We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home,but farm home:)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blumberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel-Gasthof Kranz
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blumberg
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was not our own choice, we stayed here because our travel agency had chosen the most economy variant for a bus tour to Switzerland. In reality, this family hotel is situated right in the border of Germany and Switzerland, in a very small village. It is well-known that hotels in Switzerland are rather expensive and it was the main reason for our agency to choose it (on the Germany side).
We left it early in the morning and came back late in the evening, so we spent here not more than 6-7 hours a day. What I can say. Stay here only if you have little money but much time! The accommodations are not bad, but very, very common. There is a WC and shower in the room, but there is no hair-drier, condition,safe,fridge. Maybe it can be taken on reception. The furniture in the room is very, very simple but I had no complaint against bedding. (it’s possible due to lack of sleeping). Breakfast is included and also common: cheese, slices of sausage, yoghurt and muesli. There was not tea! But there was coffee in the coffee-pot.
What is the worst thing of this hotel – its location!it is in a very small village and one night our drivers lost the way and hardly got the place!Besides that at the arrival night it was a specific smell in the air. Somewhere, not far, there were horses or cows,I think:))) What is more, if you want to visit Switzerland, you twice a day have to cross the real border(between Germany and Switzaland). I don't know why but our guide every time told us not to speak Russian when we crossed the border. It was very funny:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in June and the temps were warm (in the mid 80sF). Like most German hotels there was no AC so we had to sleep with the windows open. There were church bells ringing all night and people talking below our room who were having drinks on the hotel patio. Reception was pleasant and helpful and the owners spoke good English. WIFI was almost non-existant and could only be found in the bar area. There was no mini bar, hair dryer, room safe or other amenities of that type. The room was small and the bathroom tiny - the tiniest I have experienced yet. You could sit on the toilet and lay your head on the sink with no problem. The shower was also very small. The guesthouse was clean and breakfast was nice with breads, cheese, meats and yogurt. We were asked if we'd like scrambled eggs instead of just the soft boiled that were available and this was a nice touch. The price was a little high for the room as we paid about $110. I'd probably look for a lower price room next time as the hotel overcharged for what was offered.

Room Tip: If you stay in warm weather get a room on the side opposite the outdoor dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank schnippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Einfache Zimmer, sehr sauber
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt auch grosse Zimmer im Nebenhaus, speziell geeignet für Familien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruedisueli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Niektóre pokoje mają wyjście bezpośrednio na zewnątrz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacek Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shokolat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Kranz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Kranz

Address: Kardinal-Bea-Str. 13, 78176 Blumberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Blumberg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blumberg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Kranz 3*
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing