We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent short break hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Hotel de France
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isigny-sur-Mer
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short break hotel”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had an tastefully decorated room in a modern style. The staff were helpfully and friendly and the food was also excellent. The hotel is conveniently situated just of the small marker square, the town it self is pretty with small fishing boats and a small market on Wedsnesdays. The hotel made an excellent base for visiting all the D day sites with the town being one of the first to be liberated. The manager is really helpful and speaks good English.

Room Tip: Select original hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    42
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a small group of friends on the night of 3rd September. My room was functional rather than stylish but the bathroom was fairly modern and brightened things up quite a bit. Both were clean and overall it suited me rather well. From an English perspective, the overwhelming plus about this hotel is the lady who runs it; an absolute gem for whom nothing is too much trouble and who gives the whole Hotel de France experience its own very particular ambience. Having worked in London for 4 years she also speaks English like a native! Isigny is on the Normandy battlefield's trail and a little out of the way. Nevertheless, it is well worth a visit and if you are there stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A comfy and clean motel style hotel located very centrally in Isigny with its own parking at the rear. The management are extremely welcoming and helpful. When we (four friends) fell out with the driver of the taxi we had ordered, the manageress drove us 9km to Grandcamp Maisy in her own car for a prearranged dinner and arranged for the hotel to pick us up later that night. Petrol money was refused; truly beyond the call of duty. CARE: Do not order taxis in Isigny; they come from Carentan and there is Euro 37 on the clock before you get in the car!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've had a great stay in this hotel. The rooms are "motel-like" situated on a court-yard and look almost cottagelike. Rooms are reasonable clean except for some stains on the carpet that probably are very difficult to remove. Breakfast was complete and of good quality with boiled eggs, ham, cheese and a choice of jams and cereal. Off cours also with vienoises and baguette's.
We specially liked the bathroom. A large showerroom clean and fresh. The landlady (who is the lead-singer of a local "Andrew Sisters" immitation act speaks English and is very helpfull. When we visit Isigny sur Mer again we'll surely try to book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Centrally located and we stayed here on a weekend cycling trip in Normandy. Check-in was painful as they couldn't find the booking and required us to dig out our written confirmation. Once shown the room magically appeared so we couldn't understand what the problem was. We were able to leave our bikes in a locked garage which was helpful. We had a family room just big enough for 3 single beds. Whilst it was fairly basic it was good value for what we paid. Bathroom was a good size but shower only and a strange electric toilet that didn't seem to work well. Restaurant was OK for dinner but nothing special and the waitress had an unfortunate cough. Fairly limited choice of places to eat in Isigny so this looked like the best bet. Breakfast was good with generous croissant and bread plus cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were traveling in a small group, with one member of our party who is handicapped. The hotel made special efforts to accommodate him, removing a bed from his room so that he had enough space to move around. The rooms are quite roomy anyway, and the beds very comfortable. Clean and quiet--our rooms were all on a courtyard where we left our car. The food is excellent, and the proprietor wonderfully warm and friendly, great sense of humor! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 4 who called in rather late for lunch about 1.30 pm.I mention the time because I think it must have affected the quality of the meals.The staff were very pleasant and the service prompt ,but a lack of forethought was very evident. The salad served with the starter had no dressing added,there were no finger wipes for two people having seafood platters,no extra bread was brought when we finished the basket supplied and worst of all 2 of us had the limpest,soggiest and cold chips served with a lump of extra tough steaks.Very disappointing we will not call again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isigny-sur-Mer
5.2 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
101 reviews
11.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
145 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Le Duguesclin
Hotel Le Duguesclin
#1 of 2 in Grandcamp-Maisy
109 reviews
11.2 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
141 reviews
7.9 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: rue Emile Demagny, 14230 Isigny-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Isigny-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isigny-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing