We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The rooms have been re-decorated, in really nice colours. The food is, as always, excellent. They have a new chef, who is top notch and the service is, as always, superb! If you want a pub with clean, comfy rooms, which offers 1st class service and food, this is the one for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are out back in the stables mews. Very nice with lots of flowers etc.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
24
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We chose this Hotel as it was conveniently located for a function we were attending. On arrival they didn't have a record of our booking. Fortunately there was a room available and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were given a family room in the newer block (we were a couple) but unfortunately it was just awful. It was in desperate need of modernisation; the en-suite was so small you could hardly move; the shower was antiquated and shower head didn't fit in the holder properly and the shower curtain didn't stop the water splashing out onto the carpet which then made the room smell damp and musty; muck came out of the extractor fan which fell on the floor and into the glasses on the shelf which were there for cleaning teeth and the bed was hard. The windows streamed with condensation and there was black muck round the edges and the paint was peeling. We had to go outside to get to the main hotel, bar and restaurant for breakfast. The fried breakfast comprised of egg, bacon, tomato, sausage, hash brown and fried bread (I didn't know people still served fried bread these days)! However it was an acceptable breakfast.

Had we have not been in the area for a function we would have gone elsewhere. Despite all this the staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating and we cannot fault them - just a great shame about the accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The H+B was recommended to us and it's a quaint place with converted stables for rooms fitting in nicely with the feel of the area. The rooms are as you would expect in a conversion with exposed pipes etc but are very clean and tidy....but, as others mentioned the beds have our new worldwide benchmark for bad mattresses, thin, hard and collapsed in the middle (see picture). Breakfast is good though and the service was friendly and welcoming. Would we go again? We'll keep an eye in the reviews here and see. If you want a great breakfast and a sore back I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Have now visited on several occasions and found they have just got it right! Service is excellent, Prices are good, although some may say a little dated inside you will not find anywhere better to eat, drink or sleep in Watton. This is most definitely the No 1 place for good food in Watton.10 out of 10. The owners and staff are very good with children, a truly family orientated pub. Good 4 course Sunday roast also sampled.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed for two nights in July. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful . Room was excellent and rate of 48 Inc breakfast for single was good value.
Breakfast was very good. Hotel has good bar with excellent variety of drinks,

All in all I would give this hotel a huge recommendation

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Service is excellent. Rooms are clean and comfy. Food is not cheap, but is home cooked. mostly and very good value. If you want fast food, go to McDonalds !The room rate, which is per room and not per person includes breakfast, and the breakfast is more than enough for 5 bellies! If you need to stay in Watton, stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We found the Hare and Barrel by internet search and not as a result of this site, so we had no particular expectation of it. From the outside is is fairly unremarkable, but as soon as we entered the reception we were made to feel welcome and that feeling continued throughout the three nights we were there. The rooms are not overlarge - they are in a converted stable block - but they are comfortable and clean. I've slept on a more comfortable bed, but that's just me - you might love it. In any case, I slept well and in the morning the breakfast was a delight. Not swimming in fat or tomatoey liquid, but everything fresh cooked to order and beautifully done. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Mary, the proprietress. She has worked for Grand Metropolitan Hotels in the past and it really shows in the absolute professionalism of the way this place is run. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I intend to use it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray55gduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
0.5 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
123 reviews
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
213 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
262 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Bedingfeld Arms
The Bedingfeld Arms
#1 of 2 in Oxborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare And Barrel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare And Barrel Hotel

Property: The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Address: 80 Brandon Road, Watton IP25 6LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hare And Barrel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare And Barrel Hotel Watton, Norfolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing