We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner after a trip to Agawa bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We did not stay here, but stopped and had a very nice meal after a day trip up the coast to Agawa bay. It was busy, and we did not have reservations but they were nice enough to seat us anyway. Beautiful view of Batchewana Bay and Lake Superior. The food was authentic middle European and the service was warm and friendly. Although the décor is dated, it is sparkling clean and well maintained. I would literally have eaten off the floors. Not a speck of dust on anything. We would consider staying here next visit to the Sault Ste. Marie area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheMuskokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice time there. Staff was friendly, food was very good and the, view spectacular. Our room was cozy with a log interior, very comfy beds but dated bathroom. It was a very nice experience but I would recommend it with reservation. What's cozy and quaint for one is old and tired to someone else.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hosts are quite nice, and the restaurant and food was fine, and the view is spectacular.
Those were the good points. The rest of resort is dismal. It hasn't been updated I think since the 50s. The bed was at least that old. When we tried to open a window the screen fell out and we just howled with laughter because that pretty much says it all.:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aingall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had stayed at the Salzburgerhof 20 years ago, and I had a good memory of itso while driving the North of Superior road, I planned a night here again. Arriving around 4pm,I could not recall anything about the place.
The room ( #4) was a sad and tired old motel style room.The walls and ceiling were old wood of decent quality, but the room had old and inappropriate furniture,and was very dark. The decrepit bathroom would have made Basil Fawlty proud! It was tiny(really!) and the walls around the ancient and uninviting tub looked as if they were made from old car body panels. In short, it was not a room in which one wanted to linger.

The restaurant, vaunting Austrian/Bavarian cuisine, was in a separate building from the motel rooms. The inside of this restaurant was clean but almost totally lacking in any genuine Austrian decor or atmosphere. It was well patronised,and we had made arrangements to dine at 7pm. We were given what I would consider the best table ( in the corner by the windows). Things soon went downhill. We waited a full half hour to be given the chance to order anything,at which time we were told we would still wait another hour (!) before we got any food! This was clearly unacceptable! After remonstrating with staff, this issue was resolved and our dinner did arrive within a reasonable time thereafter. I had the Wienerschnitzel. It was adequate (if abundant!) but somewhat disappointing. The choice of wines was very sad and limited. We were not impressed!(Having been MANY times in Salzburg and throughout Austria!).

The mitigating aspects of staying here are the view over Lake Superior from the gardens adjacent to the motel rooms, and the fact that the owners/personnel are genuinely nice people who are trying to make the best of a bad job. In all honesty, I could would never recommend anyone to stay here,unless your taste is just one up from camping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After a cabin rental fell through for our visit during August holiday weekend, we booked the last two rooms at Salzburger Hof Lakeshore Resort, trying to be near other family members at a rental on Harmony Beach.
The view on Highway 17 was magnificent, all the way up the lake. We did drive north and the view gets more spectacular as the altitude increases. The resort provides daily park passes and had some great suggestions for day trips. They provide some brochures and outfitter information in the breakfast/lunch restaurant.
Yes, the cabins are dated, but we chose to be on the lake as opposed to staying in Sault Ste Marie. None of the area north of the city is commercially developed. Our end unit (#1) was clean, comfortable, and fairly spacious-1br and living/kitchen combo. Actually it was a little charming with a little chandelier over the dining table, but it did have the avocado green bathroom fixtures and wood-beam cottage decor.
We also had unit #6 for my mother with 2 double beds and a kitchenette.
We were prepared for the fact is was not upscale from the photos, both rooms smelled fresh and clean. No a/c, ceiling fans and standing fans are provided. The cabins have a heat system we didn't use. After the first night, a cool front came through, and no fan was needed. We opened up the windows and sliding door, and the cool Lake Superior breeze was very refreshing.
After talking to the staff, and telling them we were flying in, they provided towels for us, and refreshed during the week at our request.
I brought travel-size toiletries, and they came in handy, as none were provided, I brought my own hairdryer as I knew ahead of time the cabins were rustic. No outlet in the bathroom, but the bedroom had outlet by the dresser.
It was fairly simple to get closer to the restaurant and sit at the umbrella tables with our ipads/laptops to get some news via internet. I actually enjoyed being away from the electronics --what a vacation is for!
We had a couple of breakfasts that were pleasant, chatted with the owner.
The food was magnificent at dinner. We were attending a family gathering, and I called ahead and ordered a pan of cabbage rolls to take to our pot-luck gathering. They were wonderful. We also had a family dinner at the Austrian restaurant that was authentic and delicious. After that meal, we made reservations for the Friday night fish fry that was also delicious and buffet-style.
The cottages face the lake, but it's not a beach. Every evening we would sit out and enjoy the breeze and sunset. Plenty of chairs and lounge chairs were on the lawn, with horseshoes and shuffleboard available.
We enjoyed our stay, it was a pleasant week. We enjoyed taking the Algoma train ride, checking out the Canadian Carver and other gift shops in the area, enjoying the outdoors--hiking at Chippewa Falls, and visiting/walking at Harmony Beach.
Beware of the Zip Line--husband's shoulder was sore all week from the landing of the primitive Mega Zip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The resort is family owned and right on Batchawana Bay (Lake Superior.) The view from the room and grounds was fantastic! The motel room was large and clean although old and dated and the bathroom needs some work. The family also owns the restaurant on sight. Good Bavarian food at a fairly reasonable price. WiFi only available in office/clubhouse. If you are up early you will be treated to a beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I were on the circle tour of Lake Superior on our motorcycle and it had been raining most of the morning. When we walked in the front door we were welcomed with a warm smike and towels to dry off with. The view was beautiful even in the rain and the food was outstanding. We hope to go back with our family very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janglin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range: $70 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing