We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but not the last ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rare Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Rare Bar and Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a brand new bar and grill restaurant in Sowerby Bridge, Halifax.
Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time but not the last ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our visit was very much a last minute decision, but as it turned out, a very good decision. We were greeted and seated very quickly even though the place was quite busy. The drinks we ordered arrived quickly and our menu choices were dealt with quite promptly, especially considering the number of hungry mouths waiting to be filled! The extensive menu made me peruse it for quite a while before I finally settled for ribs, which turned out to be cooked perfectly with plenty of meat almost falling of the bones. My husband was more than satisfied with his curry. All the food is cooked to order so inevitably there has to be a waiting time, but it definitely wasn't excessive. For dessert I just couldn't resist the cheesecake! It was out of this world! The waiting staff were very observant and moved quickly and efficiently to clear tables and get them ready for the next occupants.

The atmosphere was warm and friendly, with a wide variety of customers, from very small children to quite elderly. There doesn't seem to be any kind of dress code but I didn't see anyone dressed really improperly. I genuinely couldn't find any fault with the place at all.

I recommend this eatery very highly, and I have already made a date with my daughter to take lunch there the first day her children are back at school!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crandoleara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was well presented but was no better than average. Drinks order was taken quickly and starters arrived promptly. The main course arrived but the starter plates had not been removed. Staff had to be asked for everything including cutlery. Despite the restaurant being quiet staff were disinterested. The manager was walking around yawning. The waitress looking out of the window. Several attempts were made to get staff attention to order desert. Both picked rubbish up off the floor and didn't wash their hands. This spoilt the whole occasion and turned what could have been a nice night into a disappointing one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food glorious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We called in on speck for tea, there was quite a few of us although they were extremely busy they were quite accommodating and asked us if we could call back in 45 mins, which was fine. Nicely laid out inside, large kitchen where you can see the chefs cooking your food. It was well worth the wait, the food came very quickly it was hot and perfect. Steaks were cooked to perfection and the fajitas were so tasy with loads of chicken. All in all it was fab food and fab service, not overly expensive, depends what you were ordering, but worth that little bit extra. Highly recommend and can not wait for our return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Light in the Darkness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Drove in to Sowerby Bridge looking for somewhere to eat and were a little dismayed at how down and out the town looked but we stumbled across The Rare and did not regret stopping. Great choice of food with something to suit everyone, pastas, burgers, steaks, fish, chicken and all very well presented and cooked. Friendly staff, especially the Turkish gentleman who served us so efficiently. Would definitely return if in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Short notice tea time meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Went Tuesday night been before foods really nice we had a meze designed by ourselves olives, humus chicken wings (delicious) prawns and avocado salad and nachos with cheese etc they were Allright the accompaniments were separate with this not just bunched together I had ice cream with espresso coffee poured over delicious (affogato ie literally drowned in italian) pint San Miguel bottle of red and a jack daniels £50 can't fault that. Staff mostly Turkish couldn,t do enough attentive without being overbearing they even give us a trial of new menu tastes you won't be disappointed if you try here you can just have a drink if you want. once you have eaten You don,t feel as if they want you out typical Turkish go on give it a try



Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank franny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Bar and Grill also viewed

Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
 
Norland, Sowerby Bridge
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing