We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Business Hotel handy for the Messe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aschheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“A Solid Business Hotel handy for the Messe.”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stay at the Innside Dornach on a regular basis as it is close to my company’s Munich office.
The details and descriptions given by AgWagon and especially Mostly_NYC are representative of my experiences.
I would summarise the Innside as a proficient business hotel with very helpful and efficient staff, a modern clean, slightly sterile design, which will not be to everyone’s taste, but the bathroom design that puts the shower cubicle almost in the middle of the room is difficult to describe and has to be experienced first hand for the true fun of it.
The restaurant is good and the breakfasts are high quality and there is a small bar area next to the courtyard where the service is usually very good.
Like all Business hotels the price fluctuates depending on demand and rises when there is a large show on at the Messe.
I wouldn’t really recommend this as a tourist hotel, because the S-Bahn is a good 15 -20 minute walk away and the hotel is situated in the business district of Dornach and there are absolutely no nearby restaurant or bar facilities, so you will need a hire car or Taxi to go anywhere.
But for a business stay if you have work in this part of town or you are attending at the Messe , then I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    235
    78
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
149
30
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

First, read 'Mostly_NYC's review. It is spot on and mirrors mine almost eerily (even to finding on my last night about the free minibar). Everything he says, I say.

My additions:

1) If you plan to spend any time in downtown Munich, be prepared for longish cab rides from the hotel. Traffic can be tough, particularly if there is a conference in town... which is why you're staying there, right?

2) I speak zero German. Not a problem. Every staff member I encountered spoke plenty of English.

3) It IS minimalist in style and the shower IS a nutty feature. Even some married couples may find it awkward -- then again, maybe some would love it! Like _NYC said, not a prob if you're solo.

4) Unusual circumstance but indicative of the hospitality level imo: I happened to be there on my birthday and on blah business. The evening I returned to my room I found a half bottle of wine and a hand-written note (in German, which I had to google translate but was fun) with birthday wishes. I assumed this was my wife's doing but upon speaking to her found it was not! The staff had figured it days earlier on check in when they asked for a DOB on the sign-in slip (I'm guessing). REALLY NICE!

Bottom line: very happy wth my stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I was at the Innside on business for the 2008 Expo Real international real estate convention, and my experience was excellent in every respect.

I arrived a bit early for check-in (around 11 a.m.), and the staff was quite hospitable. I offered to wait or go out for a few hours, and instead, without asking for any special concession, the desk upgraded my room and give me immediate access. (Nice touch, particularly during a convention when bookings are running 100% at top rates.) I was checked in within minutes, told about the hotel's amenities and given my room key.

Upon entering my room, I was pleasantly surprised by its cleanliness and simplicity. The Innside is an ultra-modern hotel, which is not entirely to my tastes, but it was kept neat and clean which is all I ask for when traveling on business. You can take a look at my photos and you'll see what I mean.

The hotel features wireless internet for a fee. My room, however, had a wired broadband connection that was included for no additional charge. Another really nice touch.

As in many new European hotels, the toilet is in a separate room, and the sink is off to one side of the main room. The shower is a three-sided glass box, also in the middle of the room (and I mean in the MIDDLE of the room), which at first is a little strange. But I was traveling alone and the arrangement had the added advantage of allowing me to watch television while showering.

The room is appointed as one would expect -- telephone, television (tube, not flat screen), mini-bar, lots of towels and a queen-size bed. About the only thing that was missing was a clock radio, which is hardly a problem as most business travelers carry a cell phone and a blackberry both of which have clocks and alarms.

A big bonus of my stay was the included buffet breakfast. Breakfast is served in a nice, well-lit and airy dining room on the hotel's second floor. This is not your typical skimpy breakfast buffet (for which you would expect to pay 15 Euros or more); this is a full spash: three types of scrambled eggs, cheese blintzes, three types of fresh bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, sausage, bacon, sliced meats, cereal, juices, coffee, tea... just about anything you can think of for breakfast and it's all included. My single biggest complaint when traveling on business is that the hotel breakfast is lousy -- not even that I have to pay for it. The Innside folks, however, do as nice a buffet as I have every had and it's included. (Lunch and dinner are a-la-carte. I ate lunch during my stay and it was also very good and reasonably priced.) Oh -- before I forget: there's a chef that will also cook eggs and omelettes to order.

Another fabulous added bonus -- that I didn't discover until my last day of a five-night stay -- is that the mini-bar is free. *FREE*. When was the last time you saw a free mini-bar? Uh, how about never?? It came stocked with water, juice, soda, beer and a few snacks. There's a sign somewhere in the room (perhaps in the mini-bar itself) that says that all items are complimentary and that it gets re-stocked daily. Really nice touch!

The hotel features a pleasant courtyard with patio-type furniture, accessible from the rear lobby. As for transportation, taxis can be called at the front desk and will arrive reasonably promptly. During my stay, I waited no longer than 15 minutes for a taxi. The train station (which becomes a subway in the heart of Munich) is a convenient 15-minute walk from the hotel, and takes about 20 minutes to the center of town. While you may not be a public transportation person (particularly if you're traveling on business when cost is not an issue), the train is nonetheless an essential option at 1 a.m. when you can't find a taxi.

If I had to be ultra-critical, what could I find wrong with the Innside...? In fact, very little that has any meaning. The location was great for a convention at the Messe (2 km away), close to public transportation, clean, comfortable bed, nice restaurant, breakfast included, and a cheery and helpful front desk. Maybe a flat-screen TV...? About the only true flaw is the absence of a business center, which became evident when I needed to print out some documents. However, the front desk staff was pleased to print my documents for me promptly and without charge.

If I return for the 2009 Expo, I'll be back at the Innside!

  • Liked — Price, staff & location
  • Disliked — The older-style tube TV (and I really had to think hard to come up with that!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mostly_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I booked into this hotel through my corporate travel booking for a 1 night business trip to Munich. On arrival at the hotel at 1am I was advised that they had no room for me and that they would arrange another hotel. Prior to my arrival, no attempt was made to reach either me personally, or my travel agent; so this message came as a deeply unpleasant shock. I've heard of overbooking with airlines, but with hotels?

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelling_timdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Although the hotel has the Munich Messe (Convention Center) in its name, it's not as easily accessible to the Messe as it sounds. In fact, although its *sounds* from descriptions the hotel gives that it's close to the S2 line, it's a kilometre walk-- and not recommended if you have a lot of luggage. It's on the public bus line to the Messe, if you want to wait for the bus.

Otherwise, I recommend having a car hire/rental.

Once you're there, the staff is very friendly, and they'll give rides to the Messe if you smile, and also to other places.

Their restaurant is very good, I give it a 3.5 out of 5 (and I'm a tough critic, so this is a very good rating). For breakfast, it's equally good-- and many plans have free breakfast included that should NOT be missed.

The downside to the Innside Premium Hotel are its rooms and the servicing. The maids like to re-arrange things; your things. If you re-arrange them to your liking, they'll move them back. They broke my electronic toothbrush this way. Then there is the matter of the showers, which look very cool-- little cubes of (safety, I'm sure) glass. The problem is there's no place to put things safely while showering in the shower easily. If you take a shower, there's a risk that the door will try to seal; they stick, requiring unusually high amounts of force to re-open.

While I was there, T-Mobile, who extorts large sums of money for their WiFi, was down for three days. I resorted to a modem, which isn't too awful, but T-Mobile should be banished in favor of free WiFi or even working WiFi.

Otherwise, the hotel is modern (recently built) and fine and friendly, if slightly overpriced-- seductively and ostensibly for its location/proximity to the Messe. Don't buy it for that reason, unless you have your transportation worked out, or are willing to put yourself at the mercy of the hotel staff.

  • Liked — The food and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — It's proximity to nothing. Oh, and its dependence on T-Mobile for WiFi-- that is, when it worked
  • Tips/Secrets — Consider using a car hire/rental to stay here unless you're an urbanite with love of very long walks. Very.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank toomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Really nice hotel and the rooms are big with a nice style. People are really friendly and I enjoyed the meals. More located for business affairs. Cool design!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ckonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aschheim
0.4 mi away
NH Munchen Ost Conference Center
2.0 mi away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#73 of 382 in Munich
393 reviews
4.5 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Munich East Messe
1.4 mi away
Novotel Munchen Messe
Novotel Munchen Messe
#58 of 382 in Munich
808 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe

Property: INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe
Address: Humboldtstr. 12, 85609 Aschheim, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Aschheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aschheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The INNSIDE Munich Neue Messe is the place to stay when attending exhibitions and conferences. An oasis of peace in the Munich suburb of Aschheim/Dornach. An architectural masterpiece, only 1,000 m from the Neue Messe/ICM exhibition centre. Cool optics and high-tech solutions fill the building from the lobby to the ceiling. 134 topclass designer business rooms and suites with polished wooden floors, glass showers and queen-size beds create an atmosphere of well-being and offer perfect sleeping comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your INNSIDE by Melia Muenchen Neue Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innside Hotel Aschheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing