We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food cooked fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beijing Diner

Beijing Diner
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Watton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Watton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food cooked fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Beijing Diner is probably my favourite place to go locally for Chinese food. They cook everything fresh and they're usually not too busy so booking a table isn't always a requirement. We always order from the 'all you can eat' menu which does seem a little expensive if you don't end up stuffing yourself to ensure it's worth the money. There's always a wait between ordering and the starters which can be annoying if you're prone to filling up on prawn crackers. Service can be a little slow and awkward if they're not busy as they tend to come out a lot to look at you. they also do takeaway but don't deliver.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super tasty, time and time again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

In my experience of commercial Chinese food, often things are bland and boring- but not here. The chow mein will knock your socks off and the honey ribs to start are to die for.

Sometimes the service can be a little slow, but what can you expect from a small, independent place in a small town like watton? The food is definitely worth the wait!!

Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great place to eat, friendly staff, fresh food, good portions, and the decor is much better than the photo. Would definitely recommend if you like a lot of food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful Service, Never Again!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Its advertised as an all you can eat style menu, you choose from an extensive menu and can keep ordering as many times as you like. Sounds great! However when you have to wait 90 minutes for your starters to arrive you soon lose the will to live and treat the experience as an ordeal to get through rather than a pleasure. There are only 2 waiters and 1 person tending to the bar, the management obviously have no clue about customer service. When the food arrived items were missing and arrived later, some never arrived at all. We went to celebrate a birthday and although it didn't ruin our evening completely it certainly tainted it for us all. The food is quite nice, however I wouldn't say it was worth the ordeal we had to go through in order to get it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank possum33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overall very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went here on a Friday night as a party of 7 with a small child. We all had the buffet menu which I love, no going up and loading up your plate you choose from the selected menu and they cook it fresh with tapas sized portions so you can try as much as you like. Once satisfied with your starters you move along to your next course and select again. This was all priced at around £18 excluding the drinks but be aware if your eyes are too big for your belly there is additional charges if you leave dishes untouched. If buffet isn't your thing there is also an a la carte menu.

The food was excellent, no complaints from any of us and they were very good when it was explained that one of the group had a nut allergy. All the good was cooked in new batter and they were quick to point out foods that didn't contain nut that we didn't know about such as the seaweed.

The restaurant had several large parties however it is big enough and well set out that it didnt detract from our pleasant evening. The tables were big and far enough from the next so you could get round and couldn't hear their conversations.

The only thing that let them down was the service, it was slow. They should really look at having more than two waitress staff covering a restaurant this size on a Friday night. However the staff were polite and helpful and certainly worked hard. If it weren't for the fact we had a very grumpy toddler in toe the wait between courses probably would have been more enjoyable. Once booked your table is yours for the night so they certainly don't want to rush you.

I am already looking forward to going back with my husband

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijing Diner also viewed

 

Been to Beijing Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing