We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was my first time staying at Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort, but it will certainly not be my last. I brought two children under 3 years of age with me and we all enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are large clean and comfortable, and give you the feeling that you are staying at your own private cabin on the lake. It is really off the beaten path, but it is well worth the trip. I highly recommend this resort either for a long or short stay or to stop in for dinner or dessert. The food here is wonderful and every Friday evening they have a fish fry with an outstanding salad bar. I can't say enough about the hosts. Ann and her family will make you feel like you are part of their family, without being intrusive. While we stayed for a week, I also think it would be a good place to stay if you were traveling between Wawa and Ste. Saint Marie. I can't wait to go back. Another thing to add, the owners have passes to the nearby provincial parks, and will loan them to you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yelosmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2008

On a motorcycle trip around Lake Superior, I stumbled upon Salzburger Hof on Sunday night at about 7PM. While checking in with Ann, the owner, she asked if I'd had dinner.

Even though the kitchen was closed, Ann arranged for a sumptuous meal of schnitzel with lingonberry sauce, potatoes... and a Gosser beer. And, she delivered it to my room just as I was finishing up parking and unloading the bike.

Well worth seeking out, the Salzburger Hof was just fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My wife, Marlene, and I have been staying at the Salzburger Hof for over ten years now on our nearly-annual fishing expeditions to Ontario. We found it by accident and weariness on our drive back to the States. What a GEM! Not only is the scenery breathtaking and the woodwork in the rooms artistically rustic, but the restaurant, run by Ann Elsigan's daughter, is a culinary delight (we recommend the Schnitzel and Cabbage rolls, and the beer and wine list begs for sampling!). It is truly amazing to find such haute cuisine "on the road."

The owner, Ann Elsigan is a personable and friendly woman. If you are lucky enough to have her cook your breakfast on your departure, you just might find a dollop of home-made jam on your toast!

We plan on staying there for years to come, and recommend it to all of our friends!

Dr. Michael R. LaChat

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

As they say, life is experienced not in stretches of time but in moments. The Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort's apple dumplings represent to me just such a moment.

I often revisit, in my memory, a wonderful car camping trip we took to Lake Superior Provincial Park three or four summers ago. Our campsite neighbor, German-born but a longtime resident of Canada, told us that she and her family had dined at the Salzburger Hof Resort on their way to the Park. She said that she'd enjoyed there the most authentic and delicious Austrian cooking that she'd ever tasted since moving to Canada from Europe. On her recommendation, at the beginning of our long drive back to NYC, we treated ourselves to a late breakfast at this beautiful spot.

As I write today in June '08, I don't know if the restaurant's management is the same. If it is (and it seems to be, based on the menu posted at http://www.salzburgerhofresort.com), all I can say is that the apple dumplings here are to die for.

I'll remember this dish in detail for as long as I remember anything in life. Partly my apple dumpling was delicious because the owner herself asked me if I wanted to order one (I think it was the dessert special of the day; she'd brought a baking tray of dumplings over to our table, and holding the tray in one hand with a potholder, she'd tapped its underside with a bare hand, and said, simply: "Still warm." How could I decline? Impossible) -- and partly it was delicious because of the scene, which was peaceful, relaxed and stunningly gorgeous in that stark northern shore of Lake Superior way -- and of course, obviously, it was delicious because of the quality ingredients and the care and talent of the kitchen staff.

So, that's my review. I dropped by for bacon and eggs, never expecting to want dessert, let alone order it. I ended up having one of the top five desserts of my life. This is a place that I'll always want to return to, and not just for another apple dumpling. I hope I have the chance someday.

Stayed: July 2005
1  Thank Leah_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Last summer, on route to my fishing trip, I noticed the European style signs on Hwy. 17. Intrigued, I called on my cell phone and reserved rooms for my group. After our successful fishing trip, we pulled into the Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort grounds and I thought I was back in Europe!
The view was breathtaking, the rooms were warm and friendly and Ann, the owner made us feel like family. As I just mentioned, the view and the rooms were great, but the food, especially the Schnitzel, was EXCELLENT! To top the meal off we had some of Ann's Black Forest Cake and my favourite, the Mocha Butter Cream Cake (call ahead to reserve a slice).
We're returning this fall for the rainbow fishing and we've already reserved a cake.
P. Storm
King City, ON.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atstorm169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank corneliafassbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Alcatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenBatchawanaBay, Manager at Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batchawana Bay
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
23 reviews
3.8 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
65 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mountainview Lodge
Mountainview Lodge
#1 of 1 in Searchmont
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing