We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
30
20
10
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
20
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning played volleyball kite surfing main tourist area beach volleyball red sand dunes paddle boarding air conditioning nice beach place to stay swimming pool futon bungalow motorbike sunbeds sea facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 69 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

We payed a lot to stay there (3 900 000 VND) for 2 nights. It is absolutely not worth the money. Even if you pay less. We had very nice accommodations for less that 30€ in Vietnam. To be fair one of the nights was NYE.

There have been hordes of chinese screaming at the pool at 6am. Staff didn‘t really care. OK we shouldn‘t complain about that because we were sleeping at the pool because of our early arrival. But for all other guests this must have been a nightmare.

Then we requested a room far away from the pool to avoid those reckless people. The room is absolutely not worth the money. The first blankets were dirty. The second ones not completely clean but we thought it is not going to be better so we didn’t complain again.

When you lay down on the bed you realize directly that the matrace is only 5cm thick and therefore, extremely hard. It is absolutely not restful sleeping there and the back hurts every morning (see photo).

The bathroom. It stinks. The toilet seat was loose and the bin where you are supposed to throw the used toilet paper in is a swing bin. I don’t want to imagine how many bacteria is on there. Disgusting.

Furthermore there is no light and/or light switch at the sleeping table. So if you want to read before sleeping you have to get out of bed to switch off the main light when you are finished (see photo).

There is no glass and courtains in the windows. So you can choose to let the window shutters closed that no one can see you inside and have bad air or you let them open and give everyone a nice view when you are running around naked (see photo).

You don’t have a safe to store your valuable items.

Breakfast starts at 7am and you are supposed to be finished at 9. So if you like to sleep a bit longer there is no breakfast for you. On our last day at 08:45 there was not much left.

Furthermore, you can hear your neighbors (TV, water from the shower and the guest playing loudly asian music for all the resort) because of very thin walls.

Overall this was our worst accommodation in Vietnam.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 194marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Business Development Manager at Nam Chau Boutique Resort - Mui Ne Passion, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Thank you for choosing the Nam Chau Resort. However, we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

You are correct that the reason the price was quite high was that you stayed over New Year's Eve when virtually every hotel sells out and all of them charge rack rate or the highest published rate for a room. Normally our prices are discounted and therefore much more reasonable. The second reason was that you mistakenly booked a triple room through Booking.com when you only needed a double room.

We did not have any Chinese guests when you were staying with us. The guests swimming at the pool were Vietnamese, who tend to wake very early and only want to swim in the morning and evening when the sun does not shine on them. Unlike Europeans, they try to stay out of the sun as much as possible. We apologize if they disturbed you when they were at the pool.

Our blankets are cleaned regularly. I'm not quite sure why you felt that they were dirty, but your comments have been relayed to the housekeeping department with the admonition to make sure that all blankets are checked for cleanliness every day.

We checked your room and did find that your toilet seat was not secure. The previous guests did not complain so we were unaware that the bolts were loose.

When we took over the resort just over a year ago, all the mattresses were old and quite thin. We have been gradually replacing those that we felt needed immediate replacement, but obviously we missed some. Today, as a result of your review, we ordered the final 21 mattresses that were in the rooms when we purchased the resort.

Our resort is built of natural materials, such as bamboo and thatch. Although we have not received complaints previously about thin walls, it is true that they are not as soundproof as concrete or steel would be.

We do have safes available at the front desk for guests who need them.

The workaway volunteers whom you met at breakfast prior to departure told us that they didn't understand what you meant when you said that there was not much left, as all items were still available. I do admit that our breakfast buffet should be available past 09:00 and I have mentioned this to the owner. Perhaps he will take your suggestion to heart.

Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope that the remainder of your Vietnam holiday was more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

We experienced a treatment level by the staff never seen anywhere else, they totally knew how to ruin a Christmas holiday experience.
We fell victim of what seemed to be a money scam by a vietnamese manager of the Nam Chau Resort. We got asked to pay a cash deposit of 420 USD upon our late evening arrival, even as we had payed a deposit several months earlier. This was due to "not getting notification of our bank transfer deposit" which turned out to be a scam as later as we proved that the deposit had been payed they began inventing reasons why we should not get the cash deposit of 420 USD back. We ended up spending more than half a day of our Chirstmas day fighting the local manager until process was made.
The whole experience was made worse by the chauvinist vietnamese reprasentative named Ruog Phast who would not talk to any of the female people of our group.

An important thing to consider at Nam Chau is also that they have a limited amount of bungalows with sea visibility, a lot of them are located in the back of the resort, a walk away from the pool, restaurant or beach.

I would highly recommend looking at the multitude of other places Mui Ne has to offer.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Bebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Business Development Manager at Nam Chau Boutique Resort - Mui Ne Passion, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Peter,

Thank you for staying with us but I'm very sorry that you felt our staff ruined your Christmas holiday.

I do have to say that our staff did not behave as professionally as they could have and for this I sincerely apologize. I especially apologize to you for the comments made by Mr. Phat. His customer service skills certainly need to be improved.

Not to condone his behavior in any way, but people react to others based on the way that they are treated. Mr. Phat said that you were difficult from the minute you arrived, as you refused to pay the full deposit for your stay that BookSurfCamps requires when one books through them. Also, your female companion was so violent that she broke the telephone.

Ms. Trong, the Vietnamese vice director was not running a scam. The reason is that the money you had paid for your deposit did not go to the resort, but rather to BookSurfCamps, the reservation company. They only sent the money to the resort's bank after we had contacted them on the day that you had decided to cut your stay short because there was no wind for kite surfing. When we informed them of this, they sent the money, but being Christmas Eve, the deposit was not communicated to the resort until the next day. So, Ms. Trong was not aware of this payment.

However, the agreement between the resort and BookSurfCamps is between our two companies and it should not have even been mentioned to you as an excuse for not refunding the money for services you did not receive. It was very unprofessional of our local manager to do so and I sincerely apologize. In the end, however, I did give you back the unused amount of your deposit before you left the resort. At that point, you seemed to be satisfied, so I assume that the final amount refunded to you was not the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

We booked a 7 seat car to Ho Chi Minh and got a very small car. Chewing gum was sticked on the belt, very bad experience with this taxi. The hotel itself is nice but the restaurant is not really good and the beach was full of sand fly. Not convenient with kids.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 718guillaumec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Business Development Manager at Nam Chau Boutique Resort - Mui Ne Passion, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for mentioning that our resort is nice. We are sorry, however, that you did not consider our restaurant to be good, but you must have thought that it was not too bad, as you dined there five times.

As for the car that we hired to take you to Ho Chi Minh City, the reason that we used a vehicle from the tour company that provides our White Sand Dune Tours was that you required a baby seat and our vehicles did not have infant seats. We are aware that, even though there were only three of you counting your infant child, you were transporting a tremendous amount of kite surfing equipment and luggage and, therefore, required a seven seat vehicle. Per your request, we ordered a seven seat vehicle and the tour company provided a 2018 Toyota Fortuner. Toyota Fortuners do have seven seats, as the driver pointed out to you. I don't understand why you felt compelled to complain that the car was too small as you were able to load all of your equipment and had no problem on your transfer to Ho Chi Minh City. Unfortunately, neither the travel company nor the driver had noticed that a previous client had dropped chewing gum, which had fallen into the hole where the seat belt slides into the seat when not in use. After you pointed it out to the driver, he told us that he cleaned it off.

Regarding the sand flies, they are not a product of the Nam Chau Resort, but rather are prevalent on most tropical beaches around the world. So, I'm not quite sure why you felt an obligation to give us a poor rating while mentioning these pesky flies and some chewing gum on a seat belt. However, we do hope that you enjoyed your kite surfing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We ve been staying here for two weeks and fell in love with the place. It’s the best option we could ever get within Mui me for the price given. What you need to consider before arriving here is that the place is predominantly for active and young people. It doesn’t mean there will be crowds of drunk backpackers all around. It means that this place is to chill after daily routine and work online, to go kiting and take a fresh smoothie after. Elder generations can also stay there and enjoy their time. Just be clear about your expectations. We would love to turn there back if have a chance. Cheers from Ukraine

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ievgen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Everything was excellent, beautiful views, good service staff, delicious food, clean room. There is only one point except that the wifi system does not seem to be very good. Will come back here if you have a chance.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ph_nh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, Business Development Manager at Nam Chau Boutique Resort - Mui Ne Passion, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing a nice review.

I'm sorry if our wifi was not as strong as you would have liked. I will ask our IT manager to check and see what we can do to improve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews