We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We saw the reviews on Tripadvisor and decided that we would take our motorcyle this far into Northern Ontario hoping that our stay would be as comfortable as anticipated. We had a wonderful time. Clean cozy room, fresh breezes and views of Lake Superior that you could never dream of. The hosts and staff were warm, friendly and made it very difficult to leave. We will return and bring our family with us,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in Unit #4, described as a housekeeping studio on the Hof website, and it was perfect for our needs (my husband and I and our 21 year old daughter). The table was positioned in front of the picture window with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The kitchen was great for light cooking and the beds were very comfortable. There are lots of chairs and loungers provided for sitting outside and star gazing. Although not modern, the room was very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and friendly and the restaurant was awesome. Reservations are required as it is very popular and seems to draw quite a local clientele. Breakfast in the gazebo was delicious. We spent most of our time in Lake Superior Provincial Park which is about an hour drive to the eastern boundary. A very nice bonus of the Hof is the loan of a park pass, on request, which provides access to any of the provincial parks while you are a visitor of the Hof. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pimhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The cabin we stayed in was clean, cozy, quiet and had a wonderful view of Lake Superior. Breakfast the next day was delicious and the staff made it feel like we were with family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My family and I have been going to the resort 2 times a year for over 12 years and each time has been wonderful. Ann, Karen, and Sylvia have always made us feel welcomed and we feel like we're part of the family. Service is great, anytime we need anything someone is there to help. Throw the diet out the window and plan a leisurely meal when you're there because Salzburger Hof has a fantastic restaurant. Make sure to have the homemade soups and hot apple strudel !!! Take time to go outside at night and enjoy the stars, its so peaceful. I love it there !!!!!

Room Tip: Just be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hekkla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was our third trip to this lovely resort. The first was ten years ago for dinner on our honeymoon. The next was several years later for two weeks vacation and this year we travelled with my parents for one weeks vacation. We love this place. We have a Swiss background and this place feels like home. Great food and service, Beautiful views, Comfortable, clean accomodation. This not the place is for you if you desire modern but if you need a quiet, peaceful, place for a rest this is the BEST.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneHekkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We felt we had traveled back in time when we stayed at the Lakeshore Resort. We had our choice of the small, detached cabins that all face Lake Superior and picked one of the moderately priced ones. Our cozy, wood-paneled cabin was perfect. There was a large sitting room with TV which allowed our family of 3 to spread out. Chairs and chaises were arrayed on the lawn overlooking the lake, very peaceful. The dining room offered Austrian food, one of my husband's favorite cuisines; breakfast was in the "lodge." The only downside, which the resort has little power to fix, is the spotty wi-fi reception.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olympia_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a great timeat the Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort. We were greeted so warmly when we arrived. The view of Lake Superior is amazing!!!! The food was superb...true German cuisine! We stayed in a two bedroom unit that had an upstairs and downstairs....although dated, it was very clean and cozy. We were able to relax, sleep well, and get back on the motorcycles ready to continue our journey. I would absolute recommend this resort if you are trekking around Lake Superior, you will not be disappointed. You will eat very well here :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahjohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batchawana Bay
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
55 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mountainview Lodge
Mountainview Lodge
#1 of 1 in Searchmont
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort

Property: Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Address: 289 Corbeil Point Road | PO Box 118, Batchawana Bay, Ontario P0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Batchawana Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batchawana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fabulous view of Lake Superior while sampling the many authentic Austrian/ German dishes offered to you from our Chef Karen Van Der Swan. Fresh locally caught Trout or Whitefish and traditional Canadian dishes, such as steaks, are also available. Excellent dessert selection featuring our Haus Apple Strudel. Premium liquor and wine selection. Salzburger Hof Dining Lounge has been given the 'Best of the Lake' award twice by the readership of the Lake Superior Magazine. Families and groups are welcome. Open from Mother's Day to the third weekend in October. Hours from 5 pm until 9 pm (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Hotel
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort Batchawana Bay, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing