We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”
Review of The New Hobbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Hobbit
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have eaten at the restaurant on three previous occasions and are local people. Tonight we ordered a familiar starter which was tempura prawns. To our surprise this now consists of only three tempura prawns, in the past this has been six. Clearly the hobbit is reducing portions. This is very poor value for money and will stop us from eating there again. Three prawns are not value for money and left us hungry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewHobbit, Owner at The New Hobbit, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for joining us on Saturday ,

The starter of tempura king prawns may vary in qty simply because sometimes the prawns vary in size. Our main course portions are huge so it is important our starters remain as an appetiser to the whole meal.

If you look at our customer pictures on trip advisor you will see the size of our portions. They are very large by any standards.

In terms of value midweek we offer an early bird menu which is 2 courses for £10 6-8pm Monday to Thursday.

Fridays is steak night which is another exceptional value of 2 10oz sirloins with field mushrooms,cherry vine tomatoes and chunky chips plus a bottle of house wine for only £25 per couple.

Sundays also has yet another great value 2 courses for £12,95 which includes our very popular roast dinner and seasonal veg.

I do hope we have the oppourtuity in future to have another attempt at filling you up :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    76
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
83
108
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband, myself and our 4 year old daughter visited here for the first time on weds evening. The decor, food and service are all fantastic. Massive portion sizes, excellent value for money, my daughter had a childrens meal of chicken nuggets chips and beans which was presented lovely and the chicken nuggets were 100% chicken breast made fresh in batter, hand cut chips and a seperate pot of beans... she loved it. Both mine and my husbands starter and mains were spot on, so tasty. Will definatly be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomishutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here on the 25th to the 27th of Sep to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted to a warm friendly welcome, and on hearing it was our anniversary upgraded us to the bridle suite- which blew us away! The room itself was huge,very romantic with a separate dressing room and a BIG bath. The views from the room were fab over looking the valley.
Although the hotel is small it is nicely decorated through out. We found the food to die for so be ready to loosen your belts,with well cooked and a well presented menu and perfect portions. We found the early bird menu especially great value for money.
Breakfast each morning was lovely, with both hot and cold options which went down a treat.
There is full and fast wifi downstairs but sadly none at all upstairs - which we know is being addressed. The hotel itself went quite after the diners had left, but this didn't bother us as we chilled out on the comfy sofas and had a couple of more drinks before bed.
Staff were very polite, attentive and certainly customer friendly. Thumbs up and a big thank you to everyone at the New Hobbit Inn!
Would we stay here again....IN A SHOT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel has fantastic views overlooking Calder Valley. The decor is lovely and the food is fantastic and reasonably priced.

Our room had nice decor but the bathroom was tiny.

The roads leading to the hotel are steep and narrow and a car is essential.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Degustibus4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights on a Wowcher offer. I decided upon this location due to the very good ratings on Tripadvisor and we were both very much satisfied all round with our stay. It is a smallish but not too small hotel with friendly and informal and very easy going staff. The room in which we stayed was clean and of reasonable size with all the usual trimmings such as kettle, a selection of hot drinks, and toiletries. On the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant as they have an Early bird menu which consists of two courses for £10 and I must say that the portion sizes were enourmous and cooked to a very good standard. It looked like the chef took care with the quality and presentation although the onion rings were on the greasy side. The Grand Hobbit Burger was lovely and the chips were good.

The breakfast service in the morning was very easy going again and the food very good with large portions.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others for the good quality and friendly local service. The location is excellent and the views from the hotel are fabulous. The only thing that I would warn people of is the extremely steep, narrow and winding hill that you have to drive up to get to the hotel. Its very scary if you're not used to that kind of thing. I tried walking up and down the hill which was fun but trust me when I say its not for the unfit.

Close by is a lovely town called Hebden Bridge which was really nice and worth a day's visit as you can go back train, drive or cycle there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kietfila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We Booked here for a family gathering. The new hobbit hotel is a lovely place.The food was lovely and of very high standards. All the staff was very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Cannot fault this place its outstanding. Myself and family would like to say THANK YOU to the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went to the hobbit with my family for Sunday lunch because the reviews on trip advisor. Before we went to our table we was served our drinks and waited in the pub area which was lovely. We was then led through to the restaurant area. The restaurant looked as though the tables were just plonked in a room with no organisation. The tables were not set up how you would usually expect them to be, there was just knifes and forks and a napkin. We ordered our Sunday lunch and we only wanted a main course, which was £9.50. We waited around 30 minutes and when it came we was very disappointed. The portion sizes were tiny to say we was only eating a main. We had two slices of beef, carrots, cauliflower, roast potatoes and a Yorkshire pudding. Usually when we go out for dinner there is a large selection of vegetables and at least two variations of potatoes. The total of our bill was just short of £40 and I don't think this is great value for money at all. I would visit the hobbit again and try their normal menu but I won't be returning for the Sunday lunch again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sowerby Bridge
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
4.0 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
462 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hobbit

Property: The New Hobbit
Address: The Hobbit Hob Lane, Sowerby Bridge HX6 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Hobbit 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The New Hobbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hobbit Hotel Sowerby Bridge
The New Hobbit Sowerby Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing