We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mui ne in general”
Review of Mui Ne Harbor

Mui Ne Harbor
bendigo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mui ne in general”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just spent 16 days in the Mui Ne area. This is definitely not an area I would recommend to Australians. The majority of tourists are Russian and most places cater to them. Nobody speaks English so don't expect to have a conversation with anyone. All of the shops sell exactly the same thing and are hugely overpriced compared to other parts of Vietnam. The Vietnamese people particularly in the shops were generally unfriendly and service outside our resort was second rate, in the shops it was appalling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tracy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    182
    112
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Totally mesmerising!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went twice to the Mui Ne Harbour and it is a sight to be behold. Firstly, we went in the morning where fish were being brought in to be bought, sold and cooked on the shoreline. It was a hive of activity and you have to admire the resourcefulness of the fishermen who battle terrible conditions to bring their catch in. The view from the road and out to sea is quite impressive with scores of fishing vessels bobbing around on the sea. The second time we went was at sunset, I waited for an hour for the sun to set, local children came up to me and asked me to photograph them whilst they played in the sea - the sunset itself was spellbinding. I used a taxi to get me there on both occasions, agree the price in advance and if you want him to wait whilst the sun sets expect to pay about £6.00 - well worth it. If you want to go for the morning you will need to get there for about 7 am and for the evening you need to get there for 5:30pm - if you do nothing else whilst you stay at the resort make sure you do this!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
199 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Photographers paradise”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The view of the fishing harbour is amazing from the lookout at the top of the hill. The colours of the fleet are vibrant and when mixed with the blues of the South China sea, the picture is perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Colorful, lively fishing harbor & sunsets”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Probably the most scenic view along the coast between Phan Thiet & Mui Ne. Just before you enter Mui Ne town, a high slope leads down to the narrow beach & shallow bay where hundreds of fishing boats anchor. In the mornings fishermen bring up their catch in coracles, sold on the beach. Lots of activity on shore & sea. In the evenings, local families & kids swim among the boats. They don't mind the fishy left overs; shells & strange sea critters. A gallery cafe & ceramic shop fronts the harbor to cool off with yogurt fruit smoothies or browse for souvenirs. Sunsets pour down on boats & after dusk its quiet, the bay twinkles with red & green lights of fishing boats & the circle of the distant horizon is lit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mui Ne Harbor also viewed

 
Mui Ne, Phan Thiet
 

Been to Mui Ne Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing