For people with disabilities there are ramps all be them a little steep, you need to also ensure that you get a ground floor units or be in the room starting with 3xx as that block of rooms has a lift. I wouldn't call it mobility friendly by western standards but its a lot closer than I've seen in any other hotel in south east Asia.

Only other big gripe was we couldn't get a snack meal on the first day, Everyone was preparing for a big banquet. There are a few shops opposite outside the resort for snacks and other essentials.

The Resort is located a bit out of town it will probably cost you upto 150,000VND for a taxi ride out there.

This is a great place to stay if you want to go kite surfing, you are on the beach. Hotel does not provide gear but can hook you up with providers in town.

Room Tip: Don't book a cheap room pay the extra money to enjoy your stay. For people with disabilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your very nice review of the Pandanus Resort. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I would just like to offer a few comments.

The standard rooms only have twin beds, whereas all other room types have king size beds available. Therefore, it is not possible to reserve a 'double' standard. There are very few standard rooms and they were initially constructed to house our management personnel not from the area. This is the reason that the standard rooms are the only rooms in the hotel that are not wheelchair accessible.

That said, the quality of the room itself should not be less than other rooms in the resort and the air-conditioning should work well. I have just asked my maintenance manager to check and service the air conditioning in all the standard rooms.

I do apologize for the fact that the staff did not properly combine the twin beds for you. We will use your comment for training so that, if we do have to push two beds together in future, they will put one king size sheet on the bed.

Our main restaurant is open 24 hours every day, except just before and during our Christmas Gala dinner and our New Year's Eve Gala dinner. As in all the other major resorts, every guest who stays in the resort on these evenings pays for and participates in these gala dinner parties. As the dinner, which started at 19:00, is very extensive, we did not think anyone would be eating in the restaurant after 16:00.

As I have mentioned before, the Pandanus Resort is located in Mui Ne, just over one kilometer from the market in the center of town. A taxi fare to the center of Mui Ne costs less than VND 50,000 or US $2.50.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that the next time you are in Phan Thiet, you choose the Pandanus for your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family stayed at Pandanus Resort during Sept / Oct 2012 for 11 nights. We had just spent several nights in Ho Chi Minh City and where we had a great time and were delighted when we arrived at Pandanus resort in Mui ne. It lived up to the reviews online and the pictures featured on the websites. The staff could not be more helpful and was one of the highlights of our stay. All the faciities were excellent with the range of food for breakfast and dinner vast and enjoyable. My wife's parents celebrated their 60th birthdays during our stay and the staff and particularly the outstanding customer service manager, Roselini , ensured that it was an outstanding event that we will remember forever.
There are many great comments about this resort and here are some
Great.......
Accommodation
Grounds
Bars
Welcome drinks every night
Restaurants
Staff
Massive and enticing pool
Beach
Band, musicial entertainment

In summary the staff and beautiful resort is a place you should stay and a place we hope to visit again with our family.

Room Tip: Book rooms on Pool side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
4.4 mi away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#3 of 23 in Mui Ne
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Mui Ne
337 reviews
8.4 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#6 of 23 in Mui Ne
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sandunes Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Mui Ne Village resort and Kitesurf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Resort

Address: Quarter 5 | (Adjacent to the Red Sand Dunes), Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 801107, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mui Ne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mui Ne
#1 Spa Hotel in Mui Ne
Price Range: $68 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pandanus Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2004 within a ten hectare lush tropical garden on a three hundred metre long beach, the Pandanus Resort in Mui Ne has a large range of facilities and a variety of different accommodations, all designed to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Adjacent to the long, sandy beach is a huge free-form pool, surrounding an island covered with coconut palm trees. The buildings are designed to complement, not compete with the natural surroundings. The beach is serene and disturbed only by an occasional fisherman in a round pitch basket, or a wind and kite surfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pandanus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Hotel Mui Ne
Pandanus Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing