We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Spicer" Review”

The Prince of Wales
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ampthill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Prince of Wales
Ranked #1 of 1 Ampthill B&B and Inns
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The "Spicer" Review”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights at this hotel with fabulous service. Lovely room. Great chef who cooked me the best steak ever. Great hotel. Thankyou. We would readily and gladly return to stay at this hotel. Danelle from Portugal could not do enough fro us and provided a great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Small car park but space to park across the road, good central location for ampthill, Nice clean room, white cotton sheets, kingsize oak bed, big fluffy towels, after being out arrived back Saturday night about 10.30, concerned there may be some noise from the bar but there was no noise at all from the bar, lovely English breakfast with thick cut bacon & uncut bread toasted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Functional, no frills but ok for the money.

If you just want to crash for the night its ok.
Stayed midweek so no noise from the bar.
Small carpark.
Bed comfy, shower hot.
Ok as as stop over.

...........................................

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked three double rooms here for a friends get together. Upon arrival two of the rooms had been double booked. The owner/manager was extremely sorry and helped us find alternative accommodation but our lovely weekend away was spent at the M1 services travel lodge instead of charming Ampthill. Not really what we had in mind...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ampthill hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We dropped in for lunch with my wife and a friend recently, found the menu to be varied, and tempting. We had a Camembert to share between the 3 of us and the chap brought us some extra toast without us even asking as we were running low. The Burgers were brilliant and the goats cheese salad was very good. The Chips were second to none absolutely fantastic. Service was very good everything seemed to be home made and used very good quality produce was used, its not cheap but it is very good value. Great place would highly recommend this for a quality pub meal.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West (is best) london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We use B&B's frequently and understand that generally you get what you pay for. We also know that everybody can have bad day every now and then.

1. We were given a key and directions to our room, for a hotel its OK but a B&B not really.
2. Several tins of paint stored at the bottom of the stairs.
3. Several obvious cobwebs hanging from the ceiling
4. Lamp shades in bedroom and en suite were full of dead flies.
5. Fan in the shower was not working.
6. Lots of mould in the shower on the grout lines near the shower tray
7. Brown water stains on the ceiling from condensation.
8. A used bar of soap was perched on the shower.
9. On paying for the room, I was not asked if everything was OK

Positives

1. Breakfast was OK.
2. Bed sheets and towels were clean.
3. Toilet was clean.
The general feel to the room was tired and grimy.
This felt like poor quality student accommodation, and definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drainrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is the first review that I've written that I've given an excellent. I have stayed here on many occasions whilst conducting business in the area and always find the place exceptional.

The staff are always very friendly and go out of their way to make one feel a local.

Culinary speaking the restaurant is fantastic with the chefs providing some local dishes that taste superb at reasonable prices.

Overall this is a place that I always go back to and I find myself rather dissappointed if they're fully booked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampthill
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
112 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
2.0 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ampthill
9 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Piggery Guest House & Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales

Property: The Prince of Wales
Address: 24/26 Bedford Street, Ampthill MK45 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Ampthill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ampthill
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Prince Of Wales Ampthill, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing