We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful hotel to stay in - perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braunlingen
Kensal Rise, London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel to stay in - perfect in every way!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I visited here for 6 nights at the beginning of June on a Shearings, Black Forest coach tour. The town is delightful - very quiet with just a few cafes, bakeries and the church. We talk a walk every evening just because it was so nice to see the different architecture and take in the general atmosphere. The hotel is very central.

We slept in the annex, which was literally 30 seconds across the road. The dining room decor is lovely with German murals and the food top class with a good choice. Drinks are not a rip off price either. I usually had a small jug of wine each evening and my husband a fair sized beer and that cost about £4.80p approx. The staff are lovely, There is a small drinks terrace upstairs at the back but no real garden as such except a few chairs at the front. Free use of the Internet is appreciated if people do not have that on their phones like us - the connection is very slow, but hey, what does that matter if you are on holiday and it is free?!

The bakeries are open from about 6.30-7am and sell wonderful filled rolls for such a reasonable price. The nearest one also has a supermarket part to buy extra bits you might need. Oh, there is a lovely fund raising shop next door to the annex. to support special needs folk of the town. This sells goods the people have made, lots of crafty stuff. Make lovely gifts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
29
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontlliw, Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I were most impressed by this small family run hotel. Braunlingen is a pleasant, sleepy town and, for us, was an ideal spot to break our journey home to Wales from Austria. The hotel is very traditional with staff dressed in local folk costume but they managed to carry this off without making it look Disneyish. The room we stayed in was comfortable and very quiet and the restaurant was excellent. All the staff spoke good English and the little gift of drinks and postcards on check-out was a nice gesture. Definitely a hotel we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brillo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odorheiu Secuiesc, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Clean and solid , very good quality for a small town like Braunlingen . The staff is really helpful and speaks english . Smokers should choose rooms over the restaurant - it has balcony. The rooms in the other building are modern and more quiet . I didn't hear even the churchbell in the morning . They have over 150 chanells on all posiible languages . You will need it . There is no nightlife in this town . There is no use to go elsewhere to eat in other restaurant , there are excelent foods on the menu and the chef really knows his job

Room Tip: Rooms facing north , in the building opposite to the restaurant are quiet . Otherwise you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewiswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Staff: all very welcoming and warming, the ladies wear traditional dress and most speak English (and don't laugh at your German skills even if they are as rubbish as mine!)

Rooms: Large clean and comfy (no kettle, info for UK visitors especially) which are apparently more modern in the annexe but are a little 80s looking in the main house. It doesn't matter, there's a large flat screen TV with lots of channels and I felt totally at home there. Sometimes a bit too hot, but that's what windows are for :)

Food: Plentiful and lovely, choices, a bit pork heavy but that's Germany for you. Cater well for veggies and are caring about getting it right.

Location: Very pretty town which I would like to have seen more of, but it was raining cats and dogs sadly.

Tips: There is a fabby little store almost next door which sells bottles of the local eau-de-vie from small to 1ltr and this is MUCH cheaper than in many of the more touristy places. There is also a butcher/deli/bakery in there as well as fresh fruit and veg and a range of other basic items.

Lasting memory is of the service and welcome. One lady in particular, Alex, was very helpful when I needed an emergency supply of a personal care product I had forgotten, going so far as to fetch some from the family accomodation. I was very touched by this and wanted to give her a mention because you don't often get looked after like that in a hotel, now do you?

Overall I think our coach party was well received anyway (a very nice bunch of people with the exception of one lady with an over inflated sense of self importance and entitlement, who seemed not to understand that the usual "where you sit first night is where you always sit" rule can't apply if there's another tour party booked in for breakfast half an hour before your sitting time - this lady made the life of another lady on the tour hell for no good reason simply because she could not have her chosen breakfast seat on the first morning - there's always one bad apple in the barrel isn't there?).

Can't wait to go back in summer to see the Black Forest in summer clothes!! Can't recommend this little gem enough.

Room Tip: Next time I will try the annexe. I'd choose a room on the top floor away from the stairs - ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is modern and the food is wonderful. The owner cooks for the resturant and turst me you will want to go nowhere else. The room was comfortable and we found the local shops a nice place to get essentials. This is deffinetly a nice hotel and central enought to base yourself out of. If you go please tell the owner Josef that Sharon from USA says HI!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lulugirldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Written while staying here on a Shearings coach holiday
Clean,comfortable hotel. Good, locally sourced German food. Proprietor runs cookery school
Excellent continental breakfast with plenty of choice
2 criticisms. (a) a half litre of tap water costs 1 Euro at table. Tap water should be free
(b) One wiling but overworked waitress for 36 people to be served food & drink means a 3 course meal takes an hour & a half. Too long. More waiting staff needed
Braulou fen is a small country town, so public transport is very limited. Railway station is 800 yards from town centre with infrequent service

Shearing's driver is safe,cheerful,helpful, & very knowledgeable
Avoid the so-called Tourist Information Centre.The male assistant is unhelpful,lazy, & ignorant
Nicholas O'Brien
8th September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HAWKESVURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here on a Shearings 9 day holiday, Nice Clean Hotel, food Average,the hotel charge for Water at the table, service is a bit slow, Nice Clean Village, But Thats it, Nothing to do in the evening,s but sit outside the Hotel and watch the cars and tractors race bye, The Church bells start to ring at 6-30 am and ring every 15mins until 10pm, Holiday was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: Good Clean Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coach-tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunlingen
2.6 mi away
Flair Hotel Gruener Baum
Flair Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 7 in Donaueschingen
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Linde
Hotel Linde
#4 of 7 in Donaueschingen
63 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Donaueschingen
Wyndham Garden Donaueschingen
#3 of 7 in Donaueschingen
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#5 of 7 in Donaueschingen
53 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Am Franziskaner Villingen-Schwenningen
Mercure Hotel Am Franziskaner Vi...
#3 of 8 in Villingen-Schwenningen
250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waldblick Hotel
Waldblick Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donaueschingen
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof
Address: Zaehringerstr. 24, 78199 Braunlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Braunlingen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braunlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well run and attractively priced hotel with modern, clean and lovely hotel rooms in the South of The Black Forest Germany. The hotel provides friendly English speaking staff and an authentic Black Forest flair. It offers free Internet access and it has an excellent restaurant which will spoil you with their seasonal and regional specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Lindenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing