We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions, every time me and my partner have been here we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Food is excellent, would pay more for the food than is charged, rooms are comfortable, staff are friendly, on one occasion we arrived later than anticipated, when we arrived the landlord laid on food for us even though we were late. Awesome service and will defiantly be going back. Thank you Malcolm and Mary for a lovely welcome and stay. See you soon. Who ever David is, obviously is just out to get what he can, there is no way I would ask for a reduction in any prices as is it quality for the price u pay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoelee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Since 2009, I have visited this hotel on a few occasions mainly because I have high standards when it comes to cleanliness, good customer service and good value for money.
I can honestly say that my experience was quite different to that of some of the reviews on here.
On each occasion I have visited this hotel, I have been greeted by wonderful polite & friendly hosts & staff. The rooms and facilities are spotless (although I agree that the decor in some rooms could do with some updating but still spotless none the less) and the food is fabulous with huge portions.

The staff cannot do enough for their customers. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMcbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and couldn't do enough for us. Room was clean and comfortable with everything you would expect in it. Evening meals were delicious and freshly prepared with generous portion sizes. Expect an hearty, good quality breakfast with everything cooked to perfection.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgibsonhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

First visit to this hotel and the staff were very friendly. The food in the evening was excellent and reasonably priced. Everyone who recommended the hotel to us raved about the breakfast but it was just ok. The room was very tired and really needed the bathroom to be upgraded. Having said that, we would definitely stay there again if we are in Norfolk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Another visit to Norfolk so i didnt look anywhere else. I enjoyed it so much last time i was here i had to visit again. Once again i felt at home as soon as i arrived. The food in the evening was terrific as it was last time and the breakfast again was great. The selection of beer and cider at the bar is good too. The only reason i haven`t given it five out of five was this time i was on my own or rather with a work colleague, and instead of having a double room as last time, this time i was given a single room. This was ok as i was on my own, but, the layout of the single room meant that the bed had to be placed immediately in front of the window, and as such the outside lights kept me awake most of the night

Room Tip: I had no problems with the double room it was just the single where the outside lights kept me awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent one night here as it was in a location convenient for Snetterton Racing Circuit. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, there is good parking and is on the outskirts of a small town in a quiet area. The room we had was a little tired and the en-suite could do with a refurbishment, the mattress and bedding could certainly be improved but overall this is very reasonably priced, clean accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

As we walked through the front door we were made welcome immediately. After checking in we were shown to our room and given a guide to the features. Good decor and decent furniture throughout. The pub at the front was good with decent beer prices. The food both evening meal and breakfast was top notch. All in all a very pleasant overnight stay, which i will repeat when next in the area

Room Tip: All rooms are allocated to need, from singles to family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
0.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Richmond Park Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Phoenix House
Phoenix House
#1 of 1 in Little Cressingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare And Barrel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare And Barrel Hotel

Property: The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Address: 80 Brandon Road, Watton IP25 6LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hare And Barrel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare And Barrel Hotel Watton, Norfolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing