We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Watton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week as I was working in the area. As soon as we checked in we were immediately made to feel at home and part of the The Willow House family. The rooms are cosy comfortable exceptionally clean and great value for money as a wonderful breakfast is included . The rooms come with free wifi and a DVD integrated into the tv, which was a bonus as we nipped to the local tescos to buy some films for movie nights. We also took our little pug, Princess and she loved her stay too and was made very welcome, (despite her snoring through Tuesday nights quiz!!!) for £5 per night we were so pleased that she could join us.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff looked after our every need which included getting us a mini fridge for the room!
Thank you to Duncan and his team cant wait to come back again in march for another week stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 but all rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you, Nadia, for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are really happy to read that all 3 of you enjoyed your stay, and you were a pleasure to serve even though Princess drowned out the ‘Quizmaster’!
We look forward to seeing you again, when work brings you back up this way!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    42
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
57
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I travel around this country a lot. No - I mean..a lot! At the end of a long day, I need to relax, unwind, chill out, be comfortable in my surroundings, get some good food, have a drink in a warm atmosphere and have a great nights sleep.

Out of all the places I stay at, the Willow House is by far my favourite because it gives me all of the things I've just listed. In fact, when in that area, I ONLY stay there. (11 times in the last 12 months actually).

The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and have all those little extra things that so many of the big hotel chains simply get wrong. From the moment you arrive, you're made to feel welcome - there is a really nice personal touch. (Again, something that larger hotel chains just haven't got yet..)

The food is excellent. Whether eating from the varied bar menu or in the bigger restaurant. Always freshly prepared and home-cooked. The beers are excellent! Always some good real ales to try. The atmosphere is warm and homely and is to be expected as it is a 16th century inn! Low beams and real fires. Just perfect.

Breakfast is excellent and always sets me up for the day! You have to try it!

Yes - I travel here on business, but if I were to look for anywhere to go for a short stay outside of work in Norfolk, I would be looking here and would have no hesitation in booking myself a room.

You are a gem, Willow House. Glad I found you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review Brian, and for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the food and the real ales, we hope to get Summer Lightening again and time it for when you’re up!
We look forward to seeing you again, when work brings you back up this way!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have stayed at the willow house several times now for different reasons, the rooms have always been clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable. The staff are always friendly and helpful and know the area well so can give advice on where to go. The food has always been great,plenty of choice for breakfast,not always had dinner but when we have it has been cooked to a very high standard.
I would recommend anyone to stay here on business or pleasure

Room Tip: All rooms are good some holding families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the food both for breakfast and when you have eaten here in the evenings.
We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Really tasty food and friendly staff, comfy clean rooms and loads of character. A proper homely pub with a diverse menu and no snootiness. A gem, will definitely visit again and recommend to friends, especially those with dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House.
We are please to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit, especially if you bring your lovely dog, George!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Year and a half since last visiting and it's still great. Nothing grand or pretentious, not a city smart setup, but cosy and friendly where nothing is a problem and everything works or can be accommodated. Main thing for me is the food is superb, by any standard, and like everything else it comes with a smile. Such an refresher from corporate hotels if work keeps you on the road.
Watton is not exactly a prime business or holiday destination - middle of nowhere springs to mind - but it has good access to an awful lot if you need a hub within 1 hr of just about everywhere in Norfolk. If you have countryside interests, it's a fabulous location. Willow House couldn't be better situated in the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow H, Manager at The Willow House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at The Willow House, Rupert.
We are please to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us again and loved the food, you were a pleasure to serve.
We look forward to your next visit, maybe in another year and a half!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a chalet out the back of the pub. Very spacious, warm family room. Clean and tidy. Had all the little extras that make a stay more enjoyable i.e. shampoo, hair dryer, biscuits. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Would recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rough3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cannot find anything to say about The Willow House, except that nothing is too much trouble with excellent food and service and comfortable beds in a well appointed room.
Recently celebrated our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with balloons on our table.

Room Tip: Room 2 has been perfect for us on all occasions we have visited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watton
1.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Hilborough
The Swan at Hilborough
#1 of 1 in Hilborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Olde Windmill Inn
The Olde Windmill Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Cressingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow House

Property: The Willow House
Address: 2 High Street, Watton IP25 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Watton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Willow House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow House, a beautiful sixteenth century thatched grade two listed building. Located in Norfolk, Breakland. The villages of Griston, Thompson, Sayham Toney, Hingham, Ashill, shipdam, Brandon, Mundford, Bodney and Towns of Thetford, Dereham, & Swafham surround the market town of Watton. Norwich 20 miles away. Our food varies from traditional bar snacks and daily specials, full A La Carte and Table D'hote menus. We offer a large selection of 'Real Ale'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Willow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow House Hotel Watton
The Willow House Watton, Norfolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing