We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.”
Review of Sugar, Spice n all Things Iced - CLOSED

Sugar, Spice n all Things Iced
Restaurant details
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My friend and I popped in for a coffee but everything looked so scrummy we ended up having afternoon tea!

We loved it, the food was gorgeous especially the scones. The lady who served us was really friendly too. I would recommend this lovely little tea room to anyone.

My friend was so impressed she's booked afternoon tea there for herself and her team at work. I've also been back, I took my Mum who was as impressed as me, and my Mum's a fabulous baker!

We will definitely dine here again.



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my friend visited here in August and we both love it we ordered hot chocolate and tea and two cupcakes. The service was fine and very reasonable prices. I love it so much I went back a week later and ordered cupcakes for my wedding and everyone loved them. I will be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammy1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have visited the shop multiple times and found the staff very friendly. I have chosen the afternoon tea on most occasions as I've found it to be great value for money and very tasty. The cup cakes and scones are to die for, an I've even purchased a birthday cake for my son. I would highly recommend this quaint little tea shop to everyone, it's a welcoming an friendly place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ally140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I've tried this little cafe on a couple of occasions both times I've been greatly disappointed. There is no welcome when you arrive. Even a smile would do. The first visit we got tea for 2 and a scone each. The tea for 2 was a slightly larger that normal metal teapot with just one tea bag in. The result was weak tea. Needless to say we only paid for tea for 1. The 2nd visit was to simply buy some cupcakes to take to the mother in laws. To say it is a cupcake cafe there was only 3 to choose from. When I got them home they were hard and stale. The only consistency was the lack of welcome. It really is a shame because this cafe could
Do so well in sowerby bridge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Nobby114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value afternoon tea but dirty crockery and bad attitude”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visited with a friend. On entering the two staff were both sitting at different tables and there seemed to be an 'atmosphere'. We ordered the afternoon tea. My cup was dirty so I swapped it with one on the next table which was also dirty, swapped again and got a cleaner one. Cutlery was also dirty. Friend ordered a cold drink too and the glass was very visibly filthy. We asked for it to be changed, which it was, but there was no apology. The food came and there was loads of it and it was delicious, a proper afternoon tea. We were the only ones in but about ten minutes later a party of three came in. Not sure if we had upset the proprietor with our request for a clean glass (which was done politely) but the other party received smiles, a pot of water to top their tea pot up and a visit to ask if all was ok once they had received their food.
On our return home I messaged the cafe via Facebook to suggest some constructive criticism, all done politely and praising the good points, but I was ignored. I also mentioned in one of their posts that I would like a response but was again ignored.
It is a lovely place, nice decor etc. but cleanliness and attitude need to improve before I would go again.
There are a lot of these places popping up so I am sure we will find one with polite staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hummybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar, Spice n all Things Iced also viewed

Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
 
Norland, Sowerby Bridge
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing