We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL RESORT AND BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL RESORT AND BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Lakeshore Salzburger Resort for 7 or 8 days in August 2012. It was the highlight of our 3 week Ontario vacation. We couild never have anticipated how beautiful the scenery was in and around the resort. The options of parks and interesting places to visit were many. The family treated us like their own and the food was delicious to say the least. We love this place and this family and wll be returning in 2013 with our friends in tow.

Dave and Sherry
Regina, Sk

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view. The ones further from the office a little better and the 3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were quite happy with our recent two night stay at the Salzburger Hof . This was one of our stops on our day hiking trip across the north shore of Lake Superior this September. This resort is located about 15 minutes off highway 17 at Batchawana Bay . It has a magnificent view of Lake Superior from its expansive grass terrace. We relaxed upon our arrival enjoying our wine & cheese on the terrace chairs.

We were in one bedroom cottage suite #1 at the far end of the complex. The interior, although dated, was well maintained & clean and included large living area, kitchenette and separate sunken bedroom. We personally enjoyed the vintage green sink and bathtub. We enjoyed relaxed fine dining both evenings at the resort ...we had requested spaetzle in lieu as our starch choice and it was superb. We also enjoyed a couple of delightful breakfasts at this resort.

We found the staff at this resort exceptionally friendly. The family owners of the resort operate with a very hands on approach.

We definitely will return to this resort when we return for another hiking experience on the north shore of Lake Superior. This resort is very well positioned for Pancake Bay Provincial Park which has a magnificent long sandy beach. The Edmund Fitzgerald hiking trail (accessed just outside the park) has a great outlook over Lake Superior. This resort is also in a good location for hiking the southern hiking trails in Lake Superior Provincial Park which are about 1 hour away.

We would also recommend the Voyageur Restaurant (right on Highway 17 at Batchawana Bay ) as a great lunch stop and source for food supplies. There are no food sources in Lake Superior Provincial Park so we would recommend bringing your lunch provisions along to enjoy along the trails or at the Katherine Cove picnic tables.

We look forward to again staying at the Salzburger Hof during our return hiking trip to Lake Superior in a few years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had reservations at the resort for the night and for the restaurant. The Restaurant was stunning. Food and service were spectacular.
To call itself a resort is really a stretch. The rooms were dated to the 1950's with matching green toilet, sink and shower with no shampoo or hair dryer. The furniture definitely flea market style. It was cold and rainy so before leaving for supper tried to turn on the heat but nothing happened. The power went out at 7:30 pm and came back on 6 hrs later----no heat and 37 degree weather with rain and wind all night. There were no candles, matches or flash lights to be found. In the morning, there was no hot water either. I asked that we get some money back on the room but the host said it wasn't their fault. We told them about no matches, candles & the host said they couldn't walk around in the pouring rain to see if everyone had light and that we should have come to the office---hey who is the customer here? The host was rude and condescending. The power outage wasn't the resort's fault but they should have tried to provide the basic amenities or a partial refund. We certainly recommend you stay far away from the motel part of this resort. It doesn't meet any definition of the word "resort".

Room Tip: No heat so don't come after Labor Day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We did not stay here, but stopped and had a very nice meal after a day trip up the coast to Agawa bay. It was busy, and we did not have reservations but they were nice enough to seat us anyway. Beautiful view of Batchewana Bay and Lake Superior. The food was authentic middle European and the service was warm and friendly. Although the décor is dated, it is sparkling clean and well maintained. I would literally have eaten off the floors. Not a speck of dust on anything. We would consider staying here next visit to the Sault Ste. Marie area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheMuskokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice time there. Staff was friendly, food was very good and the, view spectacular. Our room was cozy with a log interior, very comfy beds but dated bathroom. It was a very nice experience but I would recommend it with reservation. What's cozy and quaint for one is old and tired to someone else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hosts are quite nice, and the restaurant and food was fine, and the view is spectacular.
Those were the good points. The rest of resort is dismal. It hasn't been updated I think since the 50s. The bed was at least that old. When we tried to open a window the screen fell out and we just howled with laughter because that pretty much says it all.:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aingall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had stayed at the Salzburgerhof 20 years ago, and I had a good memory of itso while driving the North of Superior road, I planned a night here again. Arriving around 4pm,I could not recall anything about the place.
The room ( #4) was a sad and tired old motel style room.The walls and ceiling were old wood of decent quality, but the room had old and inappropriate furniture,and was very dark. The decrepit bathroom would have made Basil Fawlty proud! It was tiny(really!) and the walls around the ancient and uninviting tub looked as if they were made from old car body panels. In short, it was not a room in which one wanted to linger.

The restaurant, vaunting Austrian/Bavarian cuisine, was in a separate building from the motel rooms. The inside of this restaurant was clean but almost totally lacking in any genuine Austrian decor or atmosphere. It was well patronised,and we had made arrangements to dine at 7pm. We were given what I would consider the best table ( in the corner by the windows). Things soon went downhill. We waited a full half hour to be given the chance to order anything,at which time we were told we would still wait another hour (!) before we got any food! This was clearly unacceptable! After remonstrating with staff, this issue was resolved and our dinner did arrive within a reasonable time thereafter. I had the Wienerschnitzel. It was adequate (if abundant!) but somewhat disappointing. The choice of wines was very sad and limited. We were not impressed!(Having been MANY times in Salzburg and throughout Austria!).

The mitigating aspects of staying here are the view over Lake Superior from the gardens adjacent to the motel rooms, and the fact that the owners/personnel are genuinely nice people who are trying to make the best of a bad job. In all honesty, I could would never recommend anyone to stay here,unless your taste is just one up from camping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batchawana Bay
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
72.1 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
288.9 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Property: Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing